We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best choice for turkish cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gunaydin Restaurant - CLOSED

Gunaydin Restaurant
Bagdat Cad. Asude Apt. No:391 D:11-13, Istanbul, Turkey
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue, Turkish, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“one of the best choice for turkish cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

especially I recommend "içli kofte' ( meat balls and lahmacun. acceptable price and clean. salad bar would be an alternative.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal during a week in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Breezy dining room on Bagdat Caddesi. We stopped in because it was full of locals and boy, were we glad we did. Fantastic salad for two with greens, sundried tomatoes, feta and a citrus dressing. Between the lamp kebap and the mixed grill, it was more meat than we could eat. All perfectly cooked to medium rare, not overdone like most every other joint in Turkey. Service was typically gracious. 68 TL with no drinks. We left feeling good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A Special Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We thought that nothing could equal Beyti, but Gunaydin comes pretty close. A tip from a friendly local whom we met in Cihangir, we took the scenic route, jumping on a bus along the Bosphorus through Besiktas to Bebek (a strip which has the moneyed elegance of Cape Cod) We enjoyed a lazy evening along the waterfront with it's yachts then caught a taxi up the hill to Etiler.

It was obvious that we had entered the serious money residential area. When we neared Gunaydin and saw the car valets, we wondered about our very casual appearance. But from start to finish, the restaurant staff made us feel welcome and at home... a slick mix of discretion and attention, observant yet respectful. Their very high professional standards matched the range and quality of meats on offer in the steakhouse. An excellent wine list made it a memorable evening.

Besides eating in, a well-stocked butchery onsite seemed popular with a stream of patrons. Motorbike couriers were also coming and going with delivery orders.

Etiler can get crowded with trendy yuppies in their high-powered cars. So do what we did, jump on a bus back to Taksim. We were back in Cihangir in 20min.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Super meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I never ate so much meat in my life.
;))
It was all very delicious. Served nicely.
We were party of 6 people but we paid 550TLR!!!! I really thought it was too much.
We had 1 salad and 4 sampling portion of meat. The last sampling portion was a back of the lamb amazing but 1 portion of that was 129TLR - 1 portion. Check the bill please.
They have a great playroom on the end of the restaurant. And a babysitter.
Bad experience was when they were asking us to leave on the end. It was 11pm and we were still having good time, but we were the last table. They asked us 2 to leave since the waiters wanted to go home. I believe as a paying customers who just spent some money and we tip good too, they could have waited little longer until we leave by ourselves. It wasn't so late.
Quality of the food is definitely 5 stars. I would recommend this place to everyone.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“The best kebabs in Istanbul, this is from a Turkish foody!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

You can have arguably teh best kebabs in Istanbul at this restaurant. Although be careful there are more than one and the one I am talking about is in the Etiler district, not the Bostanci one!! The one in Bostanci is far too big to be able to serve anyone anything decent. The one in Etiler however is great. fantastic salads, lahmacun and doner- arguably the best! Highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunaydin Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunaydin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.