We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, nice place, very good value, lovely staff ... great deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tulip Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tulip Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34121, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 794 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Paris, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location, nice place, very good value, lovely staff ... great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

On my way to Teheran I had the opportunity to discover the old city thank's because I made the perfect choice I think with Tulip GH : ideal location, nice place, very good value, lovely staff ... in two words: great deal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    155
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
50
142
88
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a small establishment in the "old town", about 5+ minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Mosaics Museum, Topkapi Palace. And about a zillion restaurants (but the street the hotel is in is small and quiet). In 10 minutes you can walk to a tram stop and catch a tram to where the ferries are at Eminönü - or go on foot in about maybe 30 minutes. The Grand Bazaar is also within (longish) walking distance. So the location really can't be beaten.

As everyone else has said, the staff are really friendly (hello Esin!) and the rooms comfortable and spotless. Our room was small but we managed to find enough stowage space for all our stuff. The wifi worked fine. (And yes, the spiral staircase is steep, but we're over 70 and we managed it!)

What marked the breakfast out from some comparably-priced places we stayed at in other cities was that there was protein (boiled eggs, cheese) and wonderful sliced fresh fruit - as well as rolls, tomatoes, cake, nutella-equivalent, and a lot of Turkish savoury dishes. One may use the kettle from lunchtime on.

A tip: In our experience, bathrooms in continental Europe often smell a bit "drainy" - unless the drainhole in the floor has been closed up. We found that putting the wastebin over the drainhole helped a lot with that. (NB the bathroom was spotlessly clean.)

The staff are all women, but Esin arranged for a young man to be on hand to help us take our luggage downstairs on the morning we left - there's no lift. (When we arrived and checked in early early in the morning we left our stuff at the front desk, and by the time we reappeared later in the day it had been taken upstairs for us.)

All in all we thought it was a very good place to stay, and excellent value for money. We have no hesitation at all in recommending it!

The hotel arranged for us to be picked up at the airport - we arrived at 5am so were very glad of that, even though it wasn't particularly cheap.

Room Tip: Maybe ask about room size. The "sea view" isn't all that different from the street vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a super clean and friendly guesthouse in a great location. Rooms are very small, so it is a little hard to maneuver around normal-sized luggage. The staircase is narrow and steep, so older or less agile folks should request a first floor room. Breakfast was served in a cozy room upstairs with a nice view. Staff were friendly and eager to be of assistance. It was certainly a great value for the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Tulip Guethouse is perfectly located in the heart of Sultanmet, a short walk from the Blue Mosque etc. The rooms are quite small but nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The rooms wre cleaned, beds made and clean towes every day. The buffet breakfast was good and included cereals, coffee, tea,bread, olives, cheese and salad.

The hotel is on a quiet sidestreet and there are views of the Bosphourous from the restaurant where breakfast is served (and you can sit and drink tea in the evenings).

Esrin was always on hand to answer questions and made us all feel at home (as well as organising an airport transfer). Free WiFi in the rooms and the restaurant. I would definately stay here again and recomend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Note, the hotel is in an old building which has been restored. It has a steep spiral staircase which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was my first time traveling on my own and the staff at the Tulip Guesthouse were extremely helpful. Esin, the manager, helped me find things to do and even walked with me to a restaurant to explain my food allergy to them. The room was quaint but very comfortable and quiet. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The staff here are wonderful! They helped take care of everything we needed. Ms. Esin even helped us call to
confirm reservations for another location in Goreme. The rooms are cozy and clean with modern private bathrooms. Breakfast was always good with a nice assortment of fruit, veggies, eggs, cereal, and olives. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The night we stayed in Tulip Guesthouse was a nightmare.
I went to Istanbul to meet my boyfriend, he had to work at nightshift so he always tried to choose the safe place for me to live alone. We thought Tulip could be a OK choice even though the way from Sultanamet back to Tulip is dark and the curtain could barely cover half of the window and the window is right in the opposite of another building closely, which didn't protect guest's privacy. What's worst, my boyfriend and me were just talking in the room for a few mins before he left for job, then a bunch of people knock the door rudely and asked him out. We were shocked and believe me,the owner of the guesthouse is not nice at all. We realized there was misunderstanding and we respect their rules so we told them our relationship, but they insisted to be impolite which really disrespect the guests.

The next day, my boyfriend took me to another much better hotel even thought it cost much more than the tulip house. Thanks Dear...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 794 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tulip, a beautiful little guesthouse nestled within the awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of the ancient Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. With views across the Marmara sea to the shores of the Asian continent you will at once find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere.Yes, the magic of Istanbul is before you. At the end of a busy day in this great city, at the Tulip guesthouse, tucked away from the bustle of the city on a quiet street, you will find a relaxing and enjoyable place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Tulip Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.