We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sirkeci Mansion

Save Saved
You added Sirkeci Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirkeci Mansion
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Taya Hatun Sok. No:5 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34120, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Pickup&Cash Discount
Ranked #10 of 900 hotels in Istanbul
Huntsville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great experience. We arrived in Istanbul extremely exhausted and disoriented and we were met at the airport by a shuttle that was arranged by the airport. When we got to the hotel, the staff was welcoming and attentive. Our room was wonderful and at the front of the hotel and we could look out and see the park from our window. We enjoyed that the hotel was next to the park and we spent a little bit of each day strolling in the park.

The staff took care of everything. One only had to ask, and one would receive. I recommend having the staff get tickets to the local attractions online. The hotel also had several free activities. We participated in learning to drink Raki at the Meyhane experience. Wonderful.

The breakfast may be the most amazing buffet that I have ever experienced. We ended up not needing any lunch since we filled up at breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and appreciate your kind comments.

Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.

Best Wishes from Istanbul Sirkeci Konak Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,920
    266
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
413
1194
130
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We are two couples who travel frequently. We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights as it was highly recommended by friends who stayed there last year. It did not disappoint. The staff and service were exceptional. Breakfast was included and delicious. The hotel offered free daily tours including the Wednesday market which was terrific. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the "location, location, location"was central to public transportation and top ten sites.
We only got a taste of the current turmoil in Taksim square- witnessed one demonstration while we were at the top of Galata tower. It escalated two days after we left. I hope the crisis resolves as this is a wonderful, vibrant city and a great hotel!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and appreciate your kind comments.

Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.

Best Wishes from Istanbul Sirkeci Konak Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed as two couples for 3 nights on the day the trouble in Istanbul started (this hotel is on the oposite side of the river and we felt completely safe). The pick up from the airport went well and the welcome (a drink and a chat about what is available on arrival) was genuine and non intrusive. The hotel is in walking distance of the main sites and near the tram stop if you want to go further afield (Trams are very crowded).
The hotel will book tickets for some of the museums which help with some queues and we went to the Whirling Dervish ceremony (not a show more of an experience) lasts and hour and was interesting. There are nice places to eat nearby we liked Hans where they make filled bread pancakes and you can sit on cushions as the women cook. We didnt eat in the rooftop resturant but had a drink there (we wanted a drink late one night and they got a light for us and 'opened up'. Loads to see and do in the old town and although we went on a boat trip up the Bosphorus (lovely late afternoon/sunset thing to do when your feet are tired). Our room was a twin (seemed a bit roomier than the double) and at the back (no view but quiet). It was well equiped and comfortable beds, would have appreciated free WiFi.

Room Tip: quiet rooms are near the back but it is not a noisy location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and appreciate your kind comments.

Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.

Best Wishes from Istanbul Sirkeci Konak Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
380 helpful votes 380 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had six nights at this lovely hotel is late May. Staying longer meant that we had complimentary airport pick- up, which went well once we worked out the system (meet the person by the sign with your name, wait while he accumulates other 'names' and takes you to the place where the cars pull up and everyone gets into their own minivan). The greeting at the hotel was warm, check in efficient and the welcome drink appreciated as it was after 10 pm when we arrived.

The hotel is located in a quieter, lower part of the old town. You only have to walk to the end of the street to get to the efficient, modern tram (walk further to the other end of the tram stop, cross the street you will see the automates for the tokens, which cost 3 turkish lira each). All the main sights of Sultanahmet plus the Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar and the ferries are just a short stroll (10-20 minutes, if you are not rushing) away.

Our room, 1303, was a narrowish but long and spacious room, which all the expected mini bar, flat screen tv, writing table, paper, and sitting area. There was plenty of storage and hanger space in the closet, which also included the safe. The bathroom was well finished, with a bath/shower, hair dryer and amenities. Our room was overlooked the back of the hotel and was very quiet at nights. Three days when we were having an afternoon break it was not as quiet, as jack hammering going on in an adjoining building. Hopefully that will soon be finished.

