We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and friendly staffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tulip Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34121, Turkey (Sultanahmet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 941 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location and friendly staffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Tulip gusethouse was a perfect choice for our trip to Istanbul. The place was clean, located near the main sightseeing spots such as Sulntanahmet cammi or Hagia sophia but still quite and cozy. The staffs were very friendly.. and the breakfast??? Breakfast was more than pefect. I can still taste that homemade jams.. :) Highly recommended for everone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    174
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
56
181
94
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spend a weekend in Istanbul exploring some of the major sites and Tulip was a great home to do it from. Esin was very helpful and even guided us to a restaurant that did not charge tourist prices and yet had all the classic Turkish food. The breakfast is generous and with a delightful view of the sea and across to Asia.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are small...great for a night or two but not super for hanging out. Compare rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The rooms at Tulip Guesthouse are beautiful and the staff are lovely, so helpful. We stayed in a twin room which had a private bathroom which was clean and modern. The location is great as just off the main sultanahmet restaurant street and close to blue mosque, hagia sofia and tram stop. Check out the library down the stairs for book swap opportunities!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

On my way to Teheran I had the opportunity to discover the old city thank's because I made the perfect choice I think with Tulip GH : ideal location, nice place, very good value, lovely staff ... in two words: great deal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a small establishment in the "old town", about 5+ minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Mosaics Museum, Topkapi Palace. And about a zillion restaurants (but the street the hotel is in is small and quiet). In 10 minutes you can walk to a tram stop and catch a tram to where the ferries are at Eminönü - or go on foot in about maybe 30 minutes. The Grand Bazaar is also within (longish) walking distance. So the location really can't be beaten.

As everyone else has said, the staff are really friendly (hello Esin!) and the rooms comfortable and spotless. Our room was small but we managed to find enough stowage space for all our stuff. The wifi worked fine. (And yes, the spiral staircase is steep, but we're over 70 and we managed it!)

What marked the breakfast out from some comparably-priced places we stayed at in other cities was that there was protein (boiled eggs, cheese) and wonderful sliced fresh fruit - as well as rolls, tomatoes, cake, nutella-equivalent, and a lot of Turkish savoury dishes. One may use the kettle from lunchtime on.

A tip: In our experience, bathrooms in continental Europe often smell a bit "drainy" - unless the drainhole in the floor has been closed up. We found that putting the wastebin over the drainhole helped a lot with that. (NB the bathroom was spotlessly clean.)

The staff are all women, but Esin arranged for a young man to be on hand to help us take our luggage downstairs on the morning we left - there's no lift. (When we arrived and checked in early early in the morning we left our stuff at the front desk, and by the time we reappeared later in the day it had been taken upstairs for us.)

All in all we thought it was a very good place to stay, and excellent value for money. We have no hesitation at all in recommending it!

The hotel arranged for us to be picked up at the airport - we arrived at 5am so were very glad of that, even though it wasn't particularly cheap.

Room Tip: Maybe ask about room size. The "sea view" isn't all that different from the street vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a super clean and friendly guesthouse in a great location. Rooms are very small, so it is a little hard to maneuver around normal-sized luggage. The staircase is narrow and steep, so older or less agile folks should request a first floor room. Breakfast was served in a cozy room upstairs with a nice view. Staff were friendly and eager to be of assistance. It was certainly a great value for the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Tulip Guethouse is perfectly located in the heart of Sultanmet, a short walk from the Blue Mosque etc. The rooms are quite small but nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The rooms wre cleaned, beds made and clean towes every day. The buffet breakfast was good and included cereals, coffee, tea,bread, olives, cheese and salad.

The hotel is on a quiet sidestreet and there are views of the Bosphourous from the restaurant where breakfast is served (and you can sit and drink tea in the evenings).

Esrin was always on hand to answer questions and made us all feel at home (as well as organising an airport transfer). Free WiFi in the rooms and the restaurant. I would definately stay here again and recomend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Note, the hotel is in an old building which has been restored. It has a steep spiral staircase which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rapunzel Hostel
Rapunzel Hostel
#61 of 941 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Med Cezir Hotel
Med Cezir Hotel
#20 of 941 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Tulip House
Hotel Tulip House
#90 of 941 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juliet Rooms & Kitchen
#27 of 941 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Sultanahmet
Avrasya Hostel
Avrasya Hostel
#16 of 941 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#18 of 941 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 941 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tulip, a beautiful little guesthouse nestled within the awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of the ancient Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. With views across the Marmara sea to the shores of the Asian continent you will at once find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere.Yes, the magic of Istanbul is before you. At the end of a busy day in this great city, at the Tulip guesthouse, tucked away from the bustle of the city on a quiet street, you will find a relaxing and enjoyable place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Tulip Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.