We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tulip Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34121, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 916 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was my first time traveling on my own and the staff at the Tulip Guesthouse were extremely helpful. Esin, the manager, helped me find things to do and even walked with me to a restaurant to explain my food allergy to them. The room was quaint but very comfortable and quiet. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    174
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
55
180
94
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff here are wonderful! They helped take care of everything we needed. Ms. Esin even helped us call to
confirm reservations for another location in Goreme. The rooms are cozy and clean with modern private bathrooms. Breakfast was always good with a nice assortment of fruit, veggies, eggs, cereal, and olives. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The night we stayed in Tulip Guesthouse was a nightmare.
I went to Istanbul to meet my boyfriend, he had to work at nightshift so he always tried to choose the safe place for me to live alone. We thought Tulip could be a OK choice even though the way from Sultanamet back to Tulip is dark and the curtain could barely cover half of the window and the window is right in the opposite of another building closely, which didn't protect guest's privacy. What's worst, my boyfriend and me were just talking in the room for a few mins before he left for job, then a bunch of people knock the door rudely and asked him out. We were shocked and believe me,the owner of the guesthouse is not nice at all. We realized there was misunderstanding and we respect their rules so we told them our relationship, but they insisted to be impolite which really disrespect the guests.

The next day, my boyfriend took me to another much better hotel even thought it cost much more than the tulip house. Thanks Dear...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

One of those hotels who overbook people. I booked on 8 Mar directly with hotel for an Apr stay and received a confirmation of my stay including my arrival timing. But I received an auto cancellation email on 11 Apr with a standard reason of either incomplete data, overbooking...
I emailed hotel and they ignored me. I had to re-look for a hotel last minute.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great location near the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Arasta Bazaar, and other old city sites.

Quiet, and on a quiet street, but near the action.

Very reasonable prices, especially for the location.

Clean, comfortable room – firm bed, spotless bathroom.

Ample breakfast in a nice top-floor room with a view.

Very friendly and informative staff with great advice on places to visit and how to solve problems.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murska Sobota, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you don't mind small rooms, being in the core of the Istanbul culture centre is a big plus. Beautiful Turkish self-service breakfast with the view and extremely helpful stuff is the reason I will return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Believe me, it's hard to find a better location at a cheaper price in Istanbul. You are at a walking distance from the Blue Mosque, the St. Sophie Museum and the Topkaki Palace without being on a noisy street. And the owners speak a good English (which is a rarity in Turkey) and are very helpful.
The place was clean and correspondent to the description on the website. It is somehow 'austere', but the bathroom was brand new and the towels and blankets clean, so overall that is good. The only problem are the stairs: they are very steep, they could be dangerous for families with young children.
Breakfast is served at the top floor and the choice is abundant. The only 'problem' is that I pointed out that, because all the rooms were occupied by guest, the owners used to sleep on the benches in the breakfast room.
That said, if I come back to Istanbul I will probably return in the very same hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the bathroom, they are roomier and the difference in price is really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tulip Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 916 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tulip, a beautiful little guesthouse nestled within the awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of the ancient Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. With views across the Marmara sea to the shores of the Asian continent you will at once find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere.Yes, the magic of Istanbul is before you. At the end of a busy day in this great city, at the Tulip guesthouse, tucked away from the bustle of the city on a quiet street, you will find a relaxing and enjoyable place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Tulip Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.