We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Niles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niles Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Niles Istanbul to your Saves list
Hotel Niles Istanbul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ordu Cad. Dibekli Cami Sok. No19 | Beyazit (Old City/Grand Bazaar District), Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% cash payment discount
Ranked #33 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Peterborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Niles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This Hotel was selected from a range of reviews as it's location was in an interesting part of Istanbul.
I was in contact with the staff before arriving and found they were very helpful in making adjustments to our requests. This helpful attitude continued throughout our stay and all the staff we met were excellent in their approach to guests in providing advice as well as maintaining a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
The room was extremely good, and one of the highlights was the use of the roof terrace overlooking the Sea of Marmara where, with a gentle breeze, it offered a great place to relax at parts of the day between sight seeing.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    316
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
192
649
103
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked a Junior Suite at this boutique hotel on a quiet street in Istanbul. It was an excellent choice for so many reasons. Firstly, the staff were fantastic. The three front desk staff were all incredibly helpful in all ways. They booked taxis and made sure we didn't get taken for extra fare, they booked restaurants for us, they made suggestions, and most notably, helped us get to an emergency room safely at midnight when I became unwell. The little restaurant for breakfast was adequate, not great choices for Westerners, but everyone there was delightful. If you're looking for a full breakfast, go elsewhere for breakfast. The room was gorgeously decorated and very practical as well. We loved staying there and will most certainly stay there the next time we are in Istanbul.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Niles in May on our first trip to Turkey. The first impression was a little off-putting because our taxi took a back way to get there and we thought we'd me in the middle of nowhere- but that was not the case, the hotel is just located on a side street but very close to the action. Something to mention- the hotel takes up 2 buildings that have been joined- the one that is in all the photos are where the suites are housed and the one next door is more modern where the regular rooms are held. We stayed in a Hammam suite and loved our room. We have a little balcony that faced the street, not much of a view but fun to watch the bustle of the street.

Pros:
-Clean, well designed and redone. A lot of attention to detail- elevator, downstairs patio, upstairs deck, room design all felt very Turkish and lovely. Just what we wanted. Someone obviously put a lot of love into it.
-Close to everything- the trolley is just a 5 minute walk- very easy to use (we had people from the street help us get tokens) but we took it several times and really enjoyed it. Grand Bazaar is about a 7 min walk and the Blue Mosque is just a little bit further. Everything is very walkable.
-Good service- everyone was very friendly, spoke good English, attempted to please. We really can't complain.

Cons
Iron- we needed an iron and the hotel said we needed to go to a room in the basement with all of our things in order to iron them. Confusing, unnecessary. They should be brought to your room in you require one.
Our hammam floor never heated up the way it should. We gave them 3 hours notice twice as requested but nothing happened. Not sure if it was broken or never turned on.
Breakfast- though its great when breakfast is included, it was a little sparse and they were running out of things- plates, glasses etc. Can't say I left full, but maybe that's not such a bad thing!

A few little pointers- if you order a shuttle back to the airport from the hotel, you will have to pay in cash, they will not accept credit cards.
The hotel does not serve dinner but they will order take out for you from a Turkish restaurant near by, convenient and inexpensive. We didn't find a lot of places to eat- food does tend to be monotonous. There is a wonderful restaurant called Heram's I believe, just a few buildings down- I highly recommend it. We smoked shisha there and ate more westernized food when we needed a little change- they have a very large menu that has both. Service was wonderful and they've close by.

Room Tip: Pick a suite, they're much more attractive and in the better part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We chose this hotel on the basis of positive reviews on tripadvisor and i must say i was not disappointed. We reached Istanbul quite early in the morning, much before the check in time. Before we could request for an early check in, the hotel staff itself offered us an early check in and said we could use that time to rest. It was a wonderful gesture on their part.

Also, the location of the hotel is very good. A bit far from the airport but main tourist landmark such as Blue mosque and Grand bazaar are walking distance. Also Taksim Square is 15 TL taxi ride.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Excellent hotel. Good value for money too. Lovely roof terrace for breakfast, very helpful staff who spoke great english and quite, comfortable rooms. Istanbul is an amazing city to explore so make sure you have enough time to look around outside the tourist areas. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We really loved this hotel! Cannot fault anything. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and offered a range of Turkish traditional foods, as well as fruits, cereals and toast varieties ( something for everyone). The decor set a peaceful ambiance. We were served Turkish tea on arrival and I really liked that there was fresh fruit always available. The location was also great, a few minute walk to the main road and grand bazaar. Also a few minute walk from tram line. Very easy to get around on foot or tram. Central location to what we wanted yet still peacefully tucked away. Would highly recommend it and would visit again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

value for money. very good service, nice and clean room, good location. has a nice roof top.
walking distance hagia sophia, grand bazaar, blue mosque
wifi a bit slow at night.
simple breakfast not too many variaties

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Niles Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niles Istanbul

Address: Ordu Cad. Dibekli Cami Sok. No19 | Beyazit (Old City/Grand Bazaar District), Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niles Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Niles Istanbul is a family owned and managed small hotel located in the Grand Bazaar district of the old city. Located 3 minutes of walk away from the Grand Bazaar, and 12 minutes of walk from the Blue Mosque, St Sophia and the Topkapi Palace, Hotel Niles Istanbul aims to offer its guests a convenient setting for exploring the old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Niles Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Niles Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.