We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location, but eat elsewhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Ottoman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Ottoman Hotel to your Saves list
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobyar Mahallesi Hamidiye Caddesi No 16 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #574 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, but eat elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here for three nights at the beginning and end of a 13-day tour of Istanbul. It is a 7 minute walk from the Spice Market and 10 minutes from the foot of the Galata Bridge in the Old City. Hotel is only ten years and is mash-up of contemporary rooms (Hilton Garden level) and Oriental luxe (faux French furniture with neon-colored flocked velvet in common areas, gilded glass elevator in a black wrought- iron cage). Beds are comfortable and rooms are reasonably sized. Service is good if impersonal. Wifi is wonky. Unable to do FaceTime - not enough bandwidth.

The dining rooms upstairs are cavernous, catering to tour groups. Large window looking out on the Golden Horn are a nice plus. The roof bar was actually dark and depressing. Catered sit-down meals were barely edible featuring dishes like highly salted spinach pies, tough little chips of beef on eggplant puree, and dry pot roast. Breakfast offerings were average, notable for a "Vitamin Bar" where small glasses of fresh orange juice were sold for 7 TTL ($3.50).

In the end, location is excellent, hotel itself is fine but eat out.

Room Tip: Dining room is on the 6th floor. If you get a room on the 5th floor, you could save time in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    30
    15
    14
See reviews for
30
42
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I went to the Legacy Ottoman Hotel when I wanted to take a break from the crowds of the Grand Bazaar. I had become separated from my traveling companions, so I decided to try the hotel rather than a cafe as I searched for a place to have tea. The people at the reception desk welcomed me and indicated that I could get tea at the restaurant on the ground floor or at the rooftop bar. I went upstairs and found a space that, though somewhat tired, boasted an excellent view and a very good staff.

The staff did not speak much English, but they were very helpful and eager to make my visit pleasant. When it became clear that I could not have much that was on the menu due to a gluten intolerance, the manager had the chef prepare a plate of grilled vegetables for me. I enjoyed it with tea and champagne. The cost was well below what I had anticipated.

The visit was a great break from the intensity of the crowds in the bazaar. I hope that I have an opportunity to go there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is centrally located in the old city of Istanbul. It was walking distance to many main places in Istanbul. We spent there 3 nights on June 2013 as honeymoon experience.

We stayed in corner suite and it was very spacious. They arranged Honeymoon arrangements for us. Check-In was smooth, The hotel staff service was very good and they were helpful.

Free Internet everywhere. The only comment is about the food as the experience was normal not very special food.

Room Tip: Book Corner Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Legacy Ottoman. On the plus side, the location is great, rooms are adequately sized, clean, staff has been very nice, and the price was very reasonable. On the downside, it's somewhat dated, breakfast was mediocre. The bottom line is it's a good choice if you want a decent and affordable hotel in the old city. Do not expect a true 5 star hotel though.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed four terrific days in this centrally located hotel. Our third floor room faced the street with a lot of action, but at night was surprisingly quiet. The room was very large with high ceilings, well furnished with a beautiful rain fall shower bathroom. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Their top floor breakfast buffet was bountiful had great choices with superb views of the Golden Horn and olde city. Elegant elevators from an Agatha Christie film and a luxurious lobby added to the Legacy charm. The only negative is the pool that is advertised is really just a cold water tank for their steam bath and health facility which has an extra charge. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zehra S, Public Relations Manager at Legacy Ottoman Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice comment. We are truly grateful and pleased to know that your stay a satisfaction was.

The happiness of our guests is the most important thing for us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kindly regards,

Zehra Sacan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent a week in the Legacy Ottoman Hotel in June 2014. Very good, friendly and competent service, very good rooms, wonderful bed. Clean and safe. Location is outstanding. Bar is Ok but pricey. Sandwiches of room service are disappointing. Breakfast buffet could have a bit more of diversity. But overall very good. I'll certainly recommend it and come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caceres, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is very well located for bussiness matters, you can take the tramway to taksim or besiktas, and it is not too far if you have to go to Ortakoy, and near to the Eminu Boat ship station, to cross to Kadikoy. it is a very good hotel, with clean rooms, and a good free spa with hamman, sauna, gym and pool. but meals and attention are not as good as it has to be, in a 5 star hotel.
In any case, a good option for bussiness travel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Ottoman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Ottoman Hotel

Address: Hobyar Mahallesi Hamidiye Caddesi No 16 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#299 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Legacy Ottoman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Spa and Health Center we have pool, fitness, massages, Turkish Bath and Sauna. Also we have valet Service, 24 hours room service and concierge service.Legacy Ottoman Hotel is at the walking distance to GRAND BAZAAR & SPICE MARKET and 500 m. to BLUE MOSQUE,ST.SOPHIA, BASILICA CISTERN, 16 km.to Ataturk International Airport.Hotel have an a la carte restaurant and roof bar with a magnificent Bosphorus & Goldern Horn views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Legacy Ottoman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Legacy Ottoman
World Park Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Ottoman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.