We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kebap!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konak

Konak
Istiklal caddesi, Istanbul, Turkey
2520684
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,394 of 11,047 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Ioannina, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best kebap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Restaurant with delicious turkish traditional cuisine and the best kebap of Istanbul, nice view of Istiklal Caddesi, very courteous service!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    73
    43
    51
    202
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dont miss their Iskender Kebaps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Konak is one of my faves. I especially like their İskender Kebaps, so yummy!
Great value for money. Expect to pay less than 15 TL per person

Watch out for the hot bread under the kebapsş they are extremely hot! :D

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

i have been there several times. i prefered chicken shish for the last time. it was soo good.
also you absolutely try Lahmacun, İçli Köfte (a meatball that has been coated with a paste made of cracked wheat and meat and then fried) and then finally Künefe (traditional Turkish dessert)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Rooftop Romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were at Konak Bebap, at the "Tunel" end of Istiklal street. The terrace on the rooftop provides a wonderful setting, with a nice view. First night there (yes. we went back cople of days later) we followed the suggestion of the 'mixed grill' which produced an extraordinary amount of deliciously prepared food. Chicken, lamb, beef, all perfectly grilled. Konak does not serve any alcohol, so we enjoyed fresh juice and ayran, which was nice for a change. Definitely recommended for the rooftop terrace.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Ottoman konak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The restaurant is located in a very impressive building in the middle ok istiklal caddesi. It reminds a french brasserie with old golden decorated seelings. Very alive place where to spend lunch time enjoing several good choices of turkish kebab. Very good service and good quality of foods. Very efficient staffs.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konak also viewed

 

Been to Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.