We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Turk Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Turk Art Hotel to your Saves list
Turk Art Hotel
Cankurtaran Mah. Tevkifhane Sok. No:12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Hanoi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Watch out!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I received a mail from the M.Bey hotel management, asking to write a review. My partner and I had stayed at this small hotel a long time ago, but we never took the time to write a review.
When we read the reviews here, we are amazed by what is written as we had a bad experience there.
We travel extensively every year and have visited thousands of hotels so far. We are not posh people but always take great care in choosing hotels because, at the end of the day, that's where you rest, sleep, shower, eat and keep your belongings.
At Muhlis Bey, we were given a small room with the bed occupying 80% of the space. Ugly view over the backyard (instead of the Hagia Sofia, like they advertise) but that was not too important. There was a powerful stench coming from the bathroom tub and sink. When we told the guy, he put on the air-cond on Max power and said the smell would go. But it didn't and even worsened after every shower or use of the taps. We tried to stuff wet towels in the sink/tubs water evacuating holes but the horrible smell persisted and made us sick. We cldn't sleep and politely asked for a change. They said hotel was full. And they denied the stench. So the next day, we said we were moving out and that's when things turned really ugly. They refused to refund our payment. They tried to intimidate us by talking loudly and leaving us alone at the front desk. We remained calm and said we were calling the Police. They offered another room and even a "Suite" which is much bigger and luxurious for the same price. But the stench was there too (and we were angry that they lied to us, regarding the full-house). More arguing and threatening and we finally ended on the streets with all our luggage!! Although the rest of the trip in Turkey (Ephesus, Izmir, Capadoccia etc) was great, we will never forget this awful experience in Muhlis Bey!!
Don't be fooled by the photos or some comments on the booking sites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuhlisBeyManagement, General Manager at Turk Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
dear guest
first of all ım so sorry for you had here bad trips.
but hotel owner is changed in october 2012.
The hotel is so wonderfull now because our first precedence is guest gratification.
Our hotel and our service quallity is soo great right now because other guest can see our reviews after october 2012 on tripadvisior reviews and booking.com reviews.
but ı want to say ım soo sorry for old owner and for they service
with my best wishes and best regards
mustafa ÇELİK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
11
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for four nights April 2013. Overall we had a great stay and this hotel was exactly what we wanted.
Our room was small but clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooftop terrace where we had breakfast gave us great views. The best thing though was the location just yards from the Blue Mosque and Hagia. On our first night the owner recommended a restaurant - tasty food and good value. I would recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Muhlis Bey at the beginning of April, and even if everything was wrong, I would STILL go back just for the location and the view during breakfast. The thing is, it was amazing. Everything was lovely. It is such a charming and small hotel, that it gives you the perfect feeling of waking up in Istanbul. There are only a few rooms and that means that the staff gets to know you personally, and that means the world to a traveler like me who has exhausted herself.

The view -- to me breakfast is the most amazing part of the day. After speaking with some people, I found out that the breakfast served here is actually a traditional Turkish breakfast, which makes me very happy. But eating breakfast outside is the best part of the year.. and with a view like the rooftop terrace at Muhlis Bey, I really couldn't ask for anything more. Not only can you see water, but Ayasofya AND the Blue Mosque. All at breakfast. Unreal.

The location -- if you can see those main attractions at breakfast, then it means that you have scored on location in Istanbul. It is my favourite city in the world, so even sleeping on the street would make me happy, but being able to enjoy this city in the heart of Sultanahmet is something words cannot describe.

The staff -- the front desk clerk was the absolute, hands down, no doubt, best best BEST person I came across in Istanbul. Most people are friendly, but he is so exceptionally helpful and fun, that it makes every day eventful. Anything you need, anything at all, he will help you find it no matter what. Currently he is the only staff person working there, but I know soon he will be hiring on more staff, and I know he will look for those same characteristics in his staff that he possesses.

I have traveled a lot, and this was my best hotel experience so far.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel with maybe 9-12 rooms, so don't be picky, just enjoy how quaint and BEAUTIFU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuhlisBeyManagement, General Manager at Turk Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
dear Sofija
thank you soo much for your kindly reviews about our hotel
ı hope everything is going well and you life is good
we would like the see you again in our hotel
with my best pleasure
mustafa çelik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

the best part is there location which was just nr to train, blue masjid, and all the tour plc. Hitel also have thrre own package if u wsnt to book like bely dance and sea trip. Breakfast wad very simple. which i liked cuz having simple breakfast was just for start a day. There real food us on street. Like corn, sandwiches , doughnuts. . Its value for money

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuhlisBeyManagement, General Manager at Turk Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
dear guest
thank you soo much for your kindly reviews
we are soo happy for your stay with us with out problems and you like
thank you soo much
mustafa çelik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Perfect hotel, the best place to visit such a wonderful city. We stayed at Muhlis Bey for 5 nights. It's very close to the Blue Mosque, Ayasofia, Topkapi Palace and the Cisterna Basilica (two minutes walking). Highlights of the Muhlis Bey Hotel: the breakfast in the terrace, with a wonderful view of the Blue Mosque and Ayasofia. The staff is always kind and ready to help us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuhlisBeyManagement, General Manager at Turk Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
dear allesandro
thank you soo much for your reviews
ı hope to see you soon istanbul again
with my best pleasure and regards
mustafa çelik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The position of the hotel is perfect. You are in the middle of all the main monuments, mosques, etc. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The room was pretty small and the breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuhlisBeyManagement, General Manager at Turk Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
dear guest
thank you for your warm and kind reviews about our hotel
best regards
mustafa çelik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. It is a little Hotel with familiar atmosphere. The staff is really friendly und helpfull. There is always someone to ask for help ... 24 hours a day. Very special is the great view from the terrace right between Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Topkapi Palace is only a 2 or 3 minutes-walk away. All in all the hotel is located in the perfect area for sight-seeing tours and if you want to enjoy Taksim-nightlife, it is only a few stops with the tram (tramstation 5min-walk from hotel). The breakfast was ok and familiar. Whitebread with 2 different cheeses, eggs, vegetables, sausage and a choice of cereals. To drink they had juice, coffee and different tea's. The only thing to complain about where some stains on the bed-sheets and the narrow rooms, but we slept well and even had German TV-Channels. All in all we are really happy with our desicion to stay at this hotel!!! For that price it was *outstanding* and we are looking forward to our next visit. Greetings to all staff-members from your recent German guests!

PS: The admireable rooftop-terrace was available for us at anytime. Nice evening-views all over istanbul with a cup of tea or a beer! Don't get me wrong: It's a quiet and comfortabe atmosphere for the whole family, not a place with loud drunken people :D Yes, even when us, the Germans where there :D

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuhlisBeyManagement, General Manager at Turk Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
dear guest
thank you soo much for your kindly reviews about us.
we fell soo happy for your reviews
best regards
mustafa çelik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turk Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turk Art Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Tevkifhane Sok. No:12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace bar and restaurant commands an impressive view of the Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia and Topkapi Palace. One could scarcely imagine a more gorgeous location on Earth. One of the oldest prisons of Istanbul and a good example of Ottoman architecture is in front of us, which is Four Seasons Hotel today. Rooms include clean bathroom and 24 hours hot water, orthopedic beds, TV, and phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Turk Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muhlis Bey Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turk Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.