We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the view with a cocktail, but avoid the food.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 5. Kat Restaurant & Cafe Bar

5. Kat Restaurant & Cafe Bar
Soganci | Taksim, Istanbul, Turkey
+90 212 293 37 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #717 of 11,047 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $25 - $147
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Thai, Turkish, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoy the view with a cocktail, but avoid the food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were really looking forward to this meal, as the restaurant had been recommended by a good friend of mine.

The setting is fabulous and the view is stunning, however these are the only positives I can offer. The waiter gave us an overlong speech about the wine we had chosen and was very condescending. I just wanted him to open it!

To cut a long story short, the food was just awful (who is the 'chef' here??) and this is the first time ever, I have had to send food back.

We told the waiter we were unhappy and to just bring us the bill. When we refused to pay for our main courses, things turned frosty. The owner came to our table and announced she had been watching footage of us polishing off our meals on CCTV!! She was so rude and clearly does not respond well to criticism.....her venue may well have been open 20 years, but frankly, she has allowed standards to slip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    94
    55
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Eat elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The restaurant is located on the top floors of an apartment building and has a stunning view. It is tastefully decorated, with an evident touch of a woman's hand. The owner is an actress in her forties. The menu turned out to be less exciting than the view, but... with some potential.

For starter I settled on the specialty of the homemade quesadilla. Given the upmarket positioning of the restaurant I expected an interesting interpretation of the subject. It turned out neither to be interpretation, nor interesting. If one actually eats the whole thing, the sheer amount of "bread" will effectively kill the appetite.

I asked the waiter of advice on the main course. He took one look at me and made his mind. A man, therefore meat. The piece of meat turned out to be one of the less inspiring sirloins that I have eaten in years, accompanied by (factory made) french fries and a couple roughly cut pieces of carrot.

When somebody that hasn't got any experience of how to run a restaurant, but does it anyway, this is the unfortunate outcome. Here the lady owner seems perfectly happy being able to entertain her personal friends at "her" restaurant. Satisfaction of the guests is not even second priority. This place doesn't deliver the quality of a taverna, but pretends to do a lot more. Go here for a cocktail and enjoy the view, but eat somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_o_k_e_r_99
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view, average food, terrible service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This could be a great place to have a drink or two, but during the day time.

Not recommended for eating, especially during the weekend. The food is average, but feels over-priced.

They are definitely under staffed and waiters seem to have no waiting experience/education. Our waiter didn't even know the soup of the day, or how to take an order for that matter. Average food delivery time is about 50 minutes, and it is very likely that they will not get your order right, so you will get the wrong dish after 50 minutes. Manager also is not very helpful when dealing with the customers.

They do offer 10% discount for foursquare check-ins by the way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant has a wonderful location and if that's what you're looking for, go for a drink. I do not think that the food is worth the price, but the view is magnificent!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“View is awesome. Food is okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We kind of stumbled on this place, and were delighted by the ambiance of this restaurant. We were there just at sunset and the view of city was just amazing.

That said, the menu was a bit of a disappointment. It was a bit of a hodgepodge- I'd call it "Hotel European Cuisine". And very pricey.

Two of our party ordered the rack of lamb, and midway through the meal, the manager came by the table, counted the pieces of lamb on each plate, and said that the kitchen was shortchanging all the dishes to save money. She made the kitchen bring out one extra lamb chop per person for our table, which i suppose is good, but it was strange.

They also accidentally charged us for an additional bottle of wine, which we got fixed when we noticed it. All in all, the priciest meal we had in Istanbul, but not the best.

Nice view though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5. Kat Restaurant & Cafe Bar also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to 5. Kat Restaurant & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5. Kat Restaurant & Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.