We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful evening in Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imbat Restaurant

Imbat Restaurant
Hudavendigar Street No: 24 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
+90 212 520 71 91
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 11,086 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Made reservations online to visit on a saturday evening after reading the wonderful reviews on TA. They have specific seating times. We arrived an hour before the reserved time, so we waited by the hotel lobby (restaurant is on the top floor of the Orient Express hotel). We were allowed to use their wifi as we waited. Once upstairs we were seated right by the window, were we had a nice view of the Bosphorous bridge with the light show. Terrace view must be great in the summer. Food was outstanding. You could tell the ingredients were really fresh. My lamb was nicely cooked, very tender and flavorful. We had the sampler for dessert. It was not great but it was pricey, so maybe skip dessert if you can.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,770
    604
    157
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Silver service super seventh floor views and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Reservations essential - we were 6 in Istanbul for a big birthday event and it exceeded expectations. We'd had ok meals until then but Imbat was amazing. As a near vegetarian I loved the mixed mezze plate and adored the vegetable dish of the day. Champagne by the glass was Turkish and excellent as was the house wine. Though we also tried several bottles. I went by early to explain about the birthday - they made us the most delicious cake. For ambience location price and food I would have to rate Imbat up there with the best anywhere in the world. Thanks for having us. Twice in one trip totally unforgettable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Extremely good value for money here! Good location, beautiful setting, professional staff and (of course) good food and wine! Don't miss to book in advance and don't miss the Imbat!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The best food that we ate at Istanbul!the plate with the lamb and the goat cheese sauce was the best lamb that I have ever ate in my life!the service also excellent!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schweiz
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“first dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

we had our first dinner in imbat.made a reservation in advance it was saturday evening, the restaurat was full.
we liked the setting.the food too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imbat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Imbat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imbat Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.