We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ahmet Efendi Evi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ahmet Efendi Evi to your Saves list
Ahmet Efendi Evi
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   23 Keresteci Hakki Sokak, Istanbul 34220, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in the beginning in August, and another 4 nights in the end of august. It is a small boutique hotel which we absolutely recommend. Clean and lovely airconditioned rooms, quiet street only minutes from the blue mosk, and above all a superb service from Yusuf!
We had a marvelous time and advise this hotel to anyone.
Ania and Harry

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    44
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
123
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is so handy to every tourist attraction in Istanbul, that it makes a very convenient and inexpensive option. We liked that it is someone's home, and the rooms, while small, are more than adequate. You're not going to be spending much time in your room anyway, given the multitude of things to do in Istanbul.
We found Josef particularly helpful and informative - simple advice like getting an IstanbulKart to get around the tram and metro system - all easy to follow.
Breakfast was more than adequate and no matter what time we arrived home, Josef was always there with a warm welcome and a smile. A particular kindness was a complimentary taxi back to the airport at 5am the day of our departure - totally unexpected.
One thing to note - morning prayer rings out at 0345 - every morning and as you're so near to the Blue Mosque, you're bound to hear it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our stay in Istanbul was made perfect by our experience with this hotel. The staff is great, incredibly kind and they will help you with every and anything. Rooms are more than ok, and breakfast is delicious.
Please stay in this hotel when visiting Istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The room was clean and looked nice, but wasn't anything special (apart from the fact it didn't have that distinct hotelroom smell). What makes this guesthouse so great is the staff and the location!

The lobby is an open kitchen/living room, where the staff is always in for a small chat and they give you great advice on what to visit, where to eat and how to travel around in Istanbul. We got to know them by their first names and they really give excellent tips and took their time in helping us.

Also, the location of the hotel is perfect. It's a three minute walk from the square where you'll find the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofia, which is the tourist heart of the SultanAhmet district. Pretty much all tourist attractions and nice dinner places are at a walking distance. The hotel itself is not located in a crowded area, which is a good thing in my opinion.

One sidenote is that the Wifi reception in the rooms is bad (but great in the lobby and you can use their computer at will). But who wants to spend their time on the internet anyway, if you have so much of Istanbul to discover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The overwhelming welcoming feeling of this hotel is outstanding. Rooms are not big, but they are very clean and just the right size. Room had airco and a nice view on the Blue Mosque. The hotel is small and could be hard to find, but is situated on only a 3 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque.
The service of the owner makes this hotel extra special. Free WiFi and breakfast included.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Istanbul for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a house hotel . When I arrived, I felt be cheat. The room is totally different with the picture showed in the web. The room looks like storage. The bathroom is ugly and small, you can only stand your two feet and the water did not come out normally. I found all the customers lived there have the same feeling.Besides, this hotel place is in a narrow and dangeous lane.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and had 5star treatment. Everything was perfect especially Mehdi and Yousef who put themselves out for us. Nothing was too much trouble and gave us good advice for visits,shopping and restaurants. We even had a guided tour of the city by Mehdi . My daughters also had a wonderful hamman thanks to Mehdi's recommandation.
Yousef was so kind to us and always had time for a little chat. The hotel is delightful,with comfortable spotless rooms and the best bed I have ever slepped in.
Breakfast also excellent with Turkish specialities.
This hotel really made our trip to Istanbul and we came back with fond memories of lovely people
and a wonderful stay. Will definitely be back to your hotel.

Room Tip: We had no.8&7 which were perfect and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ahmet Efendi Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahmet Efendi Evi

Address: 23 Keresteci Hakki Sokak, Istanbul 34220, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahmet Efendi Evi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AHMET EFENDI EVI IS SITUATED IN THE HEART OF ISTANBUL, in what is known as the Cankurtaran area. This is one of the oldest Byzantine towns and is at the heart of the Sultanahmet area. We are located about 20m away from Akbiyik Mosque, which was established in 1453, making it one of the first mosques to be built after the conquest of Constantinople on May 29th 1453. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ahmet Efendi Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahmet Efendi Evi Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahmet Efendi Evi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.