We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, tour operator scam” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Hotel

Panorama Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Panorama Hotel to your Saves list
Panorama Hotel
Yenidogan Mah Zubeyde Hanim, Cd No 108 | Zeytinburnu, Istanbul 34020, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #895 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Cleveland, Oh
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Terrible, tour operator scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is usually booked by disreputable tour operators at the airport, especially when hotel rooms at the airport are scarce. They charge an exorbitant amount as they sell a package, which include transportation. The location is anacctractive and because of the traffic it is a 15 min or more drive to the airport (you may consider sleeping downtown for 10 min more). None of the promises and brochures are true. It is a shabby establishment, with overworked and uncaring staff, no amenities, small and un attractive rooms, poorly serviced bathrooms. Breakfast is to be avoided.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    4
    8
See reviews for
1
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

I was instructed by travel agent at the airport to stay at this hotel as they claimed they are 4 star hotel. Total disappointment!!! Breakfast was dull, even a non star hotel offered a better range. I went during winter, hot water took 20 minutes to work, room heater not working (only air con turn on 30 degree Celsius). Beds filled with smell of cigarettes. Elevator not working. At night the electricity was off for a while. I wouldn't pay a dollar to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

This was the only hotel left in Istanbul when I asked at the airport. Booking agency were very efficient and transport soon sped me to the hotel where I was efficiently shown to my room. Room was not something you would recommend to others if they seek luxury, charm or romance, but the bed was comfy and the hotel was reasonably quiet, although very sensitive sleepers should take ear-plugs as the tiled floors mean that if someone does move about it is easy to hear it. Breakfast was functional - you won't starve here! Staff were helpful when arranging for pick-up to airport. So long as you don't expect too much, you shouldn't be too disappointed.

No idea why it is called 'panorama' - my room faced appartments on a narrow urban street - but it was much quieter than I feared and I slept soundly

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

This hotel is in the no man's land between the airport and the city centre. Stayed here for a night after a flight cancellation during the volcanic ash episode. If it wasn't so late in the evening, we would have fled this hotel. Don't believe what the brochure shows, it does not have a Sauna, Fitness Centre, Massage, Indoor Swimming Pool, Roof Bar or Patisserie Cafe! The staff are unfriendly, the rooms are drab (ours had a large water leak stain on the ceiling) and loud voices and banging doors went on through the night. A grim experience. The room rate was an unbelievable £90!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We had to find a hotel when the Icelandic volcano eruption caused the cancellation of our flight and we were unable to extend our stay at the Witt Istanbul. A hotel desk at the airport showed us a brochure for the Panorama that depicted large modern rooms, a workout facility, and a pool. Because other stranded travellers were having trouble getting hotel rooms, we paid the rack rate of $160 per night to the hotel desk, and we were transported to the hotel. On arrival, we discovered that our room wasn't worth $16 per night, much less $160. While our room had a TV and wall-mounted AC, the electric cord for each had been removed. The bathroom sink was only 24 inches tall, and our panoramic view was onto a grubby side street. Noise from the hallway was amplified in our room, and the eggs at breakfast smelled like they had gone bad. The best thing about the Panorama is that we only had to stay there one night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: Yenidogan Mah Zubeyde Hanim, Cd No 108 | Zeytinburnu, Istanbul 34020, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #895 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.