We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't get a hotel room, but a tiny sensory deprivation chamber” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ottoman Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now And Save 10%
Ranked #159 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We didn't get a hotel room, but a tiny sensory deprivation chamber”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked a room with this hotel based on the outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor. We were extremely disappointed once we checked in to our room, which was located in the basement so that our windows were walled in. It's one thing to not have the best view, it's another thing entirely to have virtually no natural light at all.

The room was clean but teeny tiny, with absolutely no space to open your suitcase other than on top of the bed.


The staff were generally pretty friendly, though I was a bit irritated that they tried to arrange for airport transportation for 50 Euros, when a private cab costs half the price.

Breakfast buffet was ok, but nothing to write home about.

The location, as others have mentioned, is fantastic - but for the price, I wish I would have chosen a different hotel, one with an above-ground room, not this poor excuse for a broom storage closet. I really don't know what management was thinking there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    310
    64
    41
    11
See reviews for
205
823
100
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac Falls, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel in Sultanahmet! Period. From the proximity to The marvelous Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque, to the lively cafés and restaurants that fill the area, this lovely hotel is a real gem. Very clean and spacious rooms and friendly English speaking staff like Erhan are what makes this hotel worth the visit. The wonderful buffet breakfast served on the lovely terrace is an experience any international traveller would love. The restaurant on the premises featuring fabulous authentic Ottoman dishes is a must.
Just do it....!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our room was small but lovely decorated and furnished. The bathroom was rather small and it was a bit too easy to hear the neighbours. Breakfast was great. Staff was always polite and very caring, we really enjoyed our stay. And the location is fantastic.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The location, the ambience, the facilities and the service in this small boutique hotel was a perfect place from which to explore the delights of Istanbul. It really did feel like a home away from home..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We visited Istanbul a week ago, stayed at Ottoman Imperial, considering it was 2 minutes walk to Hagia Sofia. Let me start with positive points - Central place to all ancient sightseeing spot (extremely convenient especially if you want to take a break for an hour or so in the middle of the day before you resumed your tour etc.,), 2 minutes walk to Hagia Sofia, literally next door, breakfast was good, starting point for Hop off/Hop on bus tour, 10-15 mins walk to Spice/Egyptian bazaar or Grand Bazaar, true feeling of living in the ancient exotic Istanbul. Now to the negative points - the room was dirty, reused the lotion/shampoo/conditioner bottles - basically refilled them, so dirty, the floor were not swept or mopped properly (despite complaining about it) one of the staff member (seemed like a senior person) was very unfriendly, requested for a egg white omelet for breakfast and he straight out said "not possible" (never seen this before especially after having traveled to Kusadasi, Cappadocia and other great places in Turkey, assured Hagia Sofia view from our room when we made the booking but failed to honor it, the Aircondition was not working (didn't fix it despite raising this issue) while checking out we were giving our honest feedback (both good and bad), didn't seem to care for it. Something to be aware of before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

...maybe, even better than home! One wonderful visit to a delightful boutique hotel could be just luck ...a second visit to the same hotel, with the same wonderful experience ...that's just a great hotel ! We have stayed at the Ottoman as a couple, and as a family, complete with kids and grand kids.The staff couldn't be more helpful, the service more willingly offered. As for location,well, you are not close to the action...you are IN the action,but it's not noisy ,just convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The number one best thing about this hotel is it's location for travelers visiting Istanbul for the first time and want to see all the main sites within walking distance. The hotel is directly across the street from the Hagia Sophia. The front desk was very helpful and took the time to sit down and go through the list places that were a must-see and the times they were open/closed.

More positives:
The front desk is just overall quite helpful. They met every need we had, including calling cabs very quickly.

Negatives:
Food: Although they serve breakfast, it's not too great. It got the job done but it got old after you had it once or twice.

Room: We had a double-room which barely fit the bed. For two people, we had to dance around each other every time we got out of bed. The view was a wall. The pipes in the wall were very loud...we heard nonstop water dripping and/or pouring through the day. Not sure any of these things can be fixed.

Hotel: Our room was located in the back section of the hotel-those hallways had a horrible sewer smell. Perhaps ask for a room NOT in the back section?

Overall: Come here for the convenient location and sight-seeing. The receptionist will be very helpful!

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the back section...the hallways smell horribly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#102 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottoman Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.