We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ottoman Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #150 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Fantastic small city hotel. The room was clean and furnished in a traditional style. The bathroom had a large shower/wet room with a Turkish theme. Our room was at the back of the hotel and opened out onto a shared roof terrace with table chairs and a swing chair with views over the city and the minarets of the Blue Mosque. The front of the Hotel looked onto the Sofia Hagia the location was amazing with so many sights within a very short walk and the tram station very close for getting further afield.

The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. I would recommend this hotel for a city break to Istanbul

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    296
    60
    40
    11
See reviews for
201
799
95
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Many thanks to Ottoman Hotel Imperial for making my weekend in Istanbul, with my daughter in celebration of her birthday, such a wonderfully memorable experience. Thank you for the Hagia Sophia view from our room and for the delicious birthday cake with sparkler candles. Thank you to the courteous and helpful staff. A fabulously located hotel from which to explore the sights and delights of Istanbul. I will be recommending all my friends to visit Istanbul and stay at Ottoman Hotel Imperial and plan a return visit with my husband.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We did not stay here overnight although I wish we had because it looked beautiful.

We did have dinner there and it was the best food of our entire trip to Turkey. The menus are based on old Ottoman recipes and were just delicious! The ambience was also amazing with subtle music in the background and a beautiful terrace to look out over. The service was excellent I could not recommend this restaurant highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

【歴史ある佇まい】
このホテルは、アヤソフィアすぐ横の閑静な場所に建つ黄色い外壁のプチホテル。
建物は19世紀に学校として使われていたもので、トルコらしさが感じられます。
しかも、内装は2011年に改装したようなので、綺麗で快適な環境で宿泊できます。

【最高のロケーション】
また、ここのホテルの最大の魅力は何と言ってもそのロケーションです。
旧市街の主な観光名所は全て徒歩圏内。
また、トラムの駅までも徒歩5分以内です。

【快適なお部屋】
私達の宿泊したお部屋は、
事前のリクエスト通り、2階のアヤソフィアに面した窓の多い角のお部屋でした。
お部屋のお掃除も、とても行き届いています。
私達のお部屋担当のハウスキーピングのスタッフの方は、
ホスピタリティーに溢れていて、毎日きめ細かなサービス。
しかも、プチホテルの持つアットホームな雰囲気が最高でした。

【きめ細やかなサービス】
ホテルのスタッフの方々は、とても親切で、臨機応変に対応して下さいます。
チェックイン時は、早朝到着にも関わらず待たされる事なくお部屋に案内され、
朝食もゆっくりと楽しむ事でイスタンブールの旅の良いスタートなりました。
また最終日には、私達の復路フライトが夜中便であったため、
チェックアウトから空港へ向かうまでの5時間ほどの間、
お部屋を借りてゆったり過ごす事が出来ました。
こうした様々なお願いにきめ細かく対応して頂けた事に大変感謝しています。

【清々しい朝食】
朝食を頂くレストランは、朝日を浴びた旧市街の街並みが眺められるガラス張り。
毎朝の食事がとても楽しくなる、気持ちの良い空間でした。
ビュッフェスタイルの朝食は、数ある旧市街プチホテルのそれと同様のメニューと思いますが、
私個人の感想を述べさせて頂くなら、
数種類のチーズ、新鮮な蜂蜜などが美味しく、毎日食べても飽きないほどでした。

【レストラン Matbah】
ホテル内のレストラン「Matbah」は、ホテルのこじんまりした外観からは想像出来ないほど
気持ちの良い開放的なテラス席で食事が頂けます。
ランチタイム、ディナータイムでもそれほど混み合っていないようなので
ゆったりと静かな環境でトルコ料理の食事を楽しみたい方にはお勧めです。



[Historical appearance & Comfy Environment]
This hotel is the petit Hotel of yellow outer wall,
Location is in a quiet area right next to Hagia Sophia.
The building was Turkish style which used as a school in the 19th century .
I heard that this hotel was renovated in 2011 , so you can stay comfortable clean environment clean even though the building has more than 100 years ago.

[Location]
The most attractive point of this hotel is “Location”.
The main attractions of the old Istanbul are within walking distance.
In addition, within a 5-minute walk to the tram station .

[Accommodation]
The room which we stayed was as Requested in advance,
it was the room corner side with two side windows facing the Hagia Sophia
on the second floor .The cleaning of the rooms are also very well everyday .
And the staff of the housekeeping is full of hospitality.

[Service]
All the hotel staffs are very kind people,
and they can offer appropriate services on a case-by-case basis.
The 1st day, though we arrive at hotel early morning,
the reception guided us to the room without waiting just after check-in,
and they offered delicious breakfast .
And the final day, reception understood our return flight was mid-night flight ,
they offered a room for us after check-out, till departure to the airport.
We were able to spend relaxing 5 hours with the room which they offered.

[Breakfast]
The restaurant which serves breakfast every morning,
was a beautiful space with a fabulous view of Sultanahmet area illuminated by the morning sun.
Several types of cheese, fresh honey is delicious, I had never got tired to eat them every morning.

[Restaurant - Matbah]
Restaurant in the hotel named " Matbah " ,
you can not imagine open space from the appearance of the petit hotel.
You can dine at the open terrace in this restaurant.
It is recommended to person who wants to enjoy Turkish cuisine in a quiet environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twix gatwick and heathrow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Its not often you pick a hotel from the UK that is just right on arrival. In the right place, the right level of comfort, and most of all the right - no excellent - help received from the charming ladies at the guest releations desk.
Within yards are 5 of the top Istanbul sites - Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Cistern and the Turkish Baths. Two stops on the tram and you at the Grand Bazaar one way and the Spice Market the other.
Altogether a jolly good base for 2 nights to explore this buzzy city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just completed a 2 week tour of Turkey organised by Efendi Tours using Turkeys well organised bus lines to take us to major sites and local guides to provide commentary. it was a great way to see Turkey. We were given the opportunity to ugrade our hotels and chose the Ottoman Imperial hotel in Istanbul. It was so good the first time that we decided to book it again for a couple of nights in Istanbul. The service is excellent, the staff are friendly and efficient and the location is great, just a few minutes from Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi palace. The tram is close by and there are plenty of shops and cafes. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is modern and well appointed. Breakast caters for all tastes , local and western. All up this is one hotel we would love to come back to. Mark

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Booked a room via Clever Hotels that went bust before we arrived!
Hotel fantastic. Staff so helpful. Especially Handon tuna- MANAGER.
Gave us only available room at 159 Euros, including upgrade. Try for a deluxe room. So much nicer than ordinary ones.
Cannot fault staff. Cocierge SO helpful in Booking Sites, Tickets info etc to avoid queueing, booked on line all Topkapi Palace, Harem, Aya Sophia etc.
Cannot recommend thios hotel enough. Location EXCELLENT.
Right next to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia yet really quiet. FANTASTIC!
(may not say same if in a basic room!)

Room Tip: Pay more for a Deluxe Room, chaper than most other luxury hotels basic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#95 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#184 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottoman Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.