We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Traditonal clean Hotel with honest staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ottoman Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #151 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely Traditonal clean Hotel with honest staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great Location, hotel staff helpful, and nothing ever a problem. Fantastic breakfast, comfortable beds and honesty of staff. We accidentally left precious items in safe, hotel staff promptly sent them in a cab to airport! Thank you to Erhan for making this happen. A stressful situation easily rectified by staff. Can't wait to go back, 3 short nights not enough to explore the many amazing sights.

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking Haige Sofia
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    296
    60
    40
    11
See reviews for
201
799
95
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After a long trip, we had a short layover in Istanbul. This Hotel was perfect and an amazing value. By "amazing value", I mean we got to stay in a luxury hotel, with our own in-room hamman, free breakfast, and on a secret cobblestone street abutting the Hagia Sophia.

By being centrally located, we were able to see as much as possible in a short time and get back to the airport the next day.

The only trick with this hotel is to make sure you have the address. It is a little tricky to find, as the main entrance is behind the busy street. If you are staying for more than 3 days there is free airport shuttle service.

I liked the towels so much more than the ones in the shops that I bought one and it is one of my favorite keepsakes from the trip.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great hotel in so many ways. Fantastic location within walking distance of all the key sights. The staff is friendly, the room was clean, and the breakfast was delicious. A HUGE downside for us was that we ended up in a room in the rear wing of the hotel facing Alemdar Caddesi. This is a VERY loud street ~ the tram goes up and down and there is a cafe with a musician playing American music well into every night. It was extremely difficult to get a good sleep. I would go back to this hotel only if I was guaranteed a room in the wing at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I picked this historical house hotel so that I could walk to many main attractions in Istanbul - Hagia Sophia was across the street, Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque and the Roman Aqueduct were nearby. The Grand Bazaar was a 15 min walk, while the nearby efficient tram system took me to the Spice Bazaar, Orient Express Station & Museum, and Dolembace Palace. The room was excellent, comfortable and well equipped, the buffet breakfast was very acceptable while the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Erhan and Mehmet who gave good advice and service.

Room Tip: elevator available for all floors, but my ground floor room was very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a lovely place in the beautiful town, i fell in love with the view through my room window.
Amazing breath-taking view. The Location? What a great location surrounded by beautiful places
And what a friendly, warm, and helpful staff each of them :)
It's nice to know that you are surrounded by such lovely people.

Definitely will come back :)

uki savitri, Indonesia

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

went there with my wife november 2014 for 3 nights. we really enjoyd here. few things:
1.location: best location in isatnbul (in sultanahmet area).two minutes walking from aia sofia,blue mosque and basilica. also 5 minutes walk from two metro station. 10minutes walking from grand bazar. lots of resturants around.
2.price-very good price.
3.breakfast- everything i need. egg,coffe, few kinds of tea, cheese and salame,butter,honey,bread, salad. we really enjoyed the rezturant abd the food.
4.staff-they were very nice and helpful.
5. clean hotel
5. room-small. was 705. we took standrd room which was small but fine itsin the enterance of the buiding close to the resturant. but has a bathub, nice view to he street.
6. excellent wifi
. quite and romantic

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful hotel in the heart of the old town but it also has the best location, walking distance to most of the attractions. I always say a hotel is only as good as the staff running it, and congratulations to everyone on a well run establishment. Rooms are great, we paid a little extra and had a very large room and bathroom complete with tea and coffee making facilities and bar fridge. Breakfast was fantastic but only one complaint, the juice is really a very sweet cordial in a city which sells fresh juice on every corner, very strange. We did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment. On arrival u are taken to a separate desk and a lovely gentleman explained all the tourist attractions, tram card, museum card etc, a very personal and appreciated bit of PR

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#95 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#184 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottoman Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.