We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Istanbul Hostel to your Saves list
Istanbul Hostel
Kutlugun Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #412 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hostel in Istanbul. The room was ok and my general impression of the hostel was good. I stayed quite often in different hostel and I can say that this one is very nice. Very good personnel. Friendly and competent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    40
    22
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
16
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dibrugarh, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My first hostel experience. I was not so sure about the security of my stuff as I had a room right on the ground floor and the rooms were always open, but I guess that's how it works in the hostels. Shared a 10 bed room with 2 other friends and overall was happy with the breakfast view especially as you could sea the river and sites on either sides. They really need to have more bathrooms and need to renovate a bit but for the price I had a comfy bed and a good rest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed in a single room at this hostel and had a great experience. The single room is in another apartment separate from the main building, has access to two washrooms, kitchen and laundry, all of which is shared amongst four other people. The room itself was very clean with ample space. The washrooms are a little awkward but its a hostel.

The location is perfect if you're just in Istanbul to see the sites. Its a short 5 minute walk from the Hagia Sofia, the blue mosque, basillica and maybe a 15 minute walk from the grand bizarre. It's a little far from the night-life of Taksim. I'm not sure how the actual hostel rooms were in the hostel but I think it would be worth it to book your own room, double or two single beds in the separate unit. The hostel itself actually has a nice restaurant which serves better food than most of the places around.

The only downside of the place was that there was no wireless in the separate unit. But the wifi throughout the main building worked well. The staff is super friendly and they really help you plan your stay.

Thanks to everyone for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aabenraa, Denmark
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beds were fine and location too. The staff is not very helpful, and the breakfast is sad. The roof terrace is great. The bathrooms are not really clean. They are quite old and outdated. This place could need some renovating. I think there are alot of places much better in Istanbul, for the same price that you pay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If your going for location; this is it. Right in Sultanahmet with everything you need only a 2 minute walk away. Great roof top terrace which really made it, and great views over the mosques.
We stayed in the 6 bed dorm two nights and the 24 bed dorm. This was our first dorm experience and it was fantasic. I dont know whether we were just lucky but we had undisturbed sleep, comfy beds and everything ran smoothly. They were happy to hold our luggage for an extra day. I highly recommend using the travel guide next door. We tailored our two week holiday in Turkey with all transport, most meals and everything included for a very good price and it meant we didnt have to lift a finger. Nothing bad to say about this place. Great staff vcery helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week in the 21 person dorm. Although somewhat reminisent of a dungeon the room was spacious and airy. Ladies if you plan on being friendly towards the staff be aware that they will ask you out, and upon rejection, severely ignore your presence for the rest of your stay. If you do plan on showering, which we hope you do, use the bathroom next to your friends at reception as only these gaurantee water out of the showerhead (as opposed to the hose in the dungeon). The free breakfast features cold egg, dry tomato and shrivelled olives...something that made us others sceptical of the 91% rating found on hostelworld...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time at this hostel. The folks are very nice, and do everything they can to make you comfortable.
Bathrooms are clean and beds are sturdy and comfy. Extra blankets if you ask.
The view from the rooftop is just gorgeous with the Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus in plain view. A great place to enjoy the complimentary breakfast!
Close to practically everything, including; Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Grand Bazaar, Column of Constantine, Walls of Rome, Spice Bazaar (go there!) Mosaic Museum, Bath of Justinian and transportation. For those who care, a Starbucks is just up the street. Great restaurants all around this hostel.
Stayed in many Hostels in Europe and North America. I highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Istanbul Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Hostel

Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Hostel is the place for you!We have dorm rooms that can sleep four or more guests on comfortable, extra long single mattresses. Our double rooms are neat and clean with extra large king-sized mattresses. The bathrooms are located outside the rooms and are continuously maintained. All our rooms are non-smoking and have central heating.For those who want to keep in touch with the world while in exotic Istanbul, we offer Satellite TV (showing English news and sports events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Istanbul Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hostel Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.