We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for an airport stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Tasocagi Yolu Cad. No 35 Mahmutbey, Bagcilar, Istanbul 34217, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #237 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for an airport stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Not exactly close to the airport in my estimation, but not to far. You need about 25 Turkish lira to get there. Don't wait for the shuttle, it runs on a schedule and the wait can easily be an hour or more. It is hard to find the shuttle, but if you walk the length of the bus area you will see the area marked for the Holiday Inn. You will not see it if you don't walk the whole length.

The hotel has a spacious lobby, is very clean and staff are efficient, courteous and helpful. They will change money for the taxi.

The room was splendid. It was clean, absolutely modern and well finished. The TV was good, the internet worked well. The beds were well made up with good quality linens.

The restaurant bar has a very small menu, but it is good enough to sate the appetite. The neighborhood is nice. Istanbul is surprisingly clean.

I would stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone who would like to stay 'close' to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    159
    87
    23
    7
See reviews for
34
56
40
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel one day during transit 24 Jun-2013 - I had my family with me

The Shuttle bus didn't come and we had to take a taxi - they pay for it but we waited around 2 hours in the airport waiting for it - and I understand from other residents it happen all the time
The Room are very small and the path room is not prepared as 5 or even good 4 stars.
One thing very dangerous the house keeping are not honest

I lost my wedding ring and when I called and keep writing them email they answer after 24 hours , sorry we don't have !!
In all famous hotel if you lost any item they will return it back , but this hotel no.
Air condition is bad in lobby !
My advice stay away from that hotel - it is not that close to the airport 20 min by taxi !
Better go to the Crown Plaza or Sheraton and pay little more

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ahmed S,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed there for four nights and found the place to be pretty nice, although could do with some upgrades. The restaurant is not 5 star quality although the prices are. The open bar lounge at the entrance was pretty nice. The rooms are ok size. Its clean, friendly the only thing not going for it is the location. Though pricey we enjoyed our stay.

If you are going to town take the hotel shuttle which is free and also you can use the tram which has a station close by and goes all the way around the asian and european side of town and ist only 3 Turkish Liras one way per person, while taking a cab / taxi which is the only other mode of transport the cost could go all the way to 60 Turkish Liras one way.

The tram availability was never shared by the hotel which we found by ourselves.

Room Tip: Use the hotel shuttle as much as you can as it saves many liras and is convenient. If you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice and clean. Not your average Holiday inn I rate this hotel way above U.S Holiday inn's. Yet about average for Europe. Very clean rooms, good value and quiet at night. Meals at the restaurant was good. Great for one or two night stay. It was under $100 a night great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was only there one night for 8 hours while in transit back to the states from Izmir. This is a nice hotel catering to business travelers. The room rates and food are much more expensive that you will find in other hotels. As well, it is in the middle of nowhere. Fine for a business trip but not for leisure travel. Seriously, a beer was about 3x what you'd pay in almost any other bar/restaurant. More expensive than at the airport. Not particularly close to the airport (20 minutes) but there is a free shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear AUGradAtlanta,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konya, Turkey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Somebody in a plaque on the front of the building says this is a 5-star hotel, and although I don't think that's even close to true, this is a good hotel, even though it's too expensive.
We stayed here on the weekend, when I was returning to Konya and my fiancee was going back to her country.
The rooms were clean and the staff actually seemed excited to clean. Amenities in our upgraded suite were bountiful. Staff was consistently professional. Breakfast was great, even if other meals were so-so or a little better.
Shuttle from the hotel is like clockwork. Be careful if you stay too long near the Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar, because they won't wait for you. Shuttle to the airport is free and fast.
Overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Although the facilities are fine, the staff from the shuttle pickup point, to the reception, to the restaurant staff, were very rude. I think they may have too many tourists passing through and must not care about repeat business. The food was OK but not as good as many of the other Turkish Hotels I stayed in. Only stay there if it is cheap and you're feeling tough. I can compare their abysmal service to the courtesy of the Gonen Airport Hotel so it is not a cultural style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Joy E,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North

Address: Tasocagi Yolu Cad. No 35 Mahmutbey, Bagcilar, Istanbul 34217, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North has an impressive reputation for outstanding individual service, making it an excellent choice for the business and leisure guest. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North is situated in Mahmutbey district at the European side, Easy access to Ataturk International and Domestic Airport terminals. Complimentary shuttle bus available from the airport terminals to the hotel and back (airport shuttle from 06 am to 01 am). Taxis available at the hotel on request.Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers 330 bedrooms, with 22 suites, 50 executive rooms. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers Spa and Fitness center, Indoor swimming pool, Whirlpool seperate Sauna, Steamroom and Hammam for ladies and gentelmen. The hotel is equipped with wireless internet access in all public areas, meeting rooms and executive rooms. Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport North offers a choice of two specialty restaurants, two bars and 24 hours room service; as well as a complete range of conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Istanbul Airport-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.