We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place & convenient to attractions!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deniz Houses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Deniz Houses to your Saves list
Deniz Houses
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 965 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place & convenient to attractions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My stay at Deniz Houses was very comfortable and everyone was very helpful and polite. I enjoyed their hospitality and also theyre situated very close to all the attractions. Its a great place to stay and enjoy the sights of Istanbul and I would recommend it to people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this kind review.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Deniz Houses.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    238
    55
    15
    8
See reviews for
76
249
58
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Breakfast was great, service friendly, and were very accommodating in rearranging pickup terms when I changed flights midday. Overall a very solid choice, and the location around the corner from the Blue Mosque can't be beat.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My first time in Istanbul and i was more than happy to be in this hotel. Staff is excellent and rooms are really neat and comfortable. loved the breakfast which i can compare to many high paid hotels- fantastic.
Will love to come again and stay here not forgetting how kind everyone was

Room Tip: rooms were cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in Deniz House for one night early in October and then another 7 nights in Deniz House 2. The room the first night was small but we managed. It faced the street. The second visit in House 2 we had a room on the first floor so no walking up the flight of stairs except for breakfast. The room was fine; plenty of moving around space. In both rooms the beds were firm but that is what we prefer. It was very clean and the WIFI never stopped being available. The location is super and the staff are always very helpful. The breakfast was good however some of the food that should have been hot was only warm; and they do as other hotels do , serve orange drink instead of orange juice. I just bought my own juice and kept it in the refrigerator. This hotel provided all the necessary amenities to make our stay for over a week more than comfortable. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: the Orient Express does go by the building but there was never enough disturbance from it to make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the first time my wife and I stayed in this hotel and our very first hotel experience in Istanbul. The staff at reception were quite friendly and ever willing to help . Even though much information about tourist sites is easily available via brochures and guides, the reception staff telephoned in advance and confirmed timings and rates eg. whirling dervishes/hamam etc. Though we got a small room during the first leg of our trip, we found the it quite clean and comfortable. The hotel was gracious enough to give us a bigger room when we returned after a few days. The cleaning staff are also efficient and greet you with warm smiles whenever you bump into them. The terrace of Block B, where breakfast is spread offers some fabulous views of the Marmara. This place located at the heart of Sultanahment is a stones throw from all major attractions saving us money on transport. All in all best value for money,

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

First of all, it all started with the amazing staff there. My husband and I were exhausted from traveling and eventhough we werent up for much conversation, they were so polite and humble! As they were for the our whole stay there! Daily breakfast is very good! Not your traditional continental breakfast, better! they had eggs, muffins and other baked goods, delicious yoghurt, fruit, tea, coffee, variety of cheese, etc. it is a full bteakfast and you get to enjoy it up in their terrace! With beautiful relaxing views of the city, it's an amazing way to start the day.
The rooms are homey and comfy. Their rooms are diferent sizes and have diferent views, so you might get a small room, a large room with a small bathroom or any combination. We had to stay in a direfent room our first night and it was small, but it had a great balcony! When we moved, we had a big room, an amazing sea view room (a tiny balcony) and an awkward shower (part of the building structure is in the middle of the shower so you cannot stand up straight in it... didnt really bother us though... this is the real reazon for the mark down in the rooms so people are aware, we also had a small issue with the fridge in the first room... they stored our drinks in their fridge upstairs for us :) ) so give and take with the rooms, but we thought they were great! And even if you do or dont spend much time at the hotel, it is a very nice place to hang out in. They clean them daily... And yes! They do have wifi! It kept on crashing while we were there, but then again we were not concerned with the internet during our stay in Istambul. And if you absolutetly have to log on and can't, the staff is glad to let you borrow their computer.
They also provide laundry service, and they help you out with direccions and recommend some good places and tours of the city.
Be ready to do some walking, up and down the streets to get to the big touristy places, but even if one day you are not up for it, there is a restaurant and a few markets next to the hotel. And in case you forgot your adapter for the wall outlet, conveniently there is a telephone/electronics store down and across the street.
Overall it was an amazing stay and will definitly stay here again in the future. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel two years ago and it was a really nice experience (look at my previous review on tripadvisor). We returned there this year and it was a bit disappointing. We booked late, during the crowdy Ramazan Bayrami, and there was just one room. They gave us a very small double room for 63 euro a night, much more than what we paid for a much better and bigger room two years ago. We accepted because it was sold out everywhere, expecially in Sultanahmet, where the hotel is situated. But this time the room, although clean, nice and with every confort (tv, air-con, wi-fi...), was a bit sad and claustrophobic being in the basement (a floor under the reception) and with a bad smell coming from the bathroom. Definitely too expensive. These are the bad notes. In positive: waiters and receptionists were very kind and efficient and breakfast (in the lovely terrace) was good and tasty, even better than two years ago.

Room Tip: avoid rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Konak, Manager at Deniz Houses, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We thank you a lot for sharing your ideas with us and we have been very happy to see you again at our hotel. We are grateful for your thoughts about our hotel being clean, enjoying the breakfast and kindness of our staff. Unfortuenalty, we could not provide you a better room since your stay was among a very high season, just through the Ramazan Bayrami, when the hotels in the area was fully booked. Indeed, the price for that period was relatively reasonable comparing to other hotels, however it might be more expensive than your previous stay in accordance with the occupancy of the hotel. We also apoligaze for the bed smell which was related to the drains out to the hotel which is fixed up now.
We hope to see you again at our hotel and we will certainly provide you a better room, hoping to receive a better review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deniz Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Houses

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#170 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#184 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deniz Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deniz Houses, formerly Deniz Konak Hotel, consists of 2 buildings located in the guite and central part of Sultanahmet with a walking distance to the city's major highlights. The buildings are only 20 meters away from each other and both contain private ensuite rooms with same type of facilities. The hotel is located in the center of the historical quarter within walking distance of the city’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Deniz Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Houses Hotel Istanbul
Deniz Konak Istanbul
Hotel Deniz Konak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deniz Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.