We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Istanbul Hostel to your Saves list
Istanbul Hostel
Kutlugun Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #412 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here in January without making a booking. The staff were very accommodating and gave us our own room. It was really basic but we were comfortable. They werent able to give us a towel however.

Bathrooms are average and quite dirty, I would recommend jandals to shower in. However it managed to serve our purposes. Would probably stay here again. It is in a great location, really close to the Blue Mosque and Sofia Arya, everything in Istanbul is in walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    45
    24
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
18
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is bustling with friendly people, particularly Paco - the man arranging accommodation at the venue. It is a fantastic location just steps from aya Sofia and blue mosque. Loved my stay here and would come back again.

Also great recommendations from Paco for places to go to.

Continental breakfast was part of the package. Great stay here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Istanbul Hostel is the BEST, super chill guys running the place, especially Paco (that guy rules), and amazing 2-tiered rooftop lounge with beers and views of the Bosphorous and the big mosques. My stay there was brief but super fun. I really enjoyed just relaxing on the roof in the afternoon, and hearing the call to prayer come on from the big mosques in the neighborhood-- it was a moment of perfect peace, I can't really describe it. Awesome hostel!!

Room Tip: I took the single apartment and was very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was a good place to stay, the price is good, the location perfect and the rooms are not bad. The beds are very confortable, but they put more beds that it was supposed to have, it is ok. The staff is nice, but i needed a towel when i arrived (between 21 and 21:30) and the person couldn't give it to me. It really pissed me off, is it strange arrive at 21:30 and need a bath in a hostel that has towels to rent? The toilets are a little bit disgusting. If I go back to Istanbul, i will try to look for another hostel in the same location, if i don't find it I can stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was an excellent experience staying in Istanbul Hostel. Located in European part. The staff was helping, brisk and welcoming (Paco specially). He guided us the best tourist places, and also have tickets available for Hamam and Theater show. They also have shuttle service available, free WiFi and reasonable breakfast enough for voracious eaters. The rooms were clean, cozy and calm. The location is ideal, near by Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Place, Bosphorus, Basilica and Otto Park. There are many bars, restaurants and shops around.

Room Tip: It has two floors, the ground floor has rooms for mixed genders and straights. All rooms are very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

At the heart of Istanbul, in the vicinity of all the tourist attractions lies a small hostel called Istanbul hostel. A friends of mine booked there three bed for 4 nights and this gave our tour a perfect start. Not only we saved a lot of money but also we had a great time there. The room was spacious and clean enough. The guys managing the hostel, specially at reception, were really vigilant and always ready to help.
We already knew the attractions of istanbul but the these guys had certain special offers eg. Hamam or Hodjapasha Theater (Recommended!!!), shuttle/taxi service etc that made our trip more enjoyable. The best thing about this hostel is the common area on the top flour where we were able to meet different people, share travel experiences and relax.
So totally recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nice hostel. Just tell those talking loudly on cell phones outside your room at late hours to go elsewhere, as at other venues. I like the desk staff a lot here, very helpful and their travel services are excellent . Especially Turkish baths in Istanbul.

Room Tip: In Oct, I booked a 6-woman dorm room and had it to myself. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Istanbul Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Hostel

Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Hostel is the place for you!We have dorm rooms that can sleep four or more guests on comfortable, extra long single mattresses. Our double rooms are neat and clean with extra large king-sized mattresses. The bathrooms are located outside the rooms and are continuously maintained. All our rooms are non-smoking and have central heating.For those who want to keep in touch with the world while in exotic Istanbul, we offer Satellite TV (showing English news and sports events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Istanbul Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hostel Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.