We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahve Dunyasi

Kahve Dunyasi
Istanbul, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #776 of 11,078 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet - Old City
Minsk, Belarus
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“So nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I need to say some words about cafe KAHVE DUNYASI, what located at Yesilkoy....After swimming at HALK PLAJI, i visit this cafe everytime, also i meet my friends there....I like this cafe, especially some kinds of coffee, they make. This April i was visit this cafe also, and i took some photos, let me add them, please, look, and accept my advice: visit KAHVE DUNYASI and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    8
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best Turkish coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Been to only one outlet, by the Grand Bazaar, had the best Turkish coffee since so many years, and a very delicious caramel cake. Place is clean and they offer you some chocolate treats before your order is ready and a free bottle of water per each guest, server speaks good English, but the WC was on the 3 rd floor and closed unless you ask some one to come over and unlock it ??
Very reasonable price ( 2 coffee+ 2 slices of cake+2 bottles of water) for 24TL

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Kalamis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I have visited their kalamis store. Its really nice. You need to park your car where ever you find a space on the road. Cakes are really nice especially cheese cake amazing.

Server Aysin made our service, she was great.

We had a pleasant evening. İ had cheeseake and latte. İt was really good!
Definately suggest to go there

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A world of difference between the Kabatas and Sultan Ahmet outlets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'd like to recommend highly the Kahve Dunyasi outlet located at Kabatas. It's a short walk from the tram terminus and ferry dock. The coffee here was strong and rich, and was always presented with an in-house chocolate. (There is a very good bakery in the store which makes high quality sweets, cakes and chocolates.) I enjoyed dropping in here each morning during my weeklong stay on this side of Istanbul.

In contrast, I cannot recommend the Kahve Dunyasi located in Sultan Ahmet. I went there only once - I ordered a strong cafe late and was presented with a tri-colour hot drink in a fluted glass comporte. I protested strongly and the second cup was a slight improvement. This cafe seems be the haunt of teenagers ordering icecreams, soda and sweets rather than serious coffee drinkers. Try Denizen if you want outstanding coffee in Sultan Ahmet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Starbucks of Istanbul ... so they say :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We visited the location on Nuruosmaniye Cad. No:79
------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Our tour guide advised us this place was the Starbucks of Istanbul... so overpriced everything??? lol

it's a nice pitstop for cafe, chocolate, ice cream, pastries, candy + nick nacks. we were 1.5blocks from the Grand Bazaar Istanbul and figure this place would be a nice change over Starbucks.

the cappaccino was nice enough and they offer sitdown service at your table.
they also offer a mini dish of chocolate covered coffee beans at the tables, nice touch!

i ordered a chocolate croissant and was given a microwaved regular croissant with some (then) melted dark chocolate inside... i wasn't impressed. neither was my wife who pointed this out but was told that's how they serve a chocolate croissant. seriously - microwaved chocolate dumped inside a sliced open croissant... yes, i like my choco croissants, can you tell. lol

everything else was nice otherwise, ice cream, service was quick (at least for us), nice bright atmosphere to cool off after touring the Bazaar!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahve Dunyasi also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Kahve Dunyasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahve Dunyasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.