We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in real Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mark Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Mark Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mark Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cifte Gelinler Cad. 16, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #610 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Gdynia, Poland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel in real Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I liked this hotel very much. It’s in a walking distance to main attractions of Istanbul. This is definitely NOT a tourist area, just a real Istanbul with it’s hardworking people. Nearby streets are not great however it’s also close to “100 restaurants district”. As on budget hotel rooms were spacious and staff altitude was exceptional. Bathroom was recently renovated and clean. Breakfasts in a buffet style, but on request eggs, Turkish coffee or tee prepared. I’d recommend this hotel to budget travellers with sightseenig in mind, who want experience real Instanbul.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
19
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

After reading the reviews I decided that I can disregard the negative ones. That was my mistake!
The only positive thing in the hotel is the staff. They were nice and helpful. Welcome coffee/tea was offered on arrival. When asked for a map we were told that it is not for free and were charged 5 TL. Just go to the Tourist info centre and will get map for free.
Location was pretty OK, though not close to the public transport connections. 5 min walk to Kapalicarsi, where actually is the closest tram station; 15 min to Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque.
The rooms are small, but not that was the biggest issue. The furniture is very old, but repainted recently, bathroom seems to be renovated recently, but there is mold on the tile filling; shower cabin was additionally fixed which made it very incontinent, though it was new; the tap was not fixed in toward the sink and it was moving every time when using it, the toilet was very old and unclean. In general the bathroom is very badly maintained. We booked That is the feedback for 302 double bedroom, 304 twin bedroom was looking to the staircase, 304 triple room was the most decent among the three rooms that we had.
The mattresses were with stains. The linens were changed on the third day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

I booked the hotel for five or six days and I am glad I had to go to Kapadokya the next day! The air-conditioning turns on and off because there is something wrong with the electricity. I had a restless night to cut it short.

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I spent 4 fabulous days in Istanbul, in the Grand Mark hotel. The hotel is well located, at walking distance from Grand Bazaar, Sultanhamet and all the main tourist attractions. The rooms were nice and clean, good relation quality-price. The breakfast was good as well. In general everything was great, but the strongest point is for sure the staff, who is extremely kind and always ready to assist you in a very friendly way. Definitely the best customer service I have ever seen in my trips. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I stayed here for three nights in September and it was just about OK, but no more than that. It's located in a pretty poor area and it looks like it could do with some renovation.

On my way back, I was booked in for one night, but they made a mistake and so shunted me off to their sister hotel, the Grand Milan, which was even further from Sultanahmet , even more in need of some deep cleaning and definitely not to be recommended..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We chose this hotel for its location - a good walking distance to the Grand Bazaar, the famous Mosques (Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque) and other must-see areas in Istanbul. The room was ok, pretty clean and decent though quite small. The bathroom needed some fixing here and there (water leaked through the shower stall bec of some sealing problems). Breakfast was the same standard Turkish breakfast everyday. The staff were friendly. Free internet. The price is very reasonable. Overall, I would still recommend this hotel because of its value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

It's situated away from the tourist area. It's about a 5 minute walk uphill to the Grand Bazaar and a 15 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Haga Sofya. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

The room was basic. A double size bed, small t.v, hair dryer, and had air conditioning. It was also quite clean. We are non-smokers and we didn't find the room smelled like smoke (according to other reviews listed).

The bathroom was small. After taking a shower there would always be a puddle on the floor. We asked to change rooms the first day we arrived because we thought it was an isolated case with our room, but we had the same problem in the other hotel room they put us in. We would have to put a few towels on the floor to soak up the water. The bathroom would smell moldy the rest of the night before the cleaning staff would come in the next morning to clean the room.

After a full day out in Istanbul, it was a little bit of a chore to walk back to the hotel since it was a bit outside of the tourist area. And because the hotel is outside the tourist area, it might be a little unsafe for single women travelers to walk downhill past all the men on the side streets. You could take a cab back to the hotel but we always walked since it was only a downhill walk from the main road.

Breakfast was included in the rate. The Turkish breakfast was always fresh and pretty tasty. Everyday the hotel would have a spread of boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucumber, cheese, olives, luncheon meat, an assortment of bread, corn flakes, tea, coffee, orange drink, and water.

I would recommend this hotel if want to stay in a No Frills hotel and you don't mind the walk to and from the main tourist areas, but if my husband and I decide to go back to Istanbul, we would stay somewhere closer to the action.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mark Hotel

Address: Cifte Gelinler Cad. 16, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #610 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Mark Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.