We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ismet Baba Restaurant

Ismet Baba Restaurant
Carsi Caddesi No. 1/A, Istanbul, Turkey (Bosphorus)
216 553 1232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #767 of 11,086 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Bosphorus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“V good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Real traditional bosphorus fish restaurant.
Fast,clean and casual usually nice and fresh fish we likes mezze.
İ dont like fried calamar!!!
Only CASH work

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Our favorite Bosphorus restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The meze and fish we always have at Ismet Baba's in Kuzguncuk is some of the best in Istanbul. It tastes even better with the view across to the European side of the city, with the first bridge in the foreground. Really excellent service and food!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“most recommended but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

ok well but not the best fish in town as mentioned. People who go there are genuine Istanbul people.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vence, France
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Cant be more "seaside" than that...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

...and its not only the location. This is a perfect place to enjoy authenic local food at very moderate prices.

Highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did expect more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We visited Ismet Baba with a big expectation. We know this restaurant for many years and it has been always very good. We haven't been there for 8 years and we were so excited to see how it changed. The restaurant itself is still situated at the same place with the best views to the Bosphorus that you can get. The tables were very plain. No tablecloth at all. We were pushed to a table next to the wall even if there were some empty tables next to the seaside. Within seconds they came with the tray of the starters even before we could order something to drink. The plates were just pushed onto our table. We had decided to go for the "Kalkan" which is a very famous fish and we always liked it. It was quite expensive and the board showed 60 Turkish Lira for one Portion. We ordered two portions of that fish and after we had hardly finished our starters the fish arrived on the plates. We actually don't mind to spend quite a bit of money for good food but that plate wasn't worth 60 Turkish Lira. There were two slices of Kalkan, 3 rocket leaves and half of a raw onion. That was it! We did eat the fish which was good. In the meantime another guest arrived and he was treated like a King. About 5 waiters were running around his table while we were sitting stupidly in the corner. We quickly paid and left and decided not to come back again

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ismet Baba Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ismet Baba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ismet Baba Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.