We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tan Hotel to your Saves list
Tan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Catalcesme Meydani Dr. Emin Pasa Sok. No:16 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
554 reviews 554 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed six nights at the Tan Hotel. Centrally located in the historic old part of Istanbul. Almost all the the major sites of Istanbul are within easy walking distance of this hotel, plus there is a tram stop at the end of the street if you want to go further afield. All the hotel staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us, advising on tours, telephoning restaurants to make reservations etc. The hotel is clean and very safe. Breakfast is basically the continental type with assorted juices, cereals, fresh breads, butter, cheeses jams etc., coffee and tea. However on a couple of mornings we wanted something more substantial so they made us cheese omelets - just ask - nothing seems to be to much trouble. This is a great place to stay, and I would certainly stay here again next time in Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
19
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a fantastic stay. All very easy and no stress, very central location in the old part of the city. Great service and very helpful people , food was great and good choice, rooms very good and a fantastic feel to the place and all close to attractions
Overall had a lovely stay with great people thank you

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condobolin, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay in the Tan Hotel based in the beautiful Historic part of Istanbul the staff were friendly and helpful. We had three nights there before doing a trip. Great food and excellent views.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My sister & husband myself & husband along with my elderly father stayed here so we could attend Gallipoli service. My father is 87 and it was difficult for him to move around safely however all the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them even when we took time to help dad around. Tahir is fantastic and makes everyone feel special. The location is great with lots of little cafes and shops literally outside the doors. Its close proximity to major attraction is perfect and we found it to be quiet at night. The Blue Mosque is beautiful veiwing from the rooftop at night and in the morning. Sometimes even if you stay somewhere and there are a few issues its easy to overlook them when staff and management are so lovely. I will recommend it for sure and will return. Thankyou.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Warm and welcoming hotel in the heart of Istanbul. Delightful & helpful staff. We stayed for 9 days and noticed that the hotel also attracts lovely guests. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. Lyn & Sylvia ( Melbourne)

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Big and very beatiful hotel. İf lcome again to Istanbul, ı'll go to Tan hotel. Because lux rooms are cheap price. Hotel is near to Sultanahmet, Ayasofia and Topqapı. Meals are tasty. I wanna be as this hotel

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of 17 people and stayed for 4 nights.The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was average.
The rooms are bit old and tired and the carpets could do with a clean ,apart from that everything else was really good . Close to all attractions and there is a small mosque just opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hotel

Address: Catalcesme Meydani Dr. Emin Pasa Sok. No:16 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#51 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#176 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tan Hotel is located at the heart of the old city where thousands of years of history come to life within a 5-10 minute walk. Our hotel is modern inside and our staff is ready to assist our guests in any way possible to maintain our high standard of Turkish hospitality. Our hotel serves its guests with 4 suites and 16 standard rooms that are furnished with the latest technologies. e.g. WIFI. Our rooms are equipped with telephones, hair-driers, wireless internet connection, satellite TV broadcast \ LCD screen TV and safe boxes for your personal security. Sultanahmet district brings history to our present with its unique masterpieces such as Hagia Sophia, Topkapı Palace, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome and Grand Bazaar. All these major attractions are only ten minutes by foot. Sultanahmet tram station is located within a few minutes walking distance to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.