We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yesil Ev

Yesil Ev
Kabasakal Caddesi 5, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)
212-517-6785
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 10,932 restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet - Old City
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This restaurant is for those who seek shelter from eating at the Istanbul street restaurants. I didn't care for it. Our meals were expensive by Istanbul standards. The stuffed quail was marginal and all the meals came with rice and french fries.We got some high end still water that cost more than a bottle of water at JFK airport. A group of English speaking women seated at another table were served Nestle bottled water. We were not asked! The restaurant is a nice quiet location between and very close to Sophia and the Blue Mosque. My son commented that it was like being back in Vienna or Frankfurt. For the leary tourist it is a great escape. We are in Istanbul for flavor and adventure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    32
    12
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food, Service and atmosphere were delightful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our travel guide took us to this little gem in Old Town. She told us it was definitely not a tourist restaurant and was relaxing and was she right!! The food, wine, service and atmosphere met expectations and beyond. We caught Istanbul in a cold/rainy weekend, therefore we spent quite a bit of time inside. Look for the Green Bed and Breakfast and go behind to a garden....through the garden is the restaurant. The staff was VERY attentive. The food was surprisingly good and refreshing. Much, much more than we would have ever expected in Old Town.

We would definitely recommend finding this li'l gem. It was worth the time to walk to it and to be honest, it isn't far from any of the sites but you have to know what your looking for!!

Happy Eating!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A retreat from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The garden is a wonderful place to enjoy a quiet break during your hectic tour of the Sultanahmet. Very convenient for all the major historical sites.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“An oasis for the weary, the dusty, the footsore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I experienced only the garden restaurant, but I went there three times in 6 days. In the midst of a tree-and-canvas-shaded walled-in garden, a lovely pale rose marble fountain splashes gently, masking the noise of the streets outside. It is a wonderful place to have lunch on a hot day ; the temperature in the garden is about 5° C lower than just outside. The service is friendly and professional, the cooking is good, the prices are reasonable. Proust would have felt right at home and might have talked about how the white-painted garden chairs with their floral chintz cushions reminded him of luncheon long ago at his darling granny's...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings, good food, though pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Really pretty surroundings as you can see from the pictures. Food was good was service was good also. It isn't cheap though. Nice place to spend some time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yesil Ev also viewed

 

Been to Yesil Ev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yesil Ev, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.