We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Lucky ??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Tasocagi Yolu Cad. No 35 Mahmutbey, Bagcilar, Istanbul 34217, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #237 of 829 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First Time Lucky ??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have been staying at various other properties in Istanbul during the last 4 years. This one was recommended by a co-traveller on a long haul flight at the end of 2013. The location suited me perfect halfway between the city and airport. Business centre area worked well for meetings I had. WiFi initially a bit tricky but then worked well. Bandwidth seem to a be a problem though. Found the staff friendly and willing to help. Enjoyed the quietness of the hotel that was surprising despite the fact that the hotel is next to the highway network. Small irritations like a smell in the room as there is no windows to open for natural airflow. Asked the housekeeping staff to 'perfume' the room nothing done about it. Room control not up to standard resulting in having to ask for shampoo & shower gel. Safe in the room not working properly. The Tulip restaurant closed unannounced resulting in having to make use of the Saltanat with a very limited menu. I will be giving the property another chance during a visit in early July and then decide for the future

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burcu t, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I am sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the slow WIFI connection. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas.
If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Yusuf MAYDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    159
    87
    23
    7
See reviews for
34
56
40
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This Holiday Inn is rather tired, outdated, and in desperate need of maintenance to 21th century standards. Pictures below to highlight what I mean. Check-in clerk told me I had reserved a smoking room, when I had reserved a non-smoking room. Also, tried to upsale me for 65 euros - which I felt was very cheeky. After all, a hotel room is not like going to McDonalds - I ordered what I wanted. I told the clerk that actually I expected to get upgraded for free, considering my track record of being a high level Priority Club member for such a long time. When I got to my room (he "changed" it to non-smoking), I double-checked my reservation, and I had ordered non-smoking, so the mistake was their computer, and personally, I have an issue when my credibility as a customer is questioned. I also was not pleased with the TV in the room, which did not have an input for my computer - this is almost a standard capability in modern hotels. So, I called to complain about how I was treated and also because I wanted a room with a better TV. So, the manager did upgrade me to a suite, where, ironically, the TV was exactly the same, so it did not really help in that way, but maybe all the rooms have the same issue. The room, as stated, was definitely not up to the standards that I would expect, and again, you can see the pictures below with some of my comments. The fitness center also was very disappointing - very bad air circulation, not aesthetic, and the equipment is outdated (no TV on the treadmills and they were in Turkish, difficult to set up). On a positive note, the quality of the room service food was very good.

Room Tip: Getting an executive room includes free access to the mini-bar - this was a nice and fun surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Cincykid77,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Finding this hotel on the GPS was a little tricky as it was not listed but we found the Mahmutbey area and then saw the hotel logo on what is one of the taller buildings in the area. Car parking is free of charge. Hotel check in was a little slow. The lobby is quite pleasant but the floor corridors and accommodation rooms (1105) are quite dark and dimly lit. I understand hotels are trying to save cost on energy but not at the expense of the paying guest. WiFi Internet is free of charge for room guests and is a good signal. There is nothing impressive about this hotel but it is functional for the business user and is reasonably priced so good value for money.

Room Tip: If you are going there by car, make sure you know the location of the hotel beforehand as it did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear roryjdoyle,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport hotel for 3 days, and found the stay overall to be OK, there are some pros and cons as follow:

Pros:
1- Free airport shuttle is available, as well as shuttle to the city, although the frequency is poor and requires reservation, therefore we were able to use it only once on the way back to hotel but not when we were coming.

2- Rooms are large, well furnished, and clean

3- Staff are friendly and helpful

4- Room rates are excellent for the room size and class you get compared to Istanbul prices

Cons:

1- Location is poor, it is not really an airport hotel as it is a good 15 minutes drive away from airport, and it is not in a good location either, surrounded by trucks and truckers, industrial yards, etc. There are many outlets in that area within 10 min drive.

2- Air conditioning was hard to control as it was always on the warm side and we couldn't get it to cool the room.

3- Lighting in the room and hallways was always dark, not adequate, and tv channel selection was extremely poor with no more than 1-2 english chanels.

4- Every time you come in to the hotel, they search everything you bring in from the supermarket and you have to sign a paper that hotel is not responsible for food poisoning. This is unusual and uncomfortable.

Overall the hotel stay was ok and we had no issues, but I personally wouldn't stay there again. I still would recommend it for people who will have a stop over and need a place close to airport to sleep for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear coldplay99988,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the area surrounding the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Holiday inn Istanbul airport is in industrial area and far from airport. There is a shuttle bus from/to airport, but it runs just once an hour only, First bus is at 6 AM, so if you have an early flight you need to take a cab. During rush out there are traffic jams.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mikemsk,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Fairly standard business hotel convenient for the airport.Greeted by very friendly guy at check in who got me checked in very quickly and offered a discount for the hotel restaurant. Ate in the restaurant taking the buffet option which had a good selection of appetisers, main courses and desserts,..nothing spectacular. The room on the ninth floor was a reasonable size with a large TV and workspace area. I found the wireless connection to be slow especially if needing to send larger documents. There was no bath which would have been preferred at least to have an option. The breakfast buffet was very pleasant with good selection. In terms of location it's great for the airport but not if you want a base for sightseeing. It really is in my view a business hotel which does what you would expect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear dinoSwindon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I am sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the slow WIFI connection. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for a night on a short layover in Istanbul in January 2014. I booked it through an agent at the airport, so it was quite pricey. Nevertheless, it is exactly 10 minutes away by car from the airport and approximately 30-35 minutes from downtown Istanbul, unless you plan on going during rush hour, which can take much longer. The building is a typical Holiday Inn, new, well-managed. The staff is exceptional. Almost all speak very good English, not so common for Istanbul. They are very polite and always there to help. Booked a room on the 9th floor. Big, clean, quiet and very comfortable with a view on Istanbul's freeways. Breakfast very good with big enough variety to suit all needs. Perfect choice for people who want to be close to Airport and for short layovers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North

Address: Tasocagi Yolu Cad. No 35 Mahmutbey, Bagcilar, Istanbul 34217, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North has an impressive reputation for outstanding individual service, making it an excellent choice for the business and leisure guest. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North is situated in Mahmutbey district at the European side, Easy access to Ataturk International and Domestic Airport terminals. Complimentary shuttle bus available from the airport terminals to the hotel and back (airport shuttle from 06 am to 01 am). Taxis available at the hotel on request.Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers 330 bedrooms, with 22 suites, 50 executive rooms. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers Spa and Fitness center, Indoor swimming pool, Whirlpool seperate Sauna, Steamroom and Hammam for ladies and gentelmen. The hotel is equipped with wireless internet access in all public areas, meeting rooms and executive rooms. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers a choice of two specialty restaurants, two bars and 24 hours room service; as well as a complete range of conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.