We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy but some mess around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Istanbul to your Saves list
W Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suleyman Seba Cad. No:22 Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Cozy but some mess around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel has a great location. It's very cozy, typical from W. Unfortunately I been there when they where doing refurbishment. In general everything is good. The staff is very friendly, the rooms very good.. Maybe when they finish all the construction will be the best place to stay in town but for now better choose another hotel

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, today
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for choosing W Istanbul and sharing your feedback with us. We're glad you had an enjoyable stay. The refurbishment is now over and the new W Istanbul is at your feet for you to experience it again! We would love you to give us another try and see the brand new W Istanbul for yourself. Please let us know next time you wish to visit us to get some insider tips around the city and discover more!

Warmest Wishes,

Christian Hoehn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    286
    137
    39
    13
See reviews for
77
332
63
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First, I have to admit. I'm not a "W" type of guy. They love their low lights, dark furnishings, disco music (playing as I type). This genre is for the young but I've grown out if it.

Even when I arrive with certificate to upgrade me to a suite, which the hotel confirmed, they gave me a "large room." They moved me from a temporary quarters room which actually had a small water view. This room they moved me to was larger but no suite attributes of a separate sitting / living area. And I had the privilege of moving to a lower floor next to the street noise. I decided to play nice but by 5pm I went down to let the manager know I wasn't satisfied with his "Suite" designation. The staff, to their credit, did seem to react, even though I had proven to be a high-meantime type. The room they showed me was a suite and also had a marginal view. I elected to stay put.

The staff was quite helpful and showed every curtesy. Their spread for breakfast was excellent. Their options for dinner are classic "bar food" pizza, salads, & burgers. I won't recommend the dinner but the breakfast was good. They did show me another suite but by that time the light was already starting to turn so I passed.

If you like the W experience, you'll like this one.

Robert

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor. If you get, chances are good you'll get an outside patio and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, today
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for choosing W Istanbul and sharing your feedback with us. Your opinions and comments are highly important and we take everything you say into consideration followed up with actions. It's unfortunate for us that you were not pleased with the W concept. However, I would love for you to come back again to try our new Corner Suite if you were not happy with the other rooms you have tried. Your W Istanbul Family is here if you ever need anything. Next time when you have more time in Istanbul, let us know. Our insider can give you more tips around the city so you could explore the night life and many more beautiful attractions in the big city.

Warm Regards,

Christian Hoehn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this amazingly located property from the 2nd till the 7th of December 2014, we were upgraded to a beautiful room with private garden. The surrounding area has everything you may need, a more upscale crowd, and the hotel was exactly what we were looking for, to explore the city, near the ferry and near to Taksim square. The staff, especially the Concierges but also Mr. Mermut at the Front Desk, were always very welcoming, professional and ready to help with a big smile. We were lucky enough to witness the opening of the new entrance of the hotel which is amazing. What really Wowed us, was the breakfast, wide and delicious variety. My friend needed a hairdresser, right when the stores were closing, yet, the Concierge (sorry for not remembering your name) not only found a hairdresser for her, but escorted us for an almost 10 minute walk, right into the place. We will definitely stay in the W Hotel when we are back for adventure. Thank you W Team.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear W Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at W Istanbul. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience and you had a fabulous time here in Istanbul! Please be sure that we take our customer's comments very seriously. I am glad that you received great service from our concierge and will coach our team members to continually improve. As you have mentioned, The W Istanbul is not located in the "old city" area, but in Besiktas and is a one minute walk to the Bosphorus. On your next visit, we recommend that you visit some of the attractions in the area such as the Dolmabahce Palace and Nisantasi (the Soho of Istanbul). As well as visiting the local neighborhoods of Ortakoy and Bebek, which are a 10 min drive from the W.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near possible time and giving us a second chance to WOW you!

Kindest Regards,

Christian Hoehn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed only 2 days in the Marvelous Suite, the room was like his name : Marvelous.

Clean as usual in W hotel, wonderfull Staff.
The hotel is located in a nice pedestrian area, closed to the Bosphorus.

It was during the low seaon, so it was really quiet. we will definately come back next year.

Such an amazing weekend than I asked her hand :)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback and more importantly, thank you joining the W Istanbul family! We appreciate your comments so we can strive to do better and improve, we also take all of your concerns into actions so we they will not happen again.

There are so many places to see and discover in the big city, I am glad you were able to see most of them. Next time you come around, our insider can help you explore many more places around town, what's new and next in Istanbul, also enjoy the brand new W Istanbul itself.

Looking forward to having you here again!

Warm Regards,
Christian Hoehn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Starting from the beginning, the employee at the door and at the reception were so kind and helpful. Rooms are in great comfort. The bed was just GREAT with the very thick soft (probably feather) layer on it. W Hotel has passed all tests about detailed cleaning. This includes all the switches and corners of the carpets. Fitness center view is very good and not depressing. At breakfast, the restaurant/room where we take the breakfast was so cosy and had a “feel at home” effect which was great. You do not feel like you are in a hotel at all. The quality of the food was great BUT the coffee we drank could be one of the best coffees we ever drank. They think about EVERY SMALL DETAIL to make guests happy and they know how to impress and please people...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear W Guest,

WOW! It's so nice to hear that you had a blast. Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with your W Istanbul Family. We use our Whatever/Whenever motto to really understand whenever you need or want something, we will do whatever it takes to provide it for you. I am glad you enjoyed our motto and hoping to see you here again next time you come around!

Kindest Regards,

Christian Hoehn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the W for almost a week and we enjoyed the hotel and the service. The staff was always very accommodating and the concierge was very knowledgable.

We had breakfast at the hotel a couple of times and my only concern here was value as the selection of warm food was limited - considering the price you pay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for taking time and giving us such a detailed feedback. We appreciate every single comment you made. Our commitment is to WOW our guests during their stay at W and we do take customer comments seriously to improve our service. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near possible time.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Hoehn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The end of October my husband and I stayed 5 nights at the W Hotel in Istanbul (Besiktas), Turkey. We had an outstanding experience in this historic area. There were restaurants right around the corner, we walked a short distance to take the Bosphorus cruise, as well as ride the tram into Istanbul. We were guided to local places to eat and explore. We feel that Koray was a gracious host and went out of his way to make us feel welcome and help provide us with knowledge for travel, dining and the local Besiktas market.
Gem was a gem of a concierge, He was very helpful and spent time making sure our tours and experiences were top-notch. He helped us plan a one day trip to Cappadocia which was one of our dream places to visit.
The hotel was very nice and in a great location but, the human touch made us feel special. We highly recommend this hotel and this great area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian H, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. We really appreciate your positive comments about our special W Talent and the service you received. We really pride ourselves on the W service philosophy of Whatever/Whenever. We are always focused on improvement and your feedback allows us to work on the areas that are most important. We're happy that Koray and Cem were there to guide you. We're hoping to see you here with us again!

Kindest Regards,

Christian Hoehn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No:22 Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#142 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#151 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#153 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.