Breakfast was served in the main floor restaurant and had a wide selection of hot and cold dishes. The lovely waitress brought around coffee/tea regularly and it was possible to order a turkish coffee. Breakfast was served from 7:00-10:00, however, it was possible to enjoy the full cold buffet from 6:30 which was appreciated when we had an early start.

We enjoyed dinner on the roof top terrace (it is worth making a reservation at least on the day to ensure you get the sitting, 19:00 or 21:00, that you prefer as the terrace is not huge). Our meal was delicious and restful as the terrace overlooks Gulhane park.

What makes this hotel so special is the staff, always cheerful and friendly. Excellent suggestions for sightseeing were provided, especially the receptionist from Bursa who gave us such excellent information about his city and made our one day visit there a highlight of our stay.

We highly recommend this wonderful hotel for location, amenities, comfortable rooms and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and appreciate your kind comments.

Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.

Best Wishes from Istanbul Sirkeci Konak Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you want a large American-style hotel (i.e Marriott) this is not it. But if you want a lovely hotel with an accommodating staff in a great location, it's perfect. In spite of its size, it has a fitness room, a spa, a rooftop restaurant, a very good breakfast, nice rooms and a great location. We were able to walk to virtually every major site.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the building overlooking the park are extremely quiet. The tram is a block aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and appreciate your kind comments.

Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.

Best Wishes from Istanbul Sirkeci Konak Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotels location is great. The street is very peaceful and overlooks the Topkapi gardens. The rooms are quiet. The roof top restaurant was a highlight. The breakfast area is very small and can become quite crowded and hot. it is located in the reception area. Do your own research on hotel recommendations for tourist attractions and dinning experiences.The pick up and drop off service is great but be aware for the drop off to leave in plenty of time for the airport The hotel adviced 3/4 would be more than adequate , but it took nearly 1.5 hours and we nearly missed our International flight due to heavy traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and appreciate your kind comments.

Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.

Best Wishes from Istanbul Sirkeci Konak Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

First, our airport transfer, arranged by the hotel, was poorly handled at the airport with much confusion and rudeness from our driver and a fellow who appeared to be his boss. Arriving at the hotel, we mentioned this to hotel management and were assured changes would be made immediately. Overall the service at the Sirkeci Konak is exemplary. The staff are sincerely helpful and very well trained, so our airport transfer fiasco was definitely not the norm and we would give the Sikeci Konak our highest marks. It is an excellent boutique style hotel.

We stayed five nights and wished it had been longer. The Sirkeci Konak is really well located in the old town right near the very efficient tram line and within walking distance of many of the sights. There are also quite a number of good restaurants nearby, plus we found the hotel's own Nayzabe Restaurant to be excellent.

The hotel offers a number of free guided tours and a cooking class. The tours are really good and free !! Guests also get a ten percent discount on room charges if you pay in cash on arrival. Well worth the effort.

If you prefer, a private guide can be arranged. We hired a young lady arranged through the hotel. She was very knowledgable with a fun personality and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Her name is Gokce Oraloglu. Her email is : gokce.oraloglu@gmail.com if you want to book her in advance., or you can arrange her through the hotel.

We think the Sirkeci Konak is a perfect base for visiting Istanbul

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Sirkeci Mansion, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
My Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and appreciate your kind comments.

Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.

Best Wishes from Istanbul Sirkeci Konak Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sirkeci Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirkeci Mansion

Address: Taya Hatun Sok. No:5 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34120, Turkey (Formerly Sirkeci Konak Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#8 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#23 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sirkeci Mansion 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to the Topkapi palace in the heart of Istanbul and from where we are we invite you to explore the mysteries of two thousand years. In hopes of capturing the spirit of the area, our Konak's atmosphere, decor and design take a revolutionary approach in combining 19th century style with 21st century comfort. Combined with this atmosphere, what if we offer the promise of distinctive hospitality? Just imagine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sirkeci Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirkeci Konak Istanbul
Hotel Sirkeci Konak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirkeci Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.