We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the heart of the tourist area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adora Hotel to your Saves list
Adora Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hudavendigar Caddesi Erdogan Sok.No 14 - 16, Istanbul 34800, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great value in the heart of the tourist area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My family of 3 adults just spent 5 nights (Nov 2011) at the Adora hotel. and have nothing but wonderful things to say about the place. I booked the hotel entirely based on Trip Advisor ratings and took the plunge based on the reviews I'd read, their location, availability, breakfast included and their special offer for free one way complimentary airport pick-up. The internet response to my booking came quickly and efficiently. The room on the 5th floor was clean and adequate for our needs. Breakfast was included in the rate and that was really a great selection. Breakfast was not only bread and cheese, but a varieyt of breads and cheeses, fruits, juices, olives, boiled and scrambled eggs and sausages. The small hotel is centrally located a min from a tram station and right across the street from the side entrance of the Topkapi palace and very easily within a no sweat leisurely walk to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Egyptian Spice Market, Bosphorus Tours, New Mosque. The room had everything we needed, a safe, refrigerator and even a little corner to have our luggage and a vanity table & in room and dining room internet. My only comment for improvement is that they need better lighting in the bathroom.
Best of all the staff was over and beyond helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to contact us at the airport where we were waiting for our daughter who had missed her flight. We waited in vain at 2 am in the airport not knowing this and when our daughter in desperation called them from Paris, they went out of their way to contact us via the hotel pick-up person and waited till we finally got to the hotel, ready to assist with anything we needed. They deserve a medal for their dedication to the cause. They patiently explained instructions for getting wherever we needed to go. The staff get 5 stars and a big thank you for their patience and fantastic can do attitude.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    201
    43
    6
    2
See reviews for
145
241
86
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale AZ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We spent a total of 6 nights in this hotel, 4 in the beginning of our trip and 2 at the end. The hotel is small and the staff is very helpful. Breakfast is included and is a good typical Turkish breakfast. One of the best things about it is the location. Walking distance from Topkapi palace, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia the Galata bridge and even closer to a tram stop. Just a great location. In our first visit we were in a "triple room" which was a reasonable size and comfortable. The last two nights were in a "double room" which was pretty small but still comfortable. No problems with the I don't know if you can do better for the price

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Hotel Adora was really an excellent choice:

Location -- around the corner from the metro; with the windows closed, it was not close enough to be noisy, but close enough to be within walking distance. If you pick a hotel right on the main line, there tends to be clanging sounds. Hotel was also within walking distance to all the important sites, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, etc., also within 10-15 min. to Eminonu. Scenery along the street of the metro is very charming and picturesque so that the walk is not boring. Most importantly, it is located in a very nice area so that walking at night feels very safe. There were several young women staying alone at the hotel. Restaurants along the metro are more expensive, but not necessarily better. Hotel is also within 5-10 min. walk of some really cheap and good eateries; we were able to buy fresh squeezed orange juice for 1TYL at some cafes.

Staff -- really the gem of the place. The manager Erdi and the staff were friendly, funny, and helpful. Even just walking by us while we were waiting for the elevator, they would take the time to press the elevator button for us. They made the entire experience very warm and friendly. Our flight was at 2pm, but they allowed us to have a late checkout. In general, the people in Istanbul have a great sense of humor and are always trying to joke with you. If you have been in hotels in which it felt like you owed the staff something, then this hotel will really be a great experience.

Hotel Services -- Can't complain too much about this place because they gave us room upgrade, and our room ended up being quite sizable for us. Also, the airport shuttle used by the hotel is only 50TYL, which was the cheapest that I would've found by myself, so they definitely didn't add any additional fees. It is charming and quaint in its decorations; there is heater, a/c, and hot water; and it is very clean. However, do note that this is an older hotel so it does feel more like an authentic experience than staying at a Hilton.

Local Sites -- Topkapi Palace was not as great as everyone says that it is; extremely crowded and even though you are not supposed to smoke on the grounds, tourists stink up the place and some of the guards also do as well. The Harem is also not as great as claimed -- not that many rooms are open and there is no furniture as in the Dolmabahce Palace -- only good thing about the place is that fewer people are in there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Istanbul is an amazing city with sooo much to see and do! The people are friendly and the food fabulous! Hotel Adora is no exeption. The staff was helpfull and friendly, and breakfasts good. The beauty of the hotel is its location as it is in walking distance to the main attractions. The rooms are small and packing space limited. However, the hotel has an outside deck where drinks are served and the passing parade can be observed. If you do not intend spending too much time in your room, this is the ideal hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I really wish I could write a good review because the staff at the Adora was wonderful. However, the mattress was hard as a rock, the room was either freezing cold or swelteringly hot, the shower ran all night (not just dripped, but actually ran), and the heating unit vibrated and shook so that my husband and I were unable to sleep a wink.

The hotel owner needs to do some major upgrades: new mattresses, new heating units, and plumbing repairs. Even though the location is wonderful, the hotel was not cheap, and it was definitely NOT worth what we paid. I would have gladly paid more per night to stay in a place where we could get some sleep. We stayed for three nights at the end of two weeks in Turkey, and we ended up going home utterly exhausted.

I cannot recommend this hotel. People staying at Adora were asking for new rooms, but the new were as bad as the old. We saw at least two parties leave early to go to other area hotels. It's a shame as the rooms were clean, though quite small, and it has a lot of potential. I hope the owner will invest some money to make it livable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have travelled in 40 countries and 100`s of hotels.
We were 2 weeks in Istanbul - nice time to be!
Adora is a hotel of top 20 on our list - believe or not. After first week we understood it in real practice
They do all, what you are asking them to do for you - that is our number One experience of their service.
Because I made my 30s marathon here, we needed a guiet room and we got it
When we sended an Email 4 months before our trip and they responded soon and fullfilled our needs then and later.
Staff was very polite and helpful all the time.So if you smiled they smile and if you demand, they respond.
This is a good hotel on exellent area of Istanbul.
We recommend you to use public traffic of the city. By Istanbulkart (Abkilpass) you can travel
with trams and boats very easely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The hotel is very close to the main sites (Topkapi,Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque & Grand Bazaar) , just a 15 -20 minute walk, it is also on the tram route to across the Golden Horn.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and typical of a tourist hotel where you are just going to sleep.

The restaurant (Faros) is right next door and the food is superb... see separate review.

Both my daughter and I would return to Istanbul and stay at the Adora Hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adora Hotel

Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi Erdogan Sok.No 14 - 16, Istanbul 34800, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Adora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adora Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.