We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Turkish cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kosebasi

Kosebasi
Muallim Naci Caddesi, Reina - Ortakoy / Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey (Bosphorus)
2122580683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,285 of 11,041 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bosphorus
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Turkish cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was recommended this restaurant mainly due to the proximity to the office. It turned out to be a great choice. Whilst not an expert in anyway on turkish food, I found it extremely tasty. We started with a a range of dips and vegetable dishes that they brought around on a large tray. Our waiter spoke reasonable english and was able to help us select a variety. Hot bread to accompany. I don't think we over-ordered but frankly after the starters, we could have finished then. However, we were all looking forward to trying some meats off the grill.
We took a mixed plate with chicken, beef and lamb. Again, i found the food very tasty with that real BBQ flavour.
The meal was topped off with some local beer.
Summary is that I would certainly visit there again. Good food, a nice ambience with choice of seating inside or out. I did think it was a bit pricey but as my first visit to Istanbul, i don't have a good benchmark. it was about US$55 each for the starters, mixed grilled meats and two beers.
Worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    46
    23
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good classic Turkish food, but more of a food production type of restaurant. Still probably a good option when looking for a res”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The first time we were here all went very well. The service and food was good. We just were a little surprised that we never got the menu and had to chose what to eat without knowing the price. On the bill it was simply impossible to know what was what and if the bill was accurate. The second time we insisted on getting the menu in order to pick something ourselves. The waiter wasn't very happy and we still couldn't make out a difference of 13 euros on our bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is the place we go to eat kebab and accompanying mezes. Both Turks and the foreigners love the food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced, small portions.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Many restaurants in Istanbul do not serve alcohol, and as Kosebasi does; it is my impression that they use this to their advantage.

Many foreign travelers or temporary Istanbul residents can be found frequenting this location because there is a wine list and full bar.

While the wine prices are fair, and there is a reasonably good selection; the food leaves something to be desired.

Portions are small, and do not demonstrate the bold flavors Istanbul has to offer. Food prices are expensive and a meal for two here can cost well over $100, including alcohol.

I was lucky enough to get a real taste of Istanbul thanks to my hosts, and I can say that there are many better options in the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Barbeque Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great Restaurant for nice turkish kebab and turkish original starters and deserts. Quick service but beware some corner table as the waiter are very quick and you could end up with some beer on you.;-)... But he food is excellent!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kosebasi also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Kosebasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kosebasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.