We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh what a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Diana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lady Diana Hotel to your Saves list
Lady Diana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Terzihane Sok. No:9 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh what a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We checked in to this hotel for 4 nights. The front desk clerk casually mentioned that the view was good from the terrace, and showed us to our room. It was small, in a typically European way, but clean. And then we went to the terrace. Oh my. The Blue Mosue not more than 200 m distant,wth the Sea of Marmara and the Hagia Sophia right there in front of our faces. You can walk to every important sight from this hotel. The staff was friendly, the included breakfast very good and the food in the restaurant (with that million dollar view) excellent. I'd recommend this to anyone. We sure had a great time and the staff answered every question and gave excellent directions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    141
    54
    23
    19
See reviews for
57
124
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Do not book this hotel. Once the hotel has you money they don't want to know you. Our room was not available despite booking over 2 weeks earlier. After two hour wait offered us two sub-standard rooms on two different floors. The rooms were dark and very small. The air conditioning did not work despite the "handyman" trying to fix it three times. The manager is less than helpful, the staff really do hate their jobs. Worst expereince of my life - checked out after first night. Manager was rude and refused to refund money.

Room Tip: "Do not book this Hotel. The rooms are pokey, staff are a waste of time and the air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Just returned from a quick stay in Istanbul, our first visit. The hotel staff was welcoming and friendly. The hotel is within a short walk from the Sultan Ahmet Mosque (the Blue Mosque), the Hagia Sophia, the To[kapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar. It is close to the tram line and is surrounded by cafe's and shopping. The hotel has a bar and restaurant on the roof that offers a panoramic view of the old walled city, the Blue Mosque, the Haria Sophia and the Bosphorus. and the Marmara. It is a perfect place for a cocktail in the evening. The food in the restaurant is tasty, the menu varied and the staff great. The hotel also offers a Turkish Bath, sauna, massage and fitness center but I didn't use these facilities,
Our room was comfortable enough but definitely not plush. It was clean and neat. The bath was small but did have a sitting tub and shower. There was a mini bar which was reasonably priced.
The elevators are very small. At most four smallish people or a couple with luggage is a tight squeeze.
I would stay here again mainly because of the great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Excellent breakfasts. Great room, although we had asked for a double and got a twin, they offered us a double on the second night, but the room was half the size of the twin, so we stayed in the twin and pushed the bed together and they kindly put a double fitted sheet on the two beds, so we ended up with a large room and a massive, almost superking, bed. Extremely comfortable bed. Clean room. Fresh towels every day. Safe in room. Small bathroom but more than adequate for the time you spend in the room. TV and fridge. Lift to all floors. Hotel is literally 2 minute walk from the Blue Mosque, Sophia and tram. No problems whatsoever and would def. recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was a pretty nice and comfortable hotel but it is nothing super luxurious or anything like that. It is more like a 3 star than a 4 star.

But it is clean, convenient and in an excellent location. We were able to walk everywhere within 5 minutes. If you are looking for night life, I don't think this is the right area. But for sightseeing, easy access by foot to restaurants, hagia sofia, blue mosque, bazar and so on, this is a fantastic location.

In short, I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

It is a typical hotel of the old city. The rooms are small and our room smelled humidity. The breakfast is poor, but it has a very nice view. The parking and the wifi is free. The reseption is not very helpful, they want to sell things to you from maps to suvenirs. If you ask for directions of a place, the answer is "I will call a taxi to get you there".

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Lady Diana is a mid-priced hotel in Istanbul in the old part. It is very pretty from the outside, but the rooms are dingy, tiny and depressing. I booked for one person for two nights--there were 2 single beds pushed together and no room to get around. Outside the window was a view of the wall. The air conditioning was broken and I was sweating all night. And this is 100 Euros per night! The bathroom is tiny, the hallways are dingy and dark--no lights. The one good thing was the breakfast buffet in the morning--fantastic! Beautiful views of the city from the rooftop terrace and serve yourself coffee so you can have as much as you want. The English of the hotel staff is very poor, however. The restaurant food is iffy. One night i had lamb chops and they were terrible--full of fat and gristle. Another night they were great. Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady Diana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Diana Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Terzihane Sok. No:9 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#216 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady Diana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lady Diana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Diana Istanbul
Hotel Lady Diana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Diana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.