We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tulip Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19, Istanbul 34121, Turkey (Sultanahmet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 980 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in December 2013/January 2013. The location is perfect for all the touristy sights, beds are very comfortable, breakfast is traditional and yummy, and hot water is plentiful! The staff was super sweet and accommodating - and were always available when needed. Only cons: the rooms are very small (like, besides the bed, only 1 open suitcase will fit in the room) and the bathrooms are quite cold.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EandJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Imola, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

one of the best place where i slept during my trips in 54 countries!prices are very cheap and great quality of breakfast!rooms are very clean(everyday)and bathrooms are with clean towels and hairdryer incuded...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markpenn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tulip Guesthouse for three nights during our visit to Istanbul. The location is absolutely superb! Within walking distance you can visit some of the major attractions of Istanbul. Although the room was rather small, the bed was very comfortable and all was kept meticulously clean with fresh towels every day. We really liked the breakfast on the top floor with a view of the Bosporus. In short: great value for money and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

First the pros: Location is excellent, the cleaning lady and the other young assistant are delightful. The breakfast is also pretty good. This is more like a hostel with private rooms than a guest house.
Cons: Be very careful with the stairs they are dangerous. The bathroom was like a refrigerator and there are wires sticking out of the wall. Walls are tissue thin, can hear everything that goes on. The manager acts very strange. Every morning, watches the guests during breakfast. Only place in Turkey we've ever seen that. When tried to engage in conversation, was very cold. Also, when she discovered that our airport transfer was booked through another agency (one she advertises on her front desk!) and that it was only going to be 20 Euros total, she said that the ones she arranged were the same price. That's interesting. The e-mail she sent us prior to our arrival says: "We can arrange a pick up from Sabiha Gokcen Airport. It costs 55 Euro for the private car (up to 4 people)."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fortchoteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Pros: Good location, quiet neighborhood, good breakfast, clean towels every day, the two assistants were very nice

Cons: very small room, really uncomfortable for two people, small bed
the bathroom was horrific, it is an icebox without any heating and an open window as vent, we were freezing in the shower and we both caught a bad cold (I would not recommend this place in winter) Moreover there were wires coming out of the wall, no bulb in the mirror lamp, no shelf.
The walls are paper thin, the place was noisy
They kept taking the soaps and shampoos from our bathroom without providing another one, I found these really strange

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our trip to Turkey for 4 weeks. It has a great location in Sultanahmet, within walking distance to many sites including the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. It was the most wonderful, clean, friendly accommodation. The breakfast was unbelievable and the staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. It was truly a wonderful experience, where we were made to feel like members of the family. Can't say enough to recommend this guest house to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent 6 nights in Tulip Guesthouse and have only best memories of our stay there.
Esin and Tamara are great people.
Nice breakfast, I miss the olives and rose jam)they were the best there.
can't imagine the better location, close to Sofia and the sea is 3 minutes walk.
Would recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Avrasya Hostel
Avrasya Hostel
#40 of 980 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Sultanahmet
Elite Kasseria Hotel
Elite Kasseria Hotel
#29 of 980 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#12 of 980 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Tulip House
Hotel Tulip House
#94 of 980 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique House Istanbul
Antique House Istanbul
#79 of 980 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Sultanahmet
Bonjour Guesthouse
Bonjour Guesthouse
#47 of 980 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 980 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tulip, a beautiful little guesthouse nestled within the awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of the ancient Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. With views across the Marmara sea to the shores of the Asian continent you will at once find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere.Yes, the magic of Istanbul is before you. At the end of a busy day in this great city, at the Tulip guesthouse, tucked away from the bustle of the city on a quiet street, you will find a relaxing and enjoyable place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tulip Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing