We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faros Hotel Sultanahmet

Save Saved
You added Faros Hotel Sultanahmet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Faros Hotel Sultanahmet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Divan Yolu 76 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Small hotel very close to Gulhane tram stop. Super showers. Good breakfast. Nice beds. Surprisingly quiet considering location. Restaurant is also very good and you can have breakfast on the street. Free wifi which is fast enough to Skype uk with no trouble. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

You are very kind for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us at Faros Hotel Taksim Istanbul. It goes without saying that what you experienced is what we would hope all our guests experience.

Thank you for being so generous with your comments. I will certainly share then with all the team.
We look forward welcoming you again at Faros Hotel Istanbul.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    192
    44
    7
    8
See reviews for
159
217
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Small boutique hotel in Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. No need for taxi or public transportation as all well known sites within walking distance. Tram is right outside of street if needed. Had balcony room on 4th floor. Cannot say enough about staff of hotel, most gracious and accommodating to their guests. Very nice rooms and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone going to Istanbul. On site restaurant not worth a dinner when so many other better restaurants in the area but included breakfast at hotel was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for the time taken to post such a great review about your stay at Faros Hotel Taksim.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we would love to welcome you back in our hotel when you are in Istanbul again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'd stayed here recently in end of September. We checked in late, and were stuck with a tiny room on the first floor, despite my having emailed them to request for a room on a higher floor. It was late, and we didn't realize that a window facing the light well was slightly open behind the curtain. That was a big mistake. Mosquitoes were circling all night long, and we each got quite a few nasty bites on the first night of our vacation.
We were able to move to a much nicer and bigger room on the 4th floor the following day. No more mosquitoes attack there, but the damage was already done :(
Aside from that, I find the hotel to be a good moderate hotel in a central location. The free airport shuttle service arranged by the hotel was quite efficient.

A note re: the hotel rates, I'd booked directly on the hotel web site, which quoted their room rates in Euro. However, they charged in Turkish Lira at checkout, using an exchange rate that was slightly higher than the bank rate. It was not a big difference in my case; but just so you know what to expect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you to take your time to write your important ideas about our hotel.

We would like to explain about details of our hotel that you mentioned in your review.

Firs of all,as you said,you have send E-mail to arranage a room in 4. floor,but unfortunately one of our guest was extended their room,That 's why,we could not be able to give you a room ,that you request.

For your problem about mosquitoes in your room,we can say that,we wish to inform us to help you to solve the problem during your stay in hotel .

About the hotel rates : we are applying a fixed method in our hotels in İstanbul.The effective exchange rates of Central bank in check-in day is applying not the day that you are making rezervation.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Faros in Sept.Altought not a luxury Hotel is is very comfortable and the Hotel staff are outstanding.They looked after our every need.Even changing to a larger room.Rooms have all the amenities including coffee.Breakfast is included and and the restaurant is both indoors and outdoors.Food is very good and includes a 15 percent discount for Hotel guests.This Hotel is within easy walking distance of most major attractions including the Blue Mosque,Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market and it is also located on the Tram Line.There are all sorts of restaurants within walking distance also.I would stay at this Hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I would highly recommend the Faros Hotel to anyone staying in Sultanahmet.

The hotel is in a great location. It is within walking distance to all of the main sights and the tram runs right in front of the hotel so it is easy to get to other areas of Istanbul.

The best thing about the hotel was the service; the staff were very kind and helpful. The front desk arranged a private guide for us and some other family staying in the city. The guide was amazing and well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very helpful with all our needs ( solved Internet problem, called day tour company on our behalf & confirmed / printed our boarding passes) we appreciated this greatly. Rooms were small but very adequate for our needs. Food was really wonderful at breakfast, lunch & dinner. Location to all sights was very close ( easy walking distance ) no need for tram ride. Would highly recommend this hotel to our friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for your interest for our hotel .We are so glad that you had good time in our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear your satisfaction wıth the hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a 5 nights stay at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet.
From the first moment they all made us feel like at home. Great welcome from Suat, who took his time to offered us a drink and gave us good tips to move around.
The hotel is centrally located, within only 5 ' walking distance from main Istambul attractions (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Hippodrome, Aya Sofia, Gran Bazaar...)
Tran stop at only 2' walk
Rooms were perfectly clean and include tea&coffee making facilities and amenities. Not luxurious (not needed) but comfortable and quiet
Breakfast was fresh and varied enough
We've eaten at its lovely restaurant every night and all staff offered a great service and lovely atmosphere. They have a beautiful terrace where you can enjoy a perfect night. And of course, the food was delicious, fresh products and really tasty.
Rahman was our waiter every night and he took good care of us. Great service!
I don't know more names but All Staff is great at this hotel..Congratulations!
Of course I will recommend it and will go back in my next trip to Istambul (Soon!..I hope)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for your interest for our hotel .We are so glad that you had good time in our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear your satisfaction wıth the hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Faros Hotel Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Hotel Sultanahmet

Address: Divan Yolu 76 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#76 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#124 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#179 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Hotel Sultanahmet 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Faros Hotel Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.