We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Abella Hotel to your Saves list
Abella Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. No:35 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #835 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at Abella Hotel for four nights in October 2012. Our room was quite small, but it was not a problem for us, since we only slept there. The walls were paper: my sister and her boyfriend slept in the room next to us and we were almost able to hear their conversation. Our window was not towards street so there was no noice which would have disturbed our sleep (excluding the call to pray on morning at six o'clock which was quite loud since the Blue Mosque located very near Abella hotel). Our blanket was made of waffle fabrik and wasn't the best material for that.

The staff was very friendly though they perhaps did not understand everything we said. Breakfast was decent: eggs, vegetables, various cheeses, olives etc... And the best thing regarding this hotel was the roof top view towards sea and blue mosque. Also location of the hotel was good since we were not up late and distance to airport was short.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    15
    12
    16
See reviews for
14
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great location.... easy to walk to all the sights. The breakfast was good on the top floor of the hotel with great views. The room is small but is fair for the price you pay. But what do you expect when you travel abroad, I don't expect everything has to be American standard and people speak fluent English.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

What can I say:
poor small rooms - dirty - poor breakfast - dirty bathrooms
Location is nice near to the Sultanhamed but thats all
Some days no cleaning in the rooms

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Reviews of this hotel all over the place on TripAdvisor. Here's the real scoop:
-Small rooms - true. But not far off from a typical NYC hotel room.
-Rooms also have thin walls, no doubt. But, unless you get stuck with crazy neighbors, you are probably OK. We had a neighbor who occasionally let off a scream (assume she had bad dreams?) but no points docked for the hotel for this. =)
-Beds are standard. Nothing to write home about, but sufficient after a long day of walking the city.
-Staff - all friendly, varying levels of English speaking. Most very hospitable. Actually it is the owner of the hotel who was the least welcoming during the stay (dare I say grumpy old man).
-Breakfast is on the top level, enclosed. Includes cheeses, meats, some pastries and a variety of spreads. Apple Tea and coffee included. Nice view from here.
-Location is excellent for sight seeing such as the "blue mosque" and others nearby. Grand Bazaar, subway/tram station, restaurants, all within a hop skip and jump of the hotel.
-Tip: A subway/tram ride from IST airport is about $2US, 90 minute ride, including one transfer of trains. Not a bad deal! Your return trip, can purchase a shared bus ride for $7US from the local travel agency across the hotel.

Overall the hotel is average. There are many - MANY hotels in this and surrounding areas. Do your homework. Consider this among others. It provides a decent stay for a relatively good price, in a location excellent for sightseeing.

One more note: The Musim prayers are 5X a day in IST. The proximity of the Mosque's to the hotel mean at 6am loud...LOUD prayers are broadcast for the entire neighborhood to hear. Even the soundest sleeper should be prepared for a 6am "wake up call". This may not be different from other hotels nearby other mosque's/loud speakers.
-

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

very small room, Small beds, Constarction going on, Service is zero, No one speaks english, breakfast is a desaster

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

İstanbul and Sultanahmet is one of great place in the world and during my holiday I stayed Abella hotel , room is little small but very clean and very good staff , breakfast yummy :) they alwasy smile and helpfull ..definitely I ll come back to Sultanahmet again ...

Room Tip: They told me all room is same size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

This Hotel and personal gives me best experience ever. Thanks to all hard working crew and im sure that next time in Instambul i going there. I really can recomended this Hotel Abella.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abella Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. No:35 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abella Hotel is located in the embrace of history, the Blue Mosque, Higha Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkap Place, Grand Bazaar, Hippodrome etc. and Sea-View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Abella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abella Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.