We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Marmara Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marmara Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 778 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for three nights after a stay at Saruhan Hotel. The location of Marmara Guesthouse is definitely the biggest draw card. A five minute walk to Aya Sofya and Blue Mosque with a huge variety of restaurants just around the corner. Our favourite place to eat was on the first corner you come to on the way up to the main Sultanhmet area / Topkapi Palace (sorry I can't remember the name of it), the food was amazing, I had the chicken casserole and our waiter was fantastic! The staff at Marmara are very helpful and friendly. The rooms were always clean and their in-house dry-cleaning service was great value. The terrace had a beautiful view and was a great place to sit and relax. The buffet breakfast offered a wide variety of fruits, jams and cereals and bread, everything I ate was fresh and tasty. The not so good aspects of the guesthouse is the lack of a lift, the rooms are nice but fairly small and just standard furnishings and whilst staff are friendly, the lack of English could sometimes prove to be a problem.
Overall it was a good place to stay with easy access to most sights and services that you could need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    140
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
102
243
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in Marmara guesthouse and my experience was very positive. The location is very good,just few minutes from Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque and with plenty of resturants around. The room looked new, simply decorated and very clean. The breakfast was nice and the family who runs the place very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent three nites here in early November. Although not a spacious place, our room was clean and well taken care of. Bathroom was tiny, but as long as it's only one person in there it's fine. Shower worked perfectly and the tile was spotless. The rooftop eating area (for breakfast) was perhaps the best part. There is a glass enclosed part, as well as a section partially under a grape arbor. The view looks out onto the water, and there is plenty of room to stretch out and just read a book, surf the internet (works fine up there too), or just relax and enjoy the sun. A free drink machine is available there featuring your choice of several types of coffee, hot chocolate, hot water, so anytime you want to go up there you can use it. Free "travel library" is also up there so you can pull out a book and double check on places you may want to go. The house is tucked away on a back street away from most of the noise and activity but still very close to all of the local sights. A/C in room works fine and the fan will mask any remaining noise from the outside. Tip: on our last day, we went "down" the hill on a nearby street towards the railroad track underpass and found a more local type of restaurant that probably has cheaper prices than the rest of the more touristy area where the house is located. Didn't have time to check it out, but will next time!

Room Tip: No elevator so you could have to walk up as many as 3 flights of stairs. Request lower level if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We selected this hotel based on a "Top Choice" recommendation from a travel guide book. It is ideally located, a few blocks from Topkapi, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. There are many many restaurants and bars just outside the door around the corner. Since it is located off the main street, it is quiet. So what are the negatives? The walls and floor are paper thin. You can hear everything that is going on in the next room or in the hall way. I am a rather light sleeper and it was a problem for me. The bed linen is rather old and at least to me felt like it was made from synthetic material. It was a bit uncomfortable as I am used to sleeping on cotton sheets. The breakfast was reasonable with cheese, tomatoes, fruits and bread. The terrace seating was excellent with a view of the Bosphorus. Perhaps I expected too much from a low priced hotel? It was certainly serviceable for our 2 night stay. There are many many hotels in the area, so plenty of choices are available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrange with them to stay one night in Tulip guesthouse (same family, next door), other in Marmara guesthouse and the last one again in tulip, due to unavaliability. We paid for the first night and we were told to leave our bagage in reception during the second day so we would occupy our room in Marmara ate the end of the second day. When we arrive we were explained that there was a mistake and no room was available for us. They proposed us to go to another family hostel far from the centre (they told us that we would discover the "real Istambul"..). We left and found room available in Nobel hostel (same area and fully recomendable).
Bad opinion of this hotel, despite is was recommended in lonely planet guide...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I really can't fault this lovely B&B.

The location is perfect, just off the main area of bars and restaurants which means it is quiet but literally only 30 seconds walk to the amenities. It is also just a few minutes walk from the blue mosque, places and cisterns as well as small buzzards and other shops. Five minutes to the tram where 3lira will take you on as any stops as you like... The boat trips own the bosphorus (?) river are just two stops away by tram and the grand bizarre just three stops in the other direction.

The accommodation itself was first class. Obviously recently done up, the rooms were in very good condition and extremely clean. The Taff were very friendly and the roof top terrace was stunning with a lovely Turkish breakfast served every morning.

We were there five days and will be back gain in the near future... Same B&B for sure!

Enjoy..............

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cyprus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited Istanbul and stayed at the Marmara Guesthouse. We decided on this one as the reviews were so good, and it didn't disappoint. It is a family run Guesthouse which shows in the care, attention and friendliness that you receive from start to finish.
The breakfasts were fantastic, rooms clean and nicely appointed, and their Roof Terrace offers the most stunnings views back over the water.
The only thing I'd say, if you're not good with stairs, it wouldn't be suitable. Its is a real town house, so relatively narrow but tall, meaning lots of stairs up and down!
They also organised our transfers which went smoothly with very nice drivers.
We liked being just that tiny little bit back from the "main" road, so you felt like you were escaping the hustle and bustle as you walked back to the Guesthouse, but you're still so close that it takes literaly minutes to get to many of the attractions. Of course they're not all on your doorstep, but many are, others very close, and the nearest tram stations are only a 10 min (max) walk away. There are some lovely restaurants around too, and the Arasta market was great, nice to have one so close if you want a spot of shopping without going far.
All round we were truly so happy with the Guesthouse, service, cleanliness, location, not to mention the frienliness of the family.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 778 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmara Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.