We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Divanyolu Cad. Bicki Yurdu sk. no.12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Like everyone else is saying....it's perfectly located, five minutes from the Blue Mosque and the Sultanahmet tram station. The rooms aren't much, but they're pretty big. Mahmoud at the reception was very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    130
    44
    3
    13
See reviews for
62
77
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel has a brilliant location and plenty of character. It's a 5-minute walk to the Blue Mosque and the Ayia Sophia and a bit further to the Grand and Spice Bazaars, but if that's too much like hard work (and it was for us on the way back from our shopping trips!), the T1 tramline stops almost right outside the hotel. In addition, the beds are firm and the shower had good pressure and hot water. It was clean and the breakfast buffet had a great selection. The price is obviously very reasonable. So, this hotel ticked all the essentials boxes.

The hotel also organised a lift from the airport (included in the price if you book on their website) and a lift back to the airport (€30) - which was super convenient.

What's not so great? There is no sound-proofing to speak of, so while the calls to prayer at 6 am added to the experience, the guests' party in the next room did not. Nor did the sounds from the busy street around the corner. It's an old building and it all looks pretty worn and improvised. The stairs could do with a decent vacuum-clean. One of the receptionists repeatedly tried to flog us various sightseeing tours etc, although we had said we wanted to explore the city on our own - very annoying! There is no bar or common area in the hotel.

I would probably choose to stay in another area (Beyoglu, maybe) next time, as Sultanahmet is horrendously touristy: most of the shops sell overpriced tat and there are touts absolutely everywhere - so much so that I started to feel like a walking wallet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We knew what to expect from other reviews before we got there so our expectations were not high therefore I wouldn't say I was disappointed :]
The location is perfect although it might be a little difficult to find at first cz it's in an alley but if you turn right at McDonald's Cafe you'll be there. The hotel is a 2-minute walk from Sultanahmet mosque, a 5-7 minute walk from the Grand Bazaar and around a 10-minute walk from the Spice Market and the pier. Breakfast was okay..basics like egg, cheese, tomatoes, cereal, milk, tea and horrible coffee (according to my husband). People at the hotel were friendly but communication was a little difficult..speak to the receptionist though if you need anything, he can speak English.

As for the room, it doesn't seem like they have king beds so we had to settle for a double + single..furniture was outworn although the hotel's website says it was newly refurbished!

The room comes with free wi-fi but the signal was terrible and for some reason, although they had several routers, only 1 was on the whole time (the reception one I guess) and this was very weak in our room although we were on the 2nd floor which is not too far from the reception..

All in all, it was just O.K but if we were to go to Istanbul to this area again I don't think we'd be staying there..

Room Tip: Stay as close as possible to the reception area as wi-fi signal is very weak on top floors (although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I found this hotel is very clean, breakfast is great, AC in room, TV, small fridge, and price is really reasonable! just a few steps from Blue Mosque, Top Kapi and Hagia Sophia.
Staff was extremely helpful especially Mahmoud, he is great very friendly receptionist with great tips and advices!
I would definitely recommend this hotel for everyone!
Thanks for your hospitality!
Matea & Dario

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I really like this hotel. Priceworth. Personal was very frindly, ecpacially the helpful Muhammed in the reception and the nice lady at breakfast who helped you with yor special wishes the breakfast. singel room was small but everything was Ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice hotel in the centre of Sultanamhed. Off the trafic lanes, in the pedestrian area, so not so much noice.
Our room was small, and we requested seperate beds. So the room was packed!
Nice, clean room, sufficient hot water and a fridge available.
Friendly staff and a nice breakfast service on the roof terrace.
If you are not planning on staying in your room all day (probebly not), a very good choice if you are looking to spend your money shopping on the bassar instead of for a room.

Room Tip: No elevator in the buidling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for only one night. It is tucked away behind the main street and was difficult to find. But once you found it, you realise it is located in the middle of an old town, surrounded by bars and restaurants. It is very convenient to go by foot to major attractions such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Tipkapi Palace. I liked an ‘at home’ atmosphere. Breakfast is served on the top floor. I couldn’t see much view from there, but the breakfast, prepared by a very nice middle-aged lady, was wonderful. I am sure I will stay in this hotel again next time I go to Istanbul, one of the world’s most wonderful cities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Address: Divanyolu Cad. Bicki Yurdu sk. no.12 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Hotel located in the center of old city Sultanahmet /Istanbul, you can walk in one munite all touristic and historical places and must-sees. Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Underground Cistern and Museums. Our rooms are very comfortable and keep clean at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Istanbul
Atlantis Hotel Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.