We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying at this hotel, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ottoman Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #151 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved staying at this hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you are looking for an extremely good boutique hotel right in the heart of the Sultan Ahmat area of the old city and close by to all the historical sights , then Ottoman Hotel Imperial is the hotel.. Literally 10 metres from the Aya Sofia and easy walking distance to all the many attractions. Clean, excellent staff, very friendly. Nice comfortable rooms, plenty of space, very clean, good size bathroom with all the amenities and a working WIFI with good speed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    296
    60
    40
    11
See reviews for
201
799
95
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location, staff and breakfast.
Unfortunately, the rooms are too small – we were given initially one room at the ground level and we could not open the windows – an outside stall had some clothes hanged to the windows rails and there were people passing by and chatting at a couple of meters outside our windows. The receptionists were understanding and gave us another one at the second level the next day. Despite being Premium vezir/Sultan rooms, both were incredibly small. Not much space around the queen bed.
The internet connection was poor and the rooms were not sound proof – we could hear people speaking in the next rooms.
For these reasons, I am afraid we will find another hotel when we come back to Istanbul .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was fantastic. Our stay was for only for a short time, but even then we were delighted with the hotel itself and was in a great location allowing easy access to the city center and to the historical sights.

Staff were outstanding. We had a fantastic room overlooking the Hagia Sofia which was great, the room itself was spacious, nicely decorated and spotless clean.

There are many restaurants near the hotel as Sultanahmet is a busy touristic area, so you can find many Turkish restaurants as well as fast food chains. Truly you will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel has an amazing location, near by to all the interesting historical sights in Istanbul. It's well placed within the old town. It's a pleasant and clean place to stay, comfortable beds and it's it's pretty quite it at night. We had a good size room, I tip my hat off to all the staff who were amazing, very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We did a lot of research and are very happy we picked this hotel. Excellent staff, super clean facility, and good breakfast- eggs are boiled or scrambled, chicken ham and salami, lamb sausage, every fruit you might want (fresh and dried), fresh honeycomb, jams, jellies, honey, many cereals, cheeses, tomatoes, olives, cucumbers, yoghurt, many pastries and breads, butter, cream cheese, fried potatoes, eggplant and zucchini, coffee, teas, and various juices. We had room 303 because we wanted a Hagia Sophia view. It was a nice size with desk, table and chairs and a wonderful spa tub with shower. We were vey happy with gifted bottle water daily and the lovely fruit basket on arrival. I will provide a separate review for the hotel restaurant. We were here from Oct. 28th till Nov. 6th so we had lots of opportunity to critique this perfectly located hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wow, what an enjoyable stay after our Mediterranean cruise. Good price and located right behind the Hagia Sophia so most of the major sights are within walking range. Icing on the cake is that their restaurant is the best in the area. I had read in Travel and Liesure about a must eat restaurant called Matbah known for original ottoman recipes. Little did I realize it is located in the hotel. We had the best meal of our 17 day trip. We ordered the lamb shank and lamb stew and both superb. Drinks, appetizer, entrees and desert around $85! This hotel is located on a small side street literally overlooking the fence of the Hagia Sophia. Very helpful front desk crew and concierge. Rooms are Ottoman themed with a nice sized bathroom. Will arrange private transportation to the airport. Free with a 3 night stay and 25 Euros for a shorter stay. A nice service. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very good and stylish hotel in a great location location. Our room literally looked out at the Aya Sofia. Great base to explore the old city of Istanbul. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and decorated with a Turkish flair. Very tasty breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#95 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#184 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottoman Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.