We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultan Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Sultan Hill to your Saves list
Hotel Sultan Hill
Tavukhane Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Bay, California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Location is great, rooms clean and comfortable, staff very helpful and breakfast tasty. The best is the rooftop. The view of the Blue Mosque is amazing! Run up when prayer call begins. It is unbelievable. Close walk to major mosques, markets and all kinds of restaurants. Check out Tamara Restaurant just around the corner. Very authentic turkish meal for reasonable prices. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    53
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
76
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My friend and I are both so happy we stayed at Hotel Sultan Hill. We were expecting something a bit dirty or shabby for the price, but my friend who won't even touch a shower screen in a hotel felt comfortable. The rooms are small, but not too small, the beds were really comfortable. It was warm inside when it was freezing outside too! The only little negative that could be said is that there is some noise from the street if your room is at the front, but it was quiet enough at night. The location is perfect. The guys who work there are really lovely and make you feel at home, not to mention they are all handsome enough ;)
All in all, I loved it and would most certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel mid March for one night. It is a very charming place with very friendly and helpful staff. The only problem was with very very thin walls. I did not sleep well as you can hear when your neighbour flushes a toilet or produces any kind of noise. I would nevertheless recommend it for your next stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, L'vivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Well, we stayed here for a week and all was very good.
Location is amazing - all historical things (Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Mosaic Museum) are very close to hotel. Stunning view from rooftop terrace..
Breakfast in standard turkish style was tasty - many types of olives, cheese, fruits, sweets, fresh turkish bread, tea and coffee.
Very nice room (but small) - clean, warm and quiet.
Price is a little high but it is standard price for Istanbul center located hotel.
Dont forget about very early wakeup because muslims pray (Blue Mosque is VERY near and sounds can be loud)...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for several days and really enjoyed it. The location is central for tourists yet on a quiet street directly opposite the Blue Mosque. The staff is VERY helpful and friendly. This is NOT a 4 star place with all of those bell services and room service. Its basically a pensione but it felt like home after one day and we loved coming back to our quiet hideway and retreating to the large rooftop patio. This was renovated to serve as a restaurant/lounge but the city wouldn't give permits so it has a few chairs and chaises for the hotel guests. You sit right next to the Blue Mosque which is so dramatic day or night. At night it is lit up to add to the drama of the moment. Turn away from the Blue Mosque and cast your eyes to the sea and the shipping headed into and out of the Bosporus. Its a 360 panorama that is incomparable to anything offered at the Four Seasons or any number of pricey hotels nearby. If you want a drink they will sell you wine/beer at the front desk or you can BYOB from the local shops. Some sell alcohol and some don't and I got plenty of cold shoulders for asking for wine when I didn't see it displayed (infidel!). If its not out, they don't sell it and don't think much of you for wanting it. The hotel is wood frame so there are creaks here and there. There is no elevator. We didn't notice any noise from our fellow guests and the street is narrow and lightly trafficked by cars. Just two blocks downhill is the much busier tourist ghetto so there is plenty of shopping and dining. I'm not using Ghetto in the pejorative sense. It is a nicely conceived marketplace with pedistrian only promenades and open air festival seating for entertaining, dining and drinking. It is great to have this close but not too close. 1 block up hill is the Hypodrome the ancient horse track which leads to all of the classic tourist sights that cannot be missed (get a guide so you can cut the lines!)

Room Tip: there is no elevator, if its hot you will want a room higher up with a working A/C unit and fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Gohkan and staff were most helpful and accommodating. This cozy hotel felt a bit like 'home' yet it was so close to major sightseeing venues. For some of our stay, we used the family suite. While one of the bedrooms was compact, the other was relatively spacious so when used together it evened out somewhat. Breakfast was healthy and tasty and with a view of the courtyard. The flavour of the city was ingested via the calls to worship which one could not help but hear--it was great!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

You know those hotels that you develop an affection for? Sultan Hill was one of those. It became base and our refuge. The hotel had character and charm - a renovated wooden building that had some history. It wasn't fancy, but it wasn't a dive either. If we needed help, I felt the staff would have bent over backwards to make sure we were sorted. Breakfast was generous and tasty. Location pretty much perfect....and the view from the rooftop was actually quite special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sultan Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Hill

Address: Tavukhane Sok. No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sultan Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hill Hotel
Sultan Hill Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultan Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.