We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asitane Restaurant

Asitane Restaurant
Kariye Camii Sokak No: 6, EdirnekapI, Istanbul 34240, Turkey
+90 212 635 7997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 11,041 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had dinner here during our trip, it is a little difficult to find at night and the taxi driver led us a merry dance. However the restaurant is relaxing and the staff very attentive. The food is well prepared and good quality. It is also excellent value. We would love to go back again, next time perhaps.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    174
    50
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
charleston,wv
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

. Stopped in for an early light lunch after a visit to Byzantine Chora next door.The garden patio is a quiet reprieve designed for a lingering meal. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive...we were even given a small jar if the house jam as we left. Unfortunately we could only "scratch" what appeared to be an outstanding menu. The chora, noted for its mosaic work, and the restaurant are a little off the beaten path ($10usd cab fare from Grand Bazaar), Recommend see the chora in late afternoon, shopping in the square and finishing with a long dinner into the evening at Asitane.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best meal I had during two weeks in Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Ate a wonderful lunch here before visiting Chora Church. I would have gone more than once if we weren't going home tomorrow. I was really tired, as a vegetarian, trying to get something other than roasted vegetable stew for lunch or dinner. I first had a plate with three small servings of interesting flavors (stuffed grape leaves, hummus-like substance and one other sample). For the main course they brought a baked, stuffed apple. Absolutely wonderful! Dessert was an almond pudding with Turkish ice cream on top. These might sound unusual but they were wonderfully made. The sweets were not too sweet, etc. My husband had beef over something like mashed potatoes. Only after he finished and expressed his satisfaction did we tell him it was eggplant (which he doesn't like).
The service was wonderful and the surroundings in the garden were pleasant.
Would love to return for another meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“First class lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful atmospheric terrace garden tucked away in a side street next to the chora Byzantine church. Very classy food wine and service. A really pretty and enjoyable meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the taxi fare to get here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant for a special occasion. The wait staff was attentive, but not obtrusive. We celebrated my mother's 80th birthday and they gave her two little cakes plus sang "happy birthday." The food was delicious and different with an unusual blending of flavors. At the end of the evening they called us a taxi. We had a great time. If my travels bring me back to Istanbul, I would dine here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asitane Restaurant also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Asitane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asitane Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.