We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad taste” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Selcuk Koftecisi

Selcuk Koftecisi
Sahabettin Dede Caddesi, Selcuk, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 85 Restaurants in Selcuk
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bad taste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It is not a traditional taste of kofte( meatball) . I think lots of bread inside of the meat and nearly no fat. But normally kofte should include fat and this fat should be removed in the grill. I recommend to go Odemis Hursit or salih Usta in Kemeralti.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go for the meatballs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice open air restaurant. One of the waiting staff helped us to choose what we wanted from a variety of tasty salads (we went for the stuffed zucchini and the tomato salads, 7L each) and then a plate of their meatballs and some chicken shish kebab. Delicious food. Total bill with drinks was 40L.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Local place with local food and prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were on a private guided tour of the area and our guide suggested we eat here – I am always leery of that but peaked in and didn’t see any tourists. We went for it and were SO glad we did. Our guide was the only one in the place who spoke English. I think some of the servers may have spoken English as well but we didn’t interact with them. You go to the counter and tell them what you want, my wife and I shared a large salad plate and some kebobs and they were wonderful. Our guide had a kebob dish. I paid for all three of us and the bill was $20 US including tip. I would go back here for the food, local atmosphere and value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is great fun. No menu - just point to the meats and salads you want then it is freshly cooked and brought to your table on a huge plate with a massive plate of bread. Food was tasty, particularly the lamb chops. A full range of drinks is available. We had nice outdoor seating and it wasn't too busy. The prices are good value but a little dearer than other places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Authentic food, Reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant is simple and casual, but the food is fresh, authentic and delicious. Some of the best meze, meatballs and kebabs made the original way. If the seaweed salad is available( early summer) try it. The owners are friendly, and used to wrestle professionally, so check out the photos on the walls. This is a no fluff just a good local food place. Excellent!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selcuk Koftecisi also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Selcuk Koftecisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selcuk Koftecisi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.