We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amiral Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amiral Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Amiral Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Mah. Bayram Firini Sok. No:7 | Sultanahmet / Oldcity, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel in very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were travelling as one of two couples, and were given a turret room (the other couple were not). Our room was very spacious, with an easy chair and additional small coffee table and chairs. It was clean and very light and airy. The bathroom was very well appointed with a walk-in shower. It all looked relatively recently decorated. The other couple's room was also clean and light, but much smaller. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment - not much choice of fresh fruit or cereal - although there were lots of cheeses and cold meats. The best thing was the location - only five minutes or so from the Blue Mosque and the Hag Sophia, and round the corner from a very good street for restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a turret room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    112
    54
    16
    4
See reviews for
62
129
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and were a bit disappointed, given the number of good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were given a small top floor room which felt even smaller due to the sloping ceiling. The bed was comfortable and it was clean. The room had a pretty corner tower with a view of the sea and, unfortunately, of the rubbish tip in the garden below. This may have been the source of the multiple insect bites which we both woke up with every morning. Almost all the bathroom fittings were loose, the hairdryer emitted a strong smell of burning and neither the TV nor the wi fi worked in our room.
The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful with the one exception of the waiter who was in the breakfast room for our first three days. He seemed to take any request as a personal affront and would stomp away, muttering to himself, if we asked him for anything. All attempts to get him to smile failed miserably. The food was plentiful, if a bit boring, and the rather bizarre choice of hot food was more lukewarm than hot. I think the hotel could have done better than cold chips, rubber eggs and dough balls.
The hotel is in a great location & has a fabulous roof terrace with views of the sea and Sultanahmet mosque. We were told at check in that we could get a drink there but it was never open during the time we were there, which is a real shame.
The hotel has real potential to be good but it needs some TLC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a small hotel a short walk from the archaelogical highlights of Istanbul, such as the Blue Mosque, Haijia Sofia, Roman Hippodrome, and so on. The Bosphorus is also nearby and there is a good view of it from the roof. There is a good variety of restaurants and a decent shopping bazaar within 100 metres. The hotel can be reached from the airport by a fairly inexpensive taxi ride (it cost us 40-45 turkish lira on our 4 trips).

The hotel is in an old building that is quaint, but in decent condition. The rooms are smallish, but comfortable, and the staff are helpful. There is a quiet and comfortable lounge area alongside reception. Because of the great location in an interesting part of the city, it can be a little noisy at times, but it is quiet during sleeping time. They do a decent breakfast and there is free wi-fi. It is a very good base for a few days sightseeing in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room. They are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

our welcome to istanbul was great the ride from the airport was nice and made it easier than finding the hotel ourselves. the hotel at first glance is nice its a great location just a short walk from the blue mosque and the hagia sophia and the train that runs through the city to the major attractions. the staff was amazingly friendly and offered us anything we needed from help looking for restaurants to tour to recomendation on the rest of our trip like places to stay in greece and fethiye. the elevator is small, one person and luggage or two people no luggage, but its europe the always are so wasnt surprised and the hotels small so stairs arent so bad. the rooms are also small but nice and everything you need is there. we didnt plan on much hotel time so the room size is irrelevant. the breakfast was good traditional turkish veggies fruit meat cheese and breads. the juice wasnt my thing it was too sour but worth trying. we stayed here twice on our trip once at the begining and once at the end. when we were leaving the first time we told azul and he promised us a room on our next stay in a month at the same rate eventhough it was was then going ot be peak season and should have cost over 120 euros we payed 75 which was amazingly helpful from them to accomidate us. they remembered us and greeted us again as friends ofereing tea and inquiring on the rest of our trip and if we went where they said to and how we liked and when we would be returning again. overall it was a good hotel for a great price in a great location with great staff and i would definitely stay there again if im in istanbul

Room Tip: the corner rooms i believe are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Amiral Palace for 5 nights, early October, 2013. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and other sites. We stayed in a corner room which I think may be larger than some other rooms. The room was very clean and had comfy beds, nice linens and free WiFi. The breakfast buffet offered a variety of choices including, yogurt, fresh fruit, eggs various styles, deli meats and cheeses, breads and cakes. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Veysel and Gokhan. They had a lot of patience for our many tourist questions! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I arrived at the Amiral Palace Hotel after 9 hours of flying . Though I had made reservations and special requests six months before, for a room higher than the second floor level (for sleep comfort) I was summarily presented with a 2nd floor room key . The desk clerk was very dismissive and argumentative with me about the matter . I would have thought that a 6 month notice would suffice to fix something this simple in a guest's request. It was on paper !
Though my arrival coincided with the complimentary breakfast which is well advertised, there was an attempt to charge me for this , out of pocket .
Sure enough , late at night the garbage collector came and dumped empty glass bottles into a truck bin , sufficiently loud to wake you up . This happened every night.
It is not unusual to hear the sound of hammering going on in the hotel at day time
Little things are noticeable in the rooms like loose water faucets in the bathroom, loose door knob fixtures on the room door , temperature control device hanging by wires.
My room did not have a chair . I had to sit on the bed until the room next door emptied and I got that chair.
A lot is made in ads for the hotel about the roof terrace for drinks and food. Although it is possible to go there , it is deactivated for food and beverage service and is unkempt.
I was told that guests prefer to eat and drink at other venues in the area.
The buffet breakfast is composed of mostly cold items , except for the hard-boiled eggs.
They do make scrambled eggs , but do not bother to provide a heated steam pan . Because of this they stay cold and watery.
The premises are not wheel-chair accessible due to various step-up and step-down. Some rooms have a bathtub with a framing border which makes it quite problematic for the mobility
impaired to ease in and out . I tested one grab bar in the shower which was loose from the wall.

With attentiveness to details surrounding my comments , I'm sure that the Amiral Palace can be brought to competitive levels .

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room with a walk-in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was my 1st visit to Istanbul & was slightly nervous, as i was travelling with a female friend. Had an extremely warm welcome by the staff on arrival & offered a complimentary drink on the roof terrace, when we were ready. The roof terrace is the jewel of this hotel. One side is the Bosphorus & the other, the Blue Mosque We spent every evening with a drink or 2 enjoying the cool breeze. The rooms were fine, well equiped Very comfortable bed & very clean. The breakfast was plenty full. The staff were extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. I will definitely come back to this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amiral Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiral Palace Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Bayram Firini Sok. No:7 | Sultanahmet / Oldcity, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#148 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#196 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#212 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amiral Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the magical city, Thank you for your choosing our hotel. We are happy to share your memories . I would like to give you information about our hotel , Our front office department is open 7/24 . We are here to answer all your questions , What to do in Istanbul? How to do in this town? We have prepared answers to these questions for you . Moreover, both professional and as someone family . You can call us for City Tour , Bosphorus Tour ,Turkish Bath , Turkish Night and Dervishes Show etc. Our breakfast served 07:30 until 10:30 in the morning from Garden Restaurant.(Near by the hotel bulilding). Our breakfast is offered about 140 kinds of Traditional taste . Our all kinds of breakfast are prepared handmade in our own kitchen. As Our mother pastry and our grandmothers cakes . Our terrace is a great place to watch in Istanbul. You can drink your coffee with enjoy , can lovely talk ,you can feel serenity .Definitely , I suggest , you review our menu because , all the delicacies on the menu is selected specially for you. You will believe in you, looks amazing Istanbul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Amiral Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiral Palace Istanbul
Hotel Amiral Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amiral Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.