We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in the heart of Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Tulip Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tulip Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34121, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 788 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money in the heart of Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tulip Guesthouse for three nights during our visit to Istanbul. The location is absolutely superb! Within walking distance you can visit some of the major attractions of Istanbul. Although the room was rather small, the bed was very comfortable and all was kept meticulously clean with fresh towels every day. We really liked the breakfast on the top floor with a view of the Bosporus. In short: great value for money and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    150
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
50
134
88
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

First the pros: Location is excellent, the cleaning lady and the other young assistant are delightful. The breakfast is also pretty good. This is more like a hostel with private rooms than a guest house.
Cons: Be very careful with the stairs they are dangerous. The bathroom was like a refrigerator and there are wires sticking out of the wall. Walls are tissue thin, can hear everything that goes on. The manager acts very strange. Every morning, watches the guests during breakfast. Only place in Turkey we've ever seen that. When tried to engage in conversation, was very cold. Also, when she discovered that our airport transfer was booked through another agency (one she advertises on her front desk!) and that it was only going to be 20 Euros total, she said that the ones she arranged were the same price. That's interesting. The e-mail she sent us prior to our arrival says: "We can arrange a pick up from Sabiha Gokcen Airport. It costs 55 Euro for the private car (up to 4 people)."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Pros: Good location, quiet neighborhood, good breakfast, clean towels every day, the two assistants were very nice

Cons: very small room, really uncomfortable for two people, small bed
the bathroom was horrific, it is an icebox without any heating and an open window as vent, we were freezing in the shower and we both caught a bad cold (I would not recommend this place in winter) Moreover there were wires coming out of the wall, no bulb in the mirror lamp, no shelf.
The walls are paper thin, the place was noisy
They kept taking the soaps and shampoos from our bathroom without providing another one, I found these really strange

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our trip to Turkey for 4 weeks. It has a great location in Sultanahmet, within walking distance to many sites including the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. It was the most wonderful, clean, friendly accommodation. The breakfast was unbelievable and the staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. It was truly a wonderful experience, where we were made to feel like members of the family. Can't say enough to recommend this guest house to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent 6 nights in Tulip Guesthouse and have only best memories of our stay there.
Esin and Tamara are great people.
Nice breakfast, I miss the olives and rose jam)they were the best there.
can't imagine the better location, close to Sofia and the sea is 3 minutes walk.
Would recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights, the room was spacious and comfortable. Very clean and tidy with a good en-suite shower room. Breakfast was varied and delicious, with a lovely view towards the Bosphorus. The staff are delightful and extremely helpful, answering our many questions. The location on a very safe and quiet little street within a 5min walk of the main sights of Sultanahmet Square. Thank you so much to all the staff for a wonderful stay in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent five nights in the Tulip Gueshouse at the end of our trip to Turkey. Our room was wonderfully clean, comfortable and quiet, if a little on the small side. And the staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. The location was terrific, in Sultanahmet, Istanbul's most historic district. We were near to Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi, the Basilica Cistern, the tram line, good restaurants, etc. For a tourist, it's hard to argue against staying in Sultanahmet. It's the part of the city where most of the attractions that draw tourists are located.

Breakfasts were plentiful and good, with such things as hard-cooked eggs, yogurt, honey, breads, cheeses, olives, cereal, jams and preserves (really GOOD jams and preserves), coffee, tea and probably several other things I'm forgetting. Breakfast is included in the room rate.

Breakfast was served in a room whose outside wall was all windows, with incredible views over the Bosphorous and part of the city. The room my wife and I had was just down the hall from the breakfast room and, after long mornings of sightseeing, or in the evenings, we'd sit for a while in the breakfast room and enjoy the view while doing a little reading, planning our next moves or playing a little cards. It was a great place to relax.

Only downside: Our room was on the top floor, and the guesthouse has no elevators. We carried our luggage up a narrow circular staircase. But that was the ONLY downside to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with their own bath cost a little more, but are worth it. The hotel is full much of the year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No : 19 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 788 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Guesthouse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tulip, a beautiful little guesthouse nestled within the awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of the ancient Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. With views across the Marmara sea to the shores of the Asian continent you will at once find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere.Yes, the magic of Istanbul is before you. At the end of a busy day in this great city, at the Tulip guesthouse, tucked away from the bustle of the city on a quiet street, you will find a relaxing and enjoyable place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Tulip Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.