We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stars Restaurant

Stars Restaurant
Under the Galata Bridge No: 10 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
+90 212 528 9248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 11,078 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Chowder
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Don't let constant bidding for your attention and tourist dollar stop you from walking down the restaurant row under the Glata Bridge. Firmly decline all invitations for free beer or Raki until you reach the Stars restaurant. Ask Ali for a table at the water's edge for a fantastic view of the Bosphorus Bridge or the New Mosque (Yeni Cami), both of which are lit up at night. Each evening after 8 pm there is also live music. Ali and his staff are very friendly, funny and generous. We mainly had fish meals that were just delicious. Our fish was presented to us on a wooden cart rolled directly up to our table. Our choice was then weighed and took to the kitchen to be prepared. Salads were tasty and good sized portions. Over all our evening was a delight. Great food, great view and a gracious host and staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    65
    22
    22
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't get the grumpy waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We managed to avoid most of the 'hassle' that is common outside a group of restaurants in Istanbul and chose this one on the basis that there were quite a few people sitting down. Unfortunately we also got the grumpy waiter who was not impressed that we chose the £8 farmed sea bass each instead of the £40 seabream from the sea. We were still choosing and he moved the fish trolley off out of disappointment no doubt due to lack of commission.
Regardless of his recommendation, the food was good, although no bread and minimal salad compared to other restaurants of this type.
However we told one of his colleagues who told him about our opinion and he immediately apologies and said he was 'under stress' due to his forthcoming wedding and offered complimentary fruit. Not what we were looking for - he ended up being a nice guy - but when you're on holiday and want a great experience you don't expect to be served by waiters in a bad mood. The food was average - we declined the meze as it didn't look very appetising.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansonville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The location is very special, under the bridge that leads into the old city and the spice market. The food presentation is interesting, you choose the fish you want to eat and they sell it to you by the kilo, the personal is very dedicated and they want to make sure you are happy when you leave the premises, most of the wines are from Turkey and are delicious and inexpensive. It must be try if you are visiting Istanbul

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dont go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I asked the hotel guest relations officer about a good sea food restaurant in istanbul. He recomended this reataurant to me. i am travelling with my in laws, in a group of 13 people. The restaurant offered a free shuttle bus from to the hotel, that was the only good thing about it. The food, service and atmosphere are below average. The value for money is horrible, money in the toilet.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Expensive fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The price of the fish is by kilo ,be very carreful. We spent about 200 euros for a single fish.The service is good. Atmosphere is exelent

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stars Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Stars Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stars Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.