We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Reasonable Price, Not spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marmara Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marmara Guesthouse to your Saves list
Marmara Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 824 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place, Reasonable Price, Not spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent three nites here in early November. Although not a spacious place, our room was clean and well taken care of. Bathroom was tiny, but as long as it's only one person in there it's fine. Shower worked perfectly and the tile was spotless. The rooftop eating area (for breakfast) was perhaps the best part. There is a glass enclosed part, as well as a section partially under a grape arbor. The view looks out onto the water, and there is plenty of room to stretch out and just read a book, surf the internet (works fine up there too), or just relax and enjoy the sun. A free drink machine is available there featuring your choice of several types of coffee, hot chocolate, hot water, so anytime you want to go up there you can use it. Free "travel library" is also up there so you can pull out a book and double check on places you may want to go. The house is tucked away on a back street away from most of the noise and activity but still very close to all of the local sights. A/C in room works fine and the fan will mask any remaining noise from the outside. Tip: on our last day, we went "down" the hill on a nearby street towards the railroad track underpass and found a more local type of restaurant that probably has cheaper prices than the rest of the more touristy area where the house is located. Didn't have time to check it out, but will next time!

Room Tip: No elevator so you could have to walk up as many as 3 flights of stairs. Request lower level if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    163
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
125
279
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We selected this hotel based on a "Top Choice" recommendation from a travel guide book. It is ideally located, a few blocks from Topkapi, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. There are many many restaurants and bars just outside the door around the corner. Since it is located off the main street, it is quiet. So what are the negatives? The walls and floor are paper thin. You can hear everything that is going on in the next room or in the hall way. I am a rather light sleeper and it was a problem for me. The bed linen is rather old and at least to me felt like it was made from synthetic material. It was a bit uncomfortable as I am used to sleeping on cotton sheets. The breakfast was reasonable with cheese, tomatoes, fruits and bread. The terrace seating was excellent with a view of the Bosphorus. Perhaps I expected too much from a low priced hotel? It was certainly serviceable for our 2 night stay. There are many many hotels in the area, so plenty of choices are available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrange with them to stay one night in Tulip guesthouse (same family, next door), other in Marmara guesthouse and the last one again in tulip, due to unavaliability. We paid for the first night and we were told to leave our bagage in reception during the second day so we would occupy our room in Marmara ate the end of the second day. When we arrive we were explained that there was a mistake and no room was available for us. They proposed us to go to another family hostel far from the centre (they told us that we would discover the "real Istambul"..). We left and found room available in Nobel hostel (same area and fully recomendable).
Bad opinion of this hotel, despite is was recommended in lonely planet guide...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I really can't fault this lovely B&B.

The location is perfect, just off the main area of bars and restaurants which means it is quiet but literally only 30 seconds walk to the amenities. It is also just a few minutes walk from the blue mosque, places and cisterns as well as small buzzards and other shops. Five minutes to the tram where 3lira will take you on as any stops as you like... The boat trips own the bosphorus (?) river are just two stops away by tram and the grand bizarre just three stops in the other direction.

The accommodation itself was first class. Obviously recently done up, the rooms were in very good condition and extremely clean. The Taff were very friendly and the roof top terrace was stunning with a lovely Turkish breakfast served every morning.

We were there five days and will be back gain in the near future... Same B&B for sure!

Enjoy..............

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cyprus
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited Istanbul and stayed at the Marmara Guesthouse. We decided on this one as the reviews were so good, and it didn't disappoint. It is a family run Guesthouse which shows in the care, attention and friendliness that you receive from start to finish.
The breakfasts were fantastic, rooms clean and nicely appointed, and their Roof Terrace offers the most stunnings views back over the water.
The only thing I'd say, if you're not good with stairs, it wouldn't be suitable. Its is a real town house, so relatively narrow but tall, meaning lots of stairs up and down!
They also organised our transfers which went smoothly with very nice drivers.
We liked being just that tiny little bit back from the "main" road, so you felt like you were escaping the hustle and bustle as you walked back to the Guesthouse, but you're still so close that it takes literaly minutes to get to many of the attractions. Of course they're not all on your doorstep, but many are, others very close, and the nearest tram stations are only a 10 min (max) walk away. There are some lovely restaurants around too, and the Arasta market was great, nice to have one so close if you want a spot of shopping without going far.
All round we were truly so happy with the Guesthouse, service, cleanliness, location, not to mention the frienliness of the family.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for four nights in September 2012. The location was perfect. Airport pick up (from and to the airport) was well organised despite us having a 4 hour delay on our flight into Istanbul. The room and bathroom was very clean and the room was serviced daily. We were travelling with our two year old and without asking we were given a room with an extra bed for her. The breakfast was simple but generous and probably the best variety that we had in any hotel in Turkey (we were in Turkey for three weeks). The stairs weren't a problem, as our bags were carried up to the room on the third floor for us. We had a room at the rear of the hotel which was nice and quiet. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a first time visitor to Istanbul, I really appreciated the warm greeting at the airport and safe travel to the guesthouse that was organised by our host, Elif. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely sea view. My husband and I enjoyed the family atmosphere and relaxed nature of the accommodation but also the quiet sleeping opportunities when we were ready to sleep. It is a place where single women, couples and families can feel comfortable and relaxed. The rooftop deck, with its great view, is a good place to enjoy the fresh, tasty, Turkish breakfast and to chill out and mingle throughout the day if you wish. Because we were situated in the heart of the Sultanamet district, we were within easy walking distance of many key sites and the tram to so many more opportunities for exploration of this fine city. We thank Elif for organising a very good, well hosted and informative day trip to Gallipoli. Our friends have already made a note of this accommodation for their future trips to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marmara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 824 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marmara Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Marmara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmara Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.