We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macaroons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baylan pastanesi

Baylan pastanesi
Muvakkithane Caddesi No:19 KadIkoy, Istanbul, Turkey (Kadıköy)
0216 346 63 50
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 11,047 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Neighborhood: Kadıköy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Macaroons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Macaroons compete with the La Duree. My personal opinion is that Baylan's macaroons are better than La Duree's

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly sweets in a wonderful location by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The location at Bebec is breath - taking and while drinking your coffee or tasting the delicious coup grille one can stare at the "traffic" in the Bosphorus. We had the chance to taste different flavours of chocolates as various products are on display for testing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford,MA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Baylan pipelines a traditional patisserie experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Baylan is a lovely old-fashioned (in a good sense) patisserie in Kadikoy. The Parisian-style macarons are delicious and there is a nice range of European style pastries and cookies. The restaurant is known for coupes of icecreams with rich sauces and whipped cream. Good coffees and teas. I worry that this lovely place will be wiped out by the nearby Starbucks. Treat yourself to a sweet stop at Baylan and enjoy the pastries and the history in this atmospheric place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is a nice old patisserie in Moda. It serves a special Turkish ice cream called "coup grillet". It consists of 3 different kinds of ice cream with nuts, honey and caramel topped with cream. I can't tell you how nice it was. The patisserie itself has a very nice atmosphere and the waiters are very helpful. I recommend anyone who will visit istanbul to plan to visit Baylan patisserie. Don't miss it, it is the better ice cream I have ever ate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“this is what coupe grillé should be !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My mother was taken there by her grandmother & I've been going since I was 3.
The coupe grillé is the best, and I do travel a lot, never has any coupe been better.

Their new location in Bebek is perfect, so much easier to get to. Anyone having a meal in Bebek should have desert here.
The balcony is perfect to watch the crazy Bebek traffic over the weekend too. It is like a sahara within the chaos of the city.

Please make sure to have a coupe grillé, it is the taste of old and new Istanbul.
And, like everything else in Bebek, it is open til late night

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baylan pastanesi also viewed

 

Been to Baylan pastanesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baylan pastanesi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.