We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faros Hotel Sultanahmet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Faros Hotel Sultanahmet to your Saves list
Faros Hotel Sultanahmet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Divan Yolu 76 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a lovely clean, easy to access, modern hotel.
Stayed in Istanbul for 4 nights, felt this hotel is just close enough to Taksim to access all forms of transport, yet tucked away enough not be be on its door step.

Its a modern 'warehouse' feel kind of hotel. You can not hear anything from outside the hotel- great sound proofing, however we could hear what was going on in the hotel coridoors- we didnt mind though.

We were not disturbed and our room was cleaned what ever time we left the hotel for the day- and that could be well in to the afternoon. Did put a DO not disturb sign- which was obviously noted by staff - have stayed in some hotels where they try to barge in anyway!)
Fresh towels everyday and I am a clean freak and noticed surfaces had been wiped down and cleaned.
There is a good hair dryer in the room as I am always wary of hairdryers being to weak for my thick hair (in case you lug one in your suitcase as I did)- you really wont need to.
Lovely touches in the room with cotton wool, earbuds and even complimentary bottled water- everyday! there was no dressing gown as stated :( but there were slippers.
We only managed to get up for breakfast once- which was unfortunate as it was soooo yummy.
Choices of a usual turkish breakfast, with added dried fruits, yoghurts, cereals, cheeses, cold meats, bread, butter, boiled eggs, Gozleme (turkish pancake) etc
plus hot drinks made freshly- not out of a machine.

Staff at the hotel were so helpful with advice on how to get about and even had umbrella's on hand when we needed to go out in the rain.
You can order food in to the hotel through their sister restuarant- we didnt do this, just visited the restuarant.

No cashpoints at hotel from what I could see- Taksim was literally a 2-3 minute walk away and I would say Taksim is in general a very good place to stay and you can access most places from here. Airport shuttle bus also goes/comes here evey half hour and it was very easy to Sabiha Gokcen Airport with these buses from Taksim. took 55 mins. for 12TL

Was very cold at night (mid Feb) so take items to wrap up warm- it could also snow!

Room Tip: we were on 6th floor- lift small enough for 3 people. was a bit noisy in coridoor at night. great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    208
    48
    8
    9
See reviews for
179
237
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is a perfect hotel. Very close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace. The Faros restaurant is also perfect and staff is very friendly and they help you with all your questions about Istanbul. You get maps from Istanbul. When we come to Istanbul again, we definitely go back to Faros Hotel.
Rosalie and Piet

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Faros hotel is really amazing after staying in it because of its location, cleanliness, tiddiness, its rooms are really good with a good view and what made it unique is its employees and specially hassan he made my checkin in no time though I arrived early in the morning, had all the information for sightseeing tours, resturants and with the maps. Faros hotel has this special thing about its employees makes u feel you're at home so trust me stay in it and you'll reach your maximum point of satisfaction.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My family just come back from the Istanbul and we were fully satisfied with our stay in Faros Hotel. The service and hospitality was great. We stayed 4 nights and were given 1 night free stay plus free transfer from and to the airport (booked directly from their website and you'll get this winter offer). We arrived early morning but there was no room available at that time. But that was not a problem for us as we know that the check in time should be in the afternoon anyway. We were offered free breakfast and this was great after our long journey. While waiting for the room, we took a walk around the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia as the hotel location is just nearby. I took a family room and the room was spacious and convenient for 5 of us (with kids of 12, 10 and 5 years old). My kids enjoyed the room very much. The Manager and staff are very friendly and the service was excellent. Definitely will come back again in this hotel if we have the opportunity to go to Istanbul in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Excellent location near :sultanahmet mosque, grand bazaar,haga Sofia,top kapi all within walking distance. Tram station is 2min away. Great generous breakfast, one of the best lunches I ever had in Istanbul the "harem sultan "dish was phenomenal , rooms very clean and classy, extremely friendly staff and great manager. All in all it was a great refferal by our friends. I recommend Faros hotel for your visit to Istanbul every time.

Ahmad and salma ( honeymooners)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

What a great little hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakasts were aweome and the location is just perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poros, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The excellent manager mr.HALUC KILIC well as the highly trained staff is always on smile
at customers disposal.
The cleanliness of the rooms exemplary.
The complimentary breakfast is very rich and the rich variety of food the restaurand at
very good prices.
To main thing is that all sights are just around the corner and the tram stops.
In general is amazing recommended.
GIANNIS POROS ISLAND

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faros Hotel Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Hotel Sultanahmet

Address: Divan Yolu 76 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#116 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#155 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Hotel Sultanahmet 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Faros Hotel Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.