We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect restaurant right by the Dolmush station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okumuslar Pide Salonu

Okumuslar Pide Salonu
Kizilay Caddesi No:16 | Against the Tahsinaga Mosque, Selcuk, Turkey
+90 232 892 0123
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 85 Restaurants in Selcuk
Description: Turkish pizza
Restaurant details
Description: Turkish pizza
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant right by the Dolmush station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We decided to eat lunch at the Okumus pide restaurant as it is located just around the corner of the Selcuk Dolmus or mini bus station. We ordered the Luhmacun, cheese pide and another meat combination with egg pide. I must say the restaurant has a local feel to it. It definitely does not feel like the tourist trap restaurants close to the train station. The young man who took our order does not speak much English but ordering from the menu was very. While washing our hands, we actually saw our pides being made. It does not take too long before our orders arrived. Including with the pides were salad and long green chilies that were sweet with very mild heat. They all tasted very good. Absolutely fresh made. And it was relatively cheap. Within a few minutes of paying our bill, we were back at the station waiting for our dolmus to depart for Ephesus. It was very convenient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Pide Salonu it's also a take away, but we eat there 3 time on the 4 days we stay in selçuk.
The food is prepare only after you order, so it can take some time, but you are sure that it fresh.
The young staff is helpful but doesn't speak english very well, who cares... sign language is universal.
It is cheap. We loved everything we
ate. The meals are simple and tasty.
It's worth the stop.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cheap but good turkish pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's easy to over eat in Turkey and sometimes all one needs is a simple light lunch which is what we got here. We ordered a lahmacun each along with a coke and apple tea. The whole meal costs only 8 TL. Yummy and cheap - double thumbs up!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great meal for 2 for 25 TL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

No annoying hawkers trying to push you in, clean place, only locals and a wood-fired oven were the main points that made this place attract us.

We weren't disappointed - we both had pizza (1 mushroom cheese, one minced meat -egg) 1 shared salad (no onion) and one cacik (yoghurt-cucumber dish) + 2 delicious fresh pomegranate juices total price 25 TL!

Menu is also in English, friendly (English speaking) waiter and the Ayrans looked great (we didn't get one, maybe next time!).

Good option if you're in Selcuk on a budget and want good food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious cheap Turkish pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed a great meal here, complete with complimentary salad and a very friendly host, Ali, who taught us some Turkish while making sure we enjoyed our meal. Definitely a local favourite that is better value than other touristy places along the street!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okumuslar Pide Salonu also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Okumuslar Pide Salonu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okumuslar Pide Salonu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.