We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short visit but we'd go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Hotel to your Saves list
La Maison Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muvezzi Caddesi No 43 | Cıragan - Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #381 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A short visit but we'd go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I agree with Alexandre A, this is an excellent hotel. It was chosen for us by our future daughter-in-law, who is Turkish, and what a choice! We found it an excellent location for getting to the main sites in the city and the views from our rooms and the top floor restaurant were stunning, over the Bosphorus and across to the Golden Horn and the Blue Mosque. From what our daughter in law told us, it was also very good value for Istanbul, but we can't confirm this as we didn't look at everything else. We arrived late one afternoon and therefore ate at the hotel that evening. We were going to eat in the city the following evening, but we enjoyed our meal so much, we went for another meal there. the bedrooms were all we wanted, and the hotel staff were always very helpful and friendly. If we went back to Istanbul (and we would like to do so), we would definitely return to La Maison, as we had no problems with the room or the breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony, well worth the bit extra for the fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
12
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great hotel with an excellent view, relatively cheap, highly recommended for couples. The only "bémol" is that it is slightly far from the historical center-- one should take a taxi (very cheap) and pass though frequent traffic jams. However, there is boat going to the center. Also the hotel is in vicinity of a big park of Yildiz -- fun for joggers!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I chose La Maison because it was close to my work location - which was just down the hill. The experience was all-together comfortable and average. The rooms were clear yet small and sparsely decorated (even the upgrade). The breakfast on the top floor restaurant had an amazing view but lacking in selection. The staff said hello but not much more.

If you're on a budget and La Maison is close to where you need to be - I'd suggest it.

Room Tip: Half of rooms have a great view - push for one of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our favorite part of the hotel is the staff treatment, they are really professional and welcoming. The hotel lobby is really nice and inviting. The restaurant and the terrace views are amazing, so is the staff. They were really nice to our kids and made a great effort to wait for us before closing the kitchen on New Year's Eve. I will definately recommend this place and write about it in my Traveling Blog. The only thing we didn't like are the rooms, they seem outdated and you would think they are average rooms from any hotel, they are missing the cozy french decor you would expect of La Maison. Also, the bathtub and bathroom were not that clean. It is really close to the Bosphorous river, located on a hill on a charming street. It is close to the shopping and student life and near Taksim. Overall, the place is excellent, but not worth the price for the outdated rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have just spent two nights at La Maison, while working in Istanbul.
I had a lovely room with a great view of the Bosphorus.
The Hotel is situated on quite a steep hill, which I walked down a couple off times to
the Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel where some colleagues where staying, and went out to eat nearby.
On other occasions the Hotel found me a Taxi, that generally turned up very promptly.
Other than breakfast, I did not get the chance to eat in the evening at the Hotel.

I will return to Istanbul at some point not working, and would consider staying again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoals, Kent
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Yes, it is up a very steep hill, but it is well-worth it. Considering the location, within 400m of the Bosphoros and the Four Seasons Hotel, this is a fab hotel. I won't give it 5* as my room was a little tired let's say but on the flip-side this is a real hotel, run by great, service orientated people who want to make you feel welcome. Everything works, Wi-Fi as well and the restaurant and terrace on the top floor? What a view, one of the best! Great place, will be back.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Used this small hotel for a budget business trip but it is really more suited to tourism. Small and clean room which was a bit too cramped to work in but had excellent free wifi. Could have used an in room coffee station. The staff were extremely helpful and printed things for us gratis. There is a bar and restaurant on the roof with stunning Bosphorus views but food is not available in the hotel outside restaurant hours. Most importantly of all for the non athletic among us - this hotel is a great location for its views and close to the Dolmabace Palace and also to Ortakoy - but it is at the top of a short but extremely steep hill!!! You will need to go down the hill for other restaurants etc. about 10 mins walk to the main road. All in all a very welcoming establishment but scores lower on the amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel

Address: Muvezzi Caddesi No 43 | Cıragan - Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Maison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.