We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuncay Pension

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tuncay Pension to your Saves list
Tuncay Pension
Isa Bey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No 13, Selcuk, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful, friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Tuncay Pension is a brilliant place to stay when in Selcuk. The rooms are good value, the terrace and courtyard are shady and the breakfasts are fabulous. The owners were exceptionally friendly and kind, including looking after us when my travel companion was sick and carrying his bag to the bus stop. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
25
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Well located and friendly, as well as with the several extra details that made it more pleasant. Good value for money, excellent breakfast in the patio (Turkish style), helpful in getting to the archeological site and in practical tips for our travel... Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

I recently stayed at the Tuncay while visiting Turkey with my mother. We had a rental car, so had the chance to drive around town and look at most of the places (since my mom was with my mom was with me, I wanted to stay at the nicest place I could). We looked at a dozen places including the Bella was a bit gloomy and grim and the Nilya was super pricey. While walking along, we saw this place and stopped in because we liked the location.

The owner speaks English EXCELLENTLY and he knows the city and area well. We had just driven from Pergama where our car had been broken into and a window smashed. The owner called the rental agency, arranged for the car to be fixed at a nearby shop, and even took us there and picked us up. He went way way out of his way to help us. It was really above what he needed to do.

We were just lucky because we actually chose the place because the rooms were spotless clean, modernish, cheery, and the space was pretty and safe (we wanted security after the car breakin). They have really nice public spaces which had speedy Internet access. And, it was much cheaper than anyplace else in town. I think i twas really nice. I would recommend for any of my friends coming through Turkey.

Also, there are some good restaurants just a quick stroll from this place:

- The cute little bakery/pastry shop right at the cross walk on the other side of the big street has amazing cheese/spinach/sweet things for nothing.
- Pinaar Pide on the second street has really good Pides - just watch how much take away busines they do.
- Down the street on the same side at the very end is a great little place doing lots of business - can't remember the exact name but it is yellow.

  • Liked — Location, Clean, Modernish
  • Disliked — Too cold outside to sit in courtyard
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Very good pension in the heart of Selcuk (so very good to visit Ephesus and Izmir also). Room and bathroom were clean and big and the pension has a very big and relaxing common area outside (where breakfast is served).
The staff (a couple) was very helpful and they have also a sweet dog!
So if you choose Tuncay Pension, you will do the right choice!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Here’s the deal….the place was clean and in an OK area but the owners were not at all welcoming and we often felt uncomfortable around them. We were very excited to stay here but from the beginning it was an awkward experience. To top it off the owner had no idea that I spoke Turkish and often spoke about us rudely to his wife, right in front of us.
There are many hotels in the city so choose another one.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

This pension is one of the best we have ever stayed in. Tuncay Pension is located close to all of the sights of Selcuk which makes it a great base for a stay in Selcuk, but the real magic start from the moment you enter the gates of the pension.

The courtyard, with its central fountain, is fantastic with lots of comfortable lounges and chairs just great for catching up with other travellers or finding a quiet corner with a book.

The owners Angelique and Cuneyt are very caring and a friendlier couple you will not meet. They will look after all of your needs and you just have to ask and they will go out of their way to help you. Nothing was too much trouble.

A full Turkish breakfast is served in the courtyard and it was the best breakfast of our trip. Every day we did not think we would make our way through the large assortment of food but the basket of local breads and Cunyet’s fantastic omelette tempted us every day.

The rooms are decorated with local fabrics and the linen and towels were very good quality. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean with plenty of hot water and shower pressure.

Tuncay is great value for money, there is internet, a book exchange and an efficient laundry service. All the things a traveller needs. Not to mention a well stocked bar!

At Tuncay Pension we felt so comfortable we did not want to leave.

If you are looking for a slice of magic in Selcuk then you should choose the Tuncay Pension.

  • Liked — Everything - it was like home away from home
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuncay Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuncay Pension

Address: Isa Bey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No 13, Selcuk, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Tuncay Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuncay Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.