We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for visiting the old city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden House Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Garden House Istanbul to your Saves list
Garden House Istanbul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak | No:11/13 Old City, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Roma, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nice place for visiting the old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Istanbul is a city where the price of the hotels could be astonishing, so when you book a room you have to think what do you need and what do you want from the hotel. I found the rose garden incidentally but the choice was worthwhile. The location is great, walking distance from the hyppodrome, inside the old area of sultanhamet (which means that the hotel border some very old dirty houses) but with a taste of relax when you area in the hotel. This hotel doesn't have pool, gym or other amenities you can find in the five-four stars manions but they have hospitality and kindness, which is important too from my viewpoint. Great breakfast, rooms nice but a little bit too "heavy". Conclusions a place to remind next time in istanbul

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    303
    31
    13
    11
See reviews for
237
540
87
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at this lovely boutique hotel. Selyuk at the front desk could not have been nicer. Helped us with all we needed. Breakfasts in the courtyard were some of the best we've had. We had the top level room looking out over the Bosphorous. Great time.

Room Tip: Trade off between view and number of stairs you must climb to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at this lovely hotel. The advice we were given on sights ,tours and restaurants enabledbusbto plan our stay and have time to relax
What a delight to return to the calm of the cool a garden after a busy day exploring the city.
As someone who spends a lot of time in corporate hotels, what a pleasure to see the personal touches and attention to detail in things such as free wifi,tea,coffee, water and those delicious biscuits. Breakfast superb and a great start to the day.
Our room was on the top floor with no lift so ask to be lower down if stairs are a problem. Excellent size, spotlessly clean and a great view of the nearby mosque.
Excellent location away from the crowds but close to all the major sites with an easy 10min walk.

Without doubt we will recommend this hotel to our friends .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We loved this little jewel of a boutique hotel, Ottoman house-style, nestled in a quiet street just 3 minutes walk away from the very beautiful Little Hagia Sophia mosque (not the main Hagia Sophia which is about 10 minutes walk). Our room was large, very good quality bed and solid furnishings, a marble turkish bath with shower and a decent A/C unit too which was really needed with outside temperature above 30 C ! The Buffet breakfast, in the garden, offered us a nice varied selection and provided a great quality start (fill-up) to the day, especially as there were so many queues at the museum fast food outlets.
Check-in, Check-Out and staff attentiveness during our trip was most courteous, respectful and professional, of special note is Mr. Bora at the Reception Desk and Ms.Nino in the Breakfast room but everyone was clearly part of the dynamic team which evidently makes this hotel work very well ! We would highly recommend this hotel to most travellers wanting a quality stay minutes away from Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace etc...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It was certainly a great start to our time in Turkey to arrive at this welcoming and comfortable hotel. The location was fantastic as it was close to many of the main tourist sites. It was lovely to relax in the common lounge area or the garden terrace after a busy day. Complementary tea, coffee, water and biscuits available in the lounge area was most appreciated. The hotel staff were very friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable, clean and the bathroom was fine. A nice touch in the rooms was the complementary fruit bowl and small bottle of wine on arrival. The buffet breakfast included a good selection and the eating area was lovely. We would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here if we returned to Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent an excellent six days at this hotel.
Judging from the reviews, the rooms do vary but ours was quite spacious,pleasant enough and very well looked after by the staff. It also makes a nice change not to have to pay for the room safe !
Having the garden provides an extra element as does the tea, coffee and freshly made pastries available in the afternoon.
The breakfasts, served by the ever smiling Nino,featured fresh fruit and omelettes made to order.
The reception staff were very helpful, especially Bora; It really is worth picking their brains.
All in all, my only problem in recommending this hotel, is that I want to go back; And soon !

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall this is a great, well-run, ideally located hotel. It has a huge number of "pro's":

1) Location is amazing. 5-10 minute walk to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi ... and 10-20 minutes to the Grand Bazaar, Spice Market and really anything in the Old Town - which is going to be 80% of what you'll likely be wanting to see. Great location.

2) Great breakfast ... but their snacks also go above and beyond. Their breakfast is very nice and includes a made-to-order omelete station. But throughout the day, they also provide snacks, cakes, cookies, and coffee & water in their lounge - very nice for recharging a bit throughout the day.

3) Very well run, great staff. We arrived early at 7am and they gave us a free breakfast and got us into a room early. Were very accommodating to all requests.

4) Insanely charming little garden patio / lounge area. Really pleasant to relax there after a long hot Istanbul tourism day. Feels very 'homey.'

5) Rooms are good not great (see Con's). That said, I kind of suspect that grading on a curve, the rooms are better than average in this price range. That said, they are fairly small, and a bit run down. But fine for most purposes.

So overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. There are just a few things that if they fixed, would take this place to the next level. Here are some of the Con's:

1) The showers don't have screens/glass. This results in the bathroom becoming soaked and very slippery after any shower. Not sure why it would be hard just to put a screen or glass panel in.

2) Wifi is very spotty. We basically did't get any signal in our room and had to go to the lounge to use - which isn't a big deal since the lounge is so great. But still, not ideal. Further, even in the lounge, the bandwidth isn't good. Expect trouble if you have any critical Skype calls or high-bandwidth activities to do.

3) At least in our room, the curtains are very thin and the room will be quite bright very early.

4) As mentioned, the rooms are a bit run down. The AirCon in our room was sort of broken - sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. The staff was able to turn it on when it was broken, but it isn't ideal to have to call the staff to turn on AC when you want it.

5) Rooms facing the street are a bit loud.

So in summary - great place, probably one of the best in the area - and this area is the one you want to stay in. But just know that compared to hotels in this price range in other cities, there are a few issues (wifi, shower, street noise). But this is more than made up for by the great staff, amazing lounge, abundant free snacks/water, and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak | No:11/13 Old City, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden House Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.