We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, price and good breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deniz Houses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Deniz Houses to your Saves list
Deniz Houses
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 978 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, price and good breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very happy with this hotel. Great location, price and good breakfast.
You can reach the hotel by taxi or shuttle from the airport – not so expensive. But you can also come by local train getting off at the nearby station.
Finding the hotel by your-self might be difficult as city tourist maps are not very detailed and the print is so small and difficult to read. Unless you have one of those fancy GPS thingies on your smart phone I suggest that you print a detailed map from Google Maps. There are so many mini side streets that it’s so easy to get lost in Istanbul.
We took the added option of an “ocean room view”. Great view, definitely, but too much noise from the passing trains down below. At least the trains stopped late at night to give us a good sleep.
From this hotel you can walk up hill through the first market towards to the main square and the famous mosques. But you always need to make sure you are wearing comfortable walking shoes and that your trolley suitcase has robust wheels that can handle cobble stones and stairs.
While most people might tend to hike up town to see the sights, don’t forget to take a walk down below to the sea side promenade. The parks are very nice and it’s probably the only place in town you won’t be pestered to buy anything.
Ladies – always pack a large scarf to wrap over your head and bare shoulders when entering a mosque or church. Guys – take a pair of light weight track pants to cover your short pants. If you look as if you are respecting the local traditions then you will be respected as a visitor.
Careful with the money exchange booths at the airport. They are a rip off. Downtown you will find plenty of places with better rates and no commission. Anyway, don’t worry too much as any shop will take any currency. Bargain hard. Last but not least – if you settle your hotel bill with cash you get an extra 5% discount.

Room Tip: don't be afraid to ask to check out the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    239
    58
    15
    8
See reviews for
76
255
60
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My stay at Deniz Houses was very comfortable and everyone was very helpful and polite. I enjoyed their hospitality and also theyre situated very close to all the attractions. Its a great place to stay and enjoy the sights of Istanbul and I would recommend it to people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this kind review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Deniz Houses.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Breakfast was great, service friendly, and were very accommodating in rearranging pickup terms when I changed flights midday. Overall a very solid choice, and the location around the corner from the Blue Mosque can't be beat.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My first time in Istanbul and i was more than happy to be in this hotel. Staff is excellent and rooms are really neat and comfortable. loved the breakfast which i can compare to many high paid hotels- fantastic.
Will love to come again and stay here not forgetting how kind everyone was

Room Tip: rooms were cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in Deniz House for one night early in October and then another 7 nights in Deniz House 2. The room the first night was small but we managed. It faced the street. The second visit in House 2 we had a room on the first floor so no walking up the flight of stairs except for breakfast. The room was fine; plenty of moving around space. In both rooms the beds were firm but that is what we prefer. It was very clean and the WIFI never stopped being available. The location is super and the staff are always very helpful. The breakfast was good however some of the food that should have been hot was only warm; and they do as other hotels do , serve orange drink instead of orange juice. I just bought my own juice and kept it in the refrigerator. This hotel provided all the necessary amenities to make our stay for over a week more than comfortable. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: the Orient Express does go by the building but there was never enough disturbance from it to make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the first time my wife and I stayed in this hotel and our very first hotel experience in Istanbul. The staff at reception were quite friendly and ever willing to help . Even though much information about tourist sites is easily available via brochures and guides, the reception staff telephoned in advance and confirmed timings and rates eg. whirling dervishes/hamam etc. Though we got a small room during the first leg of our trip, we found the it quite clean and comfortable. The hotel was gracious enough to give us a bigger room when we returned after a few days. The cleaning staff are also efficient and greet you with warm smiles whenever you bump into them. The terrace of Block B, where breakfast is spread offers some fabulous views of the Marmara. This place located at the heart of Sultanahment is a stones throw from all major attractions saving us money on transport. All in all best value for money,

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

First of all, it all started with the amazing staff there. My husband and I were exhausted from traveling and eventhough we werent up for much conversation, they were so polite and humble! As they were for the our whole stay there! Daily breakfast is very good! Not your traditional continental breakfast, better! they had eggs, muffins and other baked goods, delicious yoghurt, fruit, tea, coffee, variety of cheese, etc. it is a full bteakfast and you get to enjoy it up in their terrace! With beautiful relaxing views of the city, it's an amazing way to start the day.
The rooms are homey and comfy. Their rooms are diferent sizes and have diferent views, so you might get a small room, a large room with a small bathroom or any combination. We had to stay in a direfent room our first night and it was small, but it had a great balcony! When we moved, we had a big room, an amazing sea view room (a tiny balcony) and an awkward shower (part of the building structure is in the middle of the shower so you cannot stand up straight in it... didnt really bother us though... this is the real reazon for the mark down in the rooms so people are aware, we also had a small issue with the fridge in the first room... they stored our drinks in their fridge upstairs for us :) ) so give and take with the rooms, but we thought they were great! And even if you do or dont spend much time at the hotel, it is a very nice place to hang out in. They clean them daily... And yes! They do have wifi! It kept on crashing while we were there, but then again we were not concerned with the internet during our stay in Istambul. And if you absolutetly have to log on and can't, the staff is glad to let you borrow their computer.
They also provide laundry service, and they help you out with direccions and recommend some good places and tours of the city.
Be ready to do some walking, up and down the streets to get to the big touristy places, but even if one day you are not up for it, there is a restaurant and a few markets next to the hotel. And in case you forgot your adapter for the wall outlet, conveniently there is a telephone/electronics store down and across the street.
Overall it was an amazing stay and will definitly stay here again in the future. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deniz Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Houses

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#197 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deniz Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deniz Houses, formerly Deniz Konak Hotel, consists of 2 buildings located in the guite and central part of Sultanahmet with a walking distance to the city's major highlights. The buildings are only 20 meters away from each other and both contain private ensuite rooms with same type of facilities. The hotel is located in the center of the historical quarter within walking distance of the city’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Deniz Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Houses Hotel Istanbul
Deniz Konak Istanbul
Hotel Deniz Konak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deniz Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